We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this condo! (D210)”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed for a whole week in late April and loved it! When we first arrived, I was anxious about spending seven nights in a quiet location, but was perfect for my husband's stress levels. D210 is a ~800 sq ft. one-bedroom partial ocean view, located in the main building of the resort; overlooks the pond, waterway, with the ocean in the distance. It was wonderfully quiet (except overhearing staff in the hallways), decor lovely, although the sofa cushions need re-stuffing...
The resort is a perfect location for multi-generational family gatherings; you can cook-in, with the subZero Fridge, Wolf Stove, and Paykel dishwasher, granite countertops, the kitchen is functional and easy to use; barbeques are available near the poolhouse, and washer and dryer easy to use (but you have to bring your own HE detergent) so you can keep your packing light!
Bed was really comfortable, bathroom very spacious and well laid-out; two balconies, ceiling fan and A/C (one of the few condos on Kauai that offers it). We were very glad for the A/C as the tradewinds left, and weather was hot and still.
It takes at least an hour to head to either Poipu or Wailea, which means that dinners usually are in Kapa'a area. There are a few good restaurants near by (Casa Verde, Kauai Pasta, Pizza place next door) and the Safeway & Longs across the street have all the basics; 9th Island Grill is a fun sports bar; on site restaurant, Oasis on the Beach offers pan-pacific cuisine with great service, and some of the BEST ever mai tais (with house-made macadamia/ginger infused orgeat syrup!)... Pool area works for all ages; adults only hot tub, and family hot tub, walking waterway with waterfall nice way to spend the day.
The only confusing point is check-in; more than once, I overheard guests asking if this really was the Outrigger Waipouli; otherwise, it's all easy and relaxed and a wonderful spot.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dappledsunlight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,419)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

703 - 709 of 1,419 reviews

Reviewed May 28, 2013

The Kapaa location is very central rather than being on the far north or south. This hotel is wonderful. Have traveled a great deal, and the rooms are high-end condominium style. Two huge master suites. The staff was very helpful when we needed them, and we would definitely stay here again. The on-site restaurant was just so-so for dinner.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We spent 4 wonderful days in our penthouse 2 bedroom condo at this resort located on the beach. There is a very good restaurant on the property called Oasis by the sea. We ate 2 meals here and were very pleased with both. The property has a fitness center and a spa, both were very nice amenities for our stay. Our unit was appointed comfortably and included a full kitchen with top quality appliances. The washer and dryer was a big plus also, was nice going home with clean clothes. We enjoyed breakfast every morning on the balcony overlooking the pool and Pacific ocean. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
Thank mratcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed five days in D312 in May 2013. There were two adults and a toddler.

The booking, arrival and departure were handled through a service and not the resort - it all happened without an issues. They actually did a great job of providing us with a futon for my son – waiting for us when we arrived.

The resort is nice but a little worn. The rooms and corridors were very quiet. Maybe we were lucky, but we didn’t hear anything when inside our unit. The vacation experience is a timeshare and not a full service resort (but I don’t view that as a negative).

The unit is nice with an extremely well stocked kitchen and accessories for the beach (boogie board, chairs, etc). The only possible missing accessory is a cooler. The furniture is dated and the couch arms are worn (an update would be nice). The bed is a new TempurPedic and it's fantastic.

The resort is located across the street from a Safeway shopping center. Kapaa is a central location for both north and south excursions.

The resort is on the beach. The beach is good for sand castles and wave watching, but not swimming.

The pool is very nice for families. There is a shallow gravel bottom pool for toddlers which entertained my son for hours. Also there are two water slides. The slides were fun for kids of all ages and also easy for an adult and toddler to share a ride.

We didn't try the restaurant or the concierge. The gym is good for a hotel – enough cardio, free weights and cable machines – it was also clean.

We would highly recommend Hukilua Lanai for dinner. We went for the special – Five Courses/Five Wines. It was great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank casey a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed in unit A107 at Walpouli Beach Resort and it was exceptional. The resort has every amenity you could want and the unit itself is outstanding with ocean views from every room and the beach less than 20 steps from the unit. The resort is also centrally located with easy access to both north and south shore locations. Unti A107 has two master suites with king beds and opens to the beach on two sides. The unit is well decorated and very comfortable. We booked thru Kauai Exclusive Management and they did an excellent job from booking thru check-out. Great island, great resort, great unit, great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Stayed at Lori & Jeff's condo; Unit E404, which we found on VRBO. It is spacious, nicely decorated, and has a very comfortable king size bed. The living area and the bedroom both have excellent views of the pool area and the ocean. It is a true ocean-view condo. Central AC was a plus but most of the time we had the huge sliders open for nice breezes. The complex is very quiet at night; we heard no sounds from surrounding units-only the roar of the Pacific. Safeway and Starbucks, plus ABC Store and a Long's Drugs just across the street provides all you may need while staying here. It is centrally located on the East shore, allowing for easy access to either the North or South shore areas. Beach in front of the unit is beautiful (the resort provides lounge chairs for the beach) but it is not a swimmable beach. We enjoyed the beautiful sunrise most mornings from the bedroom lanai. This is a great resort for families and couples; it's not a party place.

Room Tip: If a view is important, choose wisely. There are many units in this complex which face the parking l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NurseNancy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2013

This is one of the best resorts we Aussies have ever stayed in. The beach, whilst it is near at hand, is unfortunately nothing to rave about. BUT, the quality of the establishment, gardens, pool, the restuarant is outstanding. Safeway supermarket (in the rather run-down shopping centre opposite) was more than adequate.
We were able to enjoy 1/2 portion sizes in Oasis on the Beach (more than adequate compared with standard US offerings) and the quality is excellent.
Staff were always helpful and attentive. Rooms are particularly impressive for the standard of furnishings and fittings. Three bathrooms for a two bedroom unit. Huge kitchen. Superb king beds.
Kauaii is much more laid-back and unhurried than Honolulu.
Highly recommended.
Mahalo!

Room Tip: Ground floor garden view rooms are more than adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maturin40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $233 - $513 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing