We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Waipouli Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
$394
$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Kauai Shores Hotel(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$195
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$339
$279
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$262
$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$185
$179
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$274
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Plantation Hale Suites(Kapaa)(Great Value!)
$239
$229
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (1,487)
Filter reviews
1,487 results
Traveler rating
891
392
106
62
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
891
392
106
62
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slideslazy riveracross the streetpool areahigh end appliancestop of the linesandy bottomoasis restaurantthe kitchenpool staffmountain viewkauai exclusive managementwasher and dryerocean frontthrough vrboparking lotkauai calls
Filter
Updating list...
1,373 - 1,378 of 1,487 reviews
Reviewed January 24, 2008

If a Sub Zero fridge and Wolf oven is important to you on your Kauai vacation, this is the place for you.
We were very disappointed in this resort. The condos are very nicely decorated and are brand new. Here are the problems:
- The constant hammering from 7p-10p EVERY DAY we were there in the elevator shaft next to our room was annoying, especially since we have two young children.
- They decided to test the fire alarms at 9a. Unfortunately, they didn't tell the guests, so everyone came out of their rooms. The testing continued until about noon, and we eventually figured it out.
- They decided to paint to pool rocks at 10a when all the children are out swimming with no wet paint signs. A few of the kids got lava black paint on their hands and feet.
- Housekeeping was almost non-existent. We actually called to see if there was daily housekeeping, and we had to call 5 of the 7 days to get the room cleaned.
- The pool heater was broken and the pool was very cold. Our two young boys wanted to go down the water slides and were shivering in the water. When we asked about it, there was no apology or offer to use one of the other Outrigger pools.
- The reception staff is bad. I stopped by on our 2nd day to ask about the pool (the resort touts a heated pool, yet it was freezing). The woman was talking on a personal call, saw me, did not acknowledge me, then proceeded to talk for about 5 more minuted before acknowledging me. We waited in line 20 minutes for check-out.
- This is not the hotel's fault. The traffic on the east side of the island is terrible.

Stayed: January 2008
9  Thank Traveler123020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2008

Outrigger condos were top notch. We had an incredible room. View was VERY partial, but worth it to be on the inside of the complex facing the ocean. We had our infant with us and the space was great. Having Safeway so close was a plus. We bought all Hawaii goodies (ie- chocolate, coffee, mac nuts) at Costco for great prices. Do not eat at Hula Girl!!!! Way overpriced for very little food. Main plates looked and felt like appetizers and the prices were that of fine dining for really "bar food" experience. Kintara's was wonderful sushi and excellent service.
Service at the hotel was mediocre. Don't rely on it. Pool and beach are great. We definately will go back to this resort. We looked at the Princeville Resort rooms and they were moldy and outdated. We went up there for a drink. That resort is NOT worth what you are going to pay. The view was great, that's about it.

Stayed: January 2008
2  Thank scubathesea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The rooms were beautiful, but the view was terrible. We booked a garden view room and got a view of safeway... exactly what you expect when traveling from the East Coast to Hawaii and certainly not for that price. The hotel is off the main highway in Kauai. Therefore, if you are looking for a tranquil and peaceful oasis, this is not. However, if you are traveling with small children and seniors, having a shopping center right across is the street is convenient.

  • Stayed: January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Vacation67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Be careful - Hotel is located directly across from busy Shopping center with grocery store and lots of fast food places on a busy part of the main highway (so lots of night time traffic noise). Unable to keep sliders/windows open at night and sleep due to noise. We stayed thru a private owner, so Outrigger did not provide ANY! services (not allowed to charge anything to room at any hotel amenities ie. bar, restaraunt, etc). No maid service, and management treated us poorly once they knew we weren't there thru Outrigger. We had to have room keys reprogrammed numerous (lost count after 4) times. Most rooms do not have view of or front ocean! Represented as a Partial Ocen View (it's amazing what someone will call a partial ocen view - if you count standing on the Lanai looking between two old run down apartments thru the palms and pine trees just enough to catch a glimpse of a few waves). All amenities, bar, restaruant, etc were way over priced ($42.00 for 2 burgers and 2 waters) and less than average quality/preparation. Would not recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank KauaiLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed at the Outrigger Waipouli in August of 2007. The rooms are far above average. They were very clean and they contained upgraded furniture and appliances. I really enjoyed the easy beach access and the size of the pool and deck area. The hotel gym is a joke. There are maybe 6 or 7 pieces of equipment and not meant for a serious workout. The Hotel also does not have a restaurant or store. There are several stores and restaurants in walking distance but the area around the hotel is run down and you have to cross a busy highway to get to anything. We enjoyed our stay at Waipouli Beach but we are undecided whether we will return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews