We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gardenview could get you a view of Safeway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Gardenview could get you a view of Safeway”
Reviewed January 16, 2008

The rooms were beautiful, but the view was terrible. We booked a garden view room and got a view of safeway... exactly what you expect when traveling from the East Coast to Hawaii and certainly not for that price. The hotel is off the main highway in Kauai. Therefore, if you are looking for a tranquil and peaceful oasis, this is not. However, if you are traveling with small children and seniors, having a shopping center right across is the street is convenient.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — The veiws
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Vacation67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    846
    371
    98
    57
    29
See reviews for
714
475
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (369)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2008

Be careful - Hotel is located directly across from busy Shopping center with grocery store and lots of fast food places on a busy part of the main highway (so lots of night time traffic noise). Unable to keep sliders/windows open at night and sleep due to noise. We stayed thru a private owner, so Outrigger did not provide ANY! services (not allowed to charge anything to room at any hotel amenities ie. bar, restaraunt, etc). No maid service, and management treated us poorly once they knew we weren't there thru Outrigger. We had to have room keys reprogrammed numerous (lost count after 4) times. Most rooms do not have view of or front ocean! Represented as a Partial Ocen View (it's amazing what someone will call a partial ocen view - if you count standing on the Lanai looking between two old run down apartments thru the palms and pine trees just enough to catch a glimpse of a few waves). All amenities, bar, restaruant, etc were way over priced ($42.00 for 2 burgers and 2 waters) and less than average quality/preparation. Would not recommend!

  • Liked — Interior appointments/appliances in the kitchen
  • Disliked — location, service, noisy, overpriced amenities
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank KauaiLovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2007

We stayed at the Outrigger Waipouli in August of 2007. The rooms are far above average. They were very clean and they contained upgraded furniture and appliances. I really enjoyed the easy beach access and the size of the pool and deck area. The hotel gym is a joke. There are maybe 6 or 7 pieces of equipment and not meant for a serious workout. The Hotel also does not have a restaurant or store. There are several stores and restaurants in walking distance but the area around the hotel is run down and you have to cross a busy highway to get to anything. We enjoyed our stay at Waipouli Beach but we are undecided whether we will return to this hotel.

  • Liked — Room Amenities
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gene2459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flower Mound
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2007

Wonderful hotel, friendly staff. Rooms are above and beyond. Kids 11 and 7 loved it. Great pool. Beach is great even if you can't go too far out into the water. There are plenty of other beaches close by. Would definitely return.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Limited restaurants
  • Stayed November 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
10 Thank IloveNY70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, CA
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

Pros: Beautiful condos, tastefully furnished and spacious; great pool area with slides for the kids; fantastic sunrises.

Cons: Kapaa is not necessarily where you would choose to spend your Hawaiian vacation. Extremely busy highway, rather rundown town (this hotel is by far the newest building), wet side of the island, and rough surf.

Make no mistake, this is not a full service hotel. Our oceanfront room turned out to be partial ocean view (beautiful, nonetheless). Complaints to management did nothing to resolve the matter. I gave up rather than let it ruin our vacation. There is no adult pool. The deepest pool is four feet, and it is where the two water slides let out. Great fun for kids, parents - not so much. The restaurant was a joke. We were told to take a seat wherever we wanted, so we go the kids situated and ourselves seated - only to be yelled at, seriously, that the table was reserved. It went downhill from there, and I'll spare you the gory details. Eat elsewhere, though.

I guess the main problem is that Kapaa is not central to anyplace you want to be, and the traffic is a nightmare. It can take an hour to an hour and a half to drive the 12 miles into Lihue. During the mornings, they have begun a contra flow that seems to help a little, but if you are not familiar with contra flow, it's rather dangerous and confusing.

For the money we spent here, we could have stayed at the Grand Hyatt with it's many fabulous pools and beautiful grounds and swimmable beach. We would have all been happier.

The gushing reviews on here truly have us baffled. We would not stay here again. If you have never been around SubZero and viking appliances and granite countertops, etc - and if that type of thing makes a vacation for you, then you will love it here - especially if you don't plan any activities outside of the condominium comples.

  • Liked — The rooms were nice and the view - though not as promised - was beautiful.
  • Disliked — Location, location, location.
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank tboneps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2007

In terms of physical accomodations, this property is excellent. The construction values of the condo units are absolutely first-rate (as they should be, at $1.0 to $2.0 million). Very luxurious, with dark wood doors and crown molding, granite counter-tops throughout, huge bathrooms (we stayed in a 2-bed, 3 bath unit), Sub-zero refrigerator, top-notch kitchen appliances and washer/dryer. Absolutely evey kitchen utensil you could possibly need - all very high-quality.

Although we made little use of it, the pool, a huge, wandering, river-like lagoon, with waterfalls and waterslides, is gorgeous, as are the sand-bottomed spa pools. Ideal for kiddies...and though we generally avoid "family" resorts, the pool was such an attraction for families that we pretty much had the beach to ourselves.

The resort is set on part of a very long, curving beachfront. Nice to look at, but, like many beaches in Kauai, not great for swimming, snorkeling or bodysurfing. -But it's suitable for a quick dip - just watch out for the currents, which can be hazardous, especially in the Winter. It's also fun to watch the kiteboarders, who flock to this area.

If you long for a remote resort, the Waipouli wouldn't seem at first to be a great choice...it is situated smack on the Kapaa commercial strip. But the way the property is oriented, facing the beach, once you're inside, you don't notice that you're across the street from two strip centers...and having a first-rate supermarket and numerous little shops and restaurants close-by is very, very convenient. And Kapaa itself is conveniently located...halfway between the Poipu suncoast and the Princeville/Hanalei rain coast.

We stayed at Waipouli just before Christmas, so we benefited from shoulder-season rate of $269. For a unit that could accomodate 6 people, this is an outstanding value...really quite unbelievable for a property of this quality.

Now for the downside: the service in the Aveeda Spa was really sub-standard, especially considering the premium prices. The staff was downright rude...after my wife politely complained about lack of attention to proper hygiene during a pedicure and challenged the staff's efforts to over-charge her for a massage, they cancelled her massage appointments for the next couple of days, without even telling her.

Front desk staff also seriously needs customer-care training. They just don't have a professional demeanor and "forget" things...like letting a FedEx pickup request languish for 48 hours. Not that they are rude...they just don't measure up to 4 or 5 star standards. Bellmen were the exception...but then, tipped staff ought to be.

Provided that the Waipouli's rates don't skyrocket once the resort gets listed in all the guidebooks (it isn't, currently, since it has only been open a year), we would definitely stay here next time we come to Kauai. Fortunately, Kauai seems to be over-built in terms of lodging, so perhaps rates will remain affordable.

We've seen reviews that recommend you pony up an extra $100 to $200 a night for ocean-view units at Waipouli: as far as we were concerned, our "mountain view" (meaning a vista of mountains in the background of a Safeway and a McDonald's) was just fine. Silly to pay such a premium for an ocean view that isn't really world-class, anyway: and if you're spending hours on your lanai gazing at the beach, you're missing the real experience of Kauai, which we feel, after 10 trips to Hawaii, is definitely the best of the islands.

  • Liked — Quality of rooms, value
  • Disliked — Spa and front-desk service
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
11 Thank kurtzken21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Issaquah, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2007

Overall, this is a beautiful proprty however is a great example of a vacation spot that does not have a clear identity. i.e. It does not feel like a resort (like Grand Wailea or Westin Maui) and yet does not feel like a stand alone condo complex. It is like it tries to be both and ends up somewhere in the middle.

Pros:
- Oustanding rooms, etc (Plasma TV's, Crown Moldings, great appliances, bathrooms, etc)
- Clean (has that new hotel smell :))
- Oustanding view (Ocean View Room)
- great location (across from Safway and walking distance to Starbucks + several dining options (Reccomend: "Coconuts')
- great pool layout and waterslides will keep young kids entertained
- friendly staff at pool & beach bar
- Maitai's are great at the beach bar ;)
- Plenty of Free parking
- Rate $ - $339/night for high quality & huge 2bed/3bath ocean view room which you would not come close to on Oahu/Maui

Cons:
- lack of 'hawaiian' ambience at the Outrigger. If this is your first trip to Hawaii stay somewhere else. this is my 10+ trip so did not make that big of a difference
- beach is pretty but unswimable, i.e. 2-3 feet it it is rock bottom
- no true dning options on site as the beach bar closes early
- no music in public areas, etc.. That would make a huge difference
- Friendly concierge "Aaron"

Bottom line Re: Outrigger in Kaapa:
The property feels like it go either way, that is, become a great vacation spot and high end or spiral quickly into a mid-range complex with poor maintenance.

Bottom line Re: Kauai:
If you like beach + shopping + dining go to Maui.
If you want a great pool + activities + eat in your room this is the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank LOWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Property: Waipouli Beach Resort
Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing