We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice resort but poor beach”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2012

The resort is very nice and centrally located. The road in front is a busy highway and you feel as though you are living in the city and not Hawaii. The rooms are great and very well appointed and the staff seems nice. Our 8 year old loved the pool and slides. The beach out front was disappointing as it was not a swimmers beach. The restaurant on site was very good but not affiliated with the hotel. Overall it was a good value. At the coconut marketplace there was a little BBQ place called Harley's. Fantastic food for a great price. The "Tubing the Ditch" tour was one of the coolest things ever.

Room Tip: Paid for ocean front room but its really not necessary. Save your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dustin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,430)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

898 - 904 of 1,431 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2012

Booked room through VRBO. Owner was very helpful and prompt.
Had originally wanted a one bedroom ocean view, but due to booking issues, ended up getting two bedroom mountain view (view of Safeway across the street). We were a little concerned as the main road/highway is between hotel and Safeway, but there were no issues with noise.

The two bedroom unit was spacious, clean and well appointed. Very nice kitchen with excellent appliances (ie: Sub-zero fridge, and Wolf cook top). The two bedroom unit also has 2.5 bathrooms. Master Bedroom has ensuite bathroom, which only has a tub, the 1/2 bathroom that is just through a doorway from master bathroom has the shower and another toilet. A bit of an odd layout, but since it was only the two of us, it wasn't an issue. Unit had full size washer and dryer. The unit is also Air Conditioned, which helped to limit road noise inside unit. The lanai (aka: balcony) is fairly small, although a small table and 4 chairs have been stuffed onto it. 4 people on the lanai would be very cozy.

The only drawback to the unit is that it was close to the elevator, and the noise from the operation of the elevator could be clearly heard in unit.

The location is ideal for getting groceries and for quick trips to quite a few restaurants in the area. Trips to go north to Princeville and Hanalei are easy as well as to Lihue and Poipu.

Since this was a VRBO rental, there was no dealing with the Outrigger front desk, so I have no comments on their service. Basically I/we had no interaction with the hotel operations.

We did utilize the pool, and even though the pool is really cool with its meandering stream-like effect, the seating around the pool is a bit odd. Due to the buildings, trees/bushes and shape of pool, there are plenty of shaded areas. My only complaint about the pool area is that the Oasis bar and restaurant would only serve food until 3p. No appetizers or meals would be served until after 6p when the restaurant opened again, at which point I'm no longer going to be at the pool.

There is seemed to be ample parking in the numerous parking areas, and we were never far from the entrance that we needed. We had rented bikes and cruised up the trail to the north of the resort. Bikes were locked up in the bike racks on the property and there were no issue with theft or vandalism.

Overall a really nice place to stay at and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2012

Booked room through VRBO. Owner was very helpful and prompt.
Had originally wanted a one bedroom ocean view, but due to booking issues, ended up getting two bedroom mountain view (view of Safeway across the street). We were a little concerned as the main road/highway is between hotel and Safeway, but there were no issues with noise.

The two bedroom unit was spacious, clean and well appointed. Very nice kitchen with excellent appliances (ie: Sub-zero fridge, and Wolf cook top). The two bedroom unit also has 2.5 bathrooms. Master Bedroom has ensuite bathroom, which only has a tub, the 1/2 bathroom that is just through a doorway from master bathroom has the shower and another toilet. A bit of an odd layout, but since it was only the two of us, it wasn't an issue. Unit had full size washer and dryer. The unit is also Air Conditioned, which helped to limit road noise inside unit. The lanai (aka: balcony) is fairly small, although a small table and 4 chairs have been stuffed onto it. 4 people on the lanai would be very cozy.

The only drawback to the unit is that it was close to the elevator, and the noise from the operation of the elevator could be clearly heard in unit. Other than that, there was minimal noise heard inside of unit.

The location is ideal for getting groceries and for quick trips to quite a few restaurants in the area. Trips to go north to Princeville and Hanalei are easy as well as to Lihue and Poipu.

Since this was a VRBO rental, there was no dealing with the Outrigger front desk, so I have no comments on their service. Basically I/we had no interaction with the hotel operations.

We did utilize the pool, and even though the pool is really cool with its meandering stream-like effect, the seating around the pool is a bit odd. Due to the buildings, trees/bushes and shape of pool, there are plenty of shaded areas and limited sunny areas. My only complaint about the pool area is that the Oasis bar and restaurant would only serve food until 3p. No appetizers or meals would be served until after 6p when the restaurant opened again, at which point I'm no longer going to be at the pool.

There seemed to be ample parking in the numerous parking areas, and we were never far from the entrance that we needed. We had rented bikes and cruised up the trail to the north of the resort. Bikes were locked up in the bike racks on the property and there were no issue with theft or vandalism.

Overall a really nice place to stay at and would definitely consider staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We were looking for a clean and comfortable place to relax, but not too far to drive to explore other parts of Kauai. This filled the bill for us, a couple traveling on our own. The condo was well-furnished, roomy, with an easy-to-use kitchen, and 2 big bathrooms for us to spread out. Also, 2 lanais, 3 TVs, and a big pool area with kids' pools, adult spa, as well as being right on the beach. Not a good swimming beach, but those are close by. Across the street is a big shopping center - Safeway, Longs, Starbucks. Less than an hour north to Princeville or Hanalei, or south to Poipu or Hanapepe, and 15 minutes to LIhue Airport. An easy walk to Kapaa, an old Hawaii town with lots of good eateries.

Room Tip: all rooms pretty similar, would suggest one not facing the highway; don't pay extra for an ocean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed at the Outrigger in Waipouli Beach upon the recommendation of some friends. We were so pleasantly surprised by the amenities at this resort. The rooms are spacious with full modern kitchen, sub zero fridge/freezer, washer dryer ensuite and much more. There were three sliding doors that we could open up for cross ventilation and access to the ocean air. The resort is conveniently located across from a shopping center where you could stock your condo with groceries. In addition, it is just a few minutes south of the funky town of Kapaa which is home to many nice little shops, breakfast spots and some great restaurants for dinner. We used the Outrigger as home base for our adventures all over the island. The pool are is quite nice and the entire resort is family friendly. At night and in the morning, things are nice and quiet. Parking was included and we couldn't have been happier with our stay.

Room Tip: If you choose a garden unit, you may want to see if you can opt for inward (pool) facing rather than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nyctravelguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

We took a family vacation here ,2 adults and 2 teenagers .
The resort is approximately 20 minutes from the airport by car .It is geographically on the center East coast of Kauai.The location provided easy access to head south to Poipu and north to Princeville .We stayed in the 2 bedroom 3 bathroom unit .These units are huge ,and laid out very nice with a high end gourmet kitchen (Sub Zero refrigerator,and Wolf gas stove/oven ) if you did not want to eat out .There were also barbecues located by the pool area if you wanted to grill outside.
The beds ,vanities ,appliances and furniture were all top quality designer brands .
Having a washer and dryer came in very handy with the kids.
There is a Safeway in a small shopping mall across the street which made it very convenient to pick up items .
The saltwater pool and hot tubs were amazing .
The beach was OK ,but not the best for swimming or snorkeling because it was very rocky with coral ,however there are many other beaches to choose from on the island .
They did provide showers on the beach to rinse off the salt .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank pkw1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for 10 days in January, in a privately owned condo on the 3rd floor of the B building. What we loved about our stay.... the location on the East coast was so great for exploring all parts of the Island. Its only about 35 minutes drive to either Poipu or Hanalei and an hour to Waimea Canyon. Directly across the road is a shopping plaza with a Safeway, Papayas Health Food Market and a Starbucks..a mere 3 minute walk. The pool at the resort is so great - the water temp was pleasant, there was always free chairs in our favourite spots, you could find a quiet place away from the kids area, there are 3 hot tubs. The sandy beach out front of the resort was nice for strolling and watching sunrises. The units are modern with really beautiful kitchen and bathrooms and ours was very well stocked and outfitted. The shared BBQ area was conveniently located with 3 big clean grills for our side of the resort.


There is really nothing major to complain about, we had a great time here but just a few things that were less than perfect....our unit faced the back of the building so we really didn't use our lanai at all because it overlooked the parking lot and the building next door. It wasn't a big deal as we just went down to the fab pool instead but it certainly would be nice to have an oceanview room if its in your budget. There is a restaurant at the resort but it was a little high end fancy food for everyday. It would be great for a special night out but I would have liked there to be a beach bar or casual lunch option to eat while at the pool and a place that you feel comfortable getting a cocktail in your bathing suit. A minor complaint about the adults only hot tubs....more often than not there were kids in them so it would be nice if the signage was better. And the pool closed at 9pm which was a bit too early for me. Lastly, there is really no option for swimming in the ocean here, the shore was rocky and the surf much too rough. But it was a trade off for staying in such a convenient location and we would definitely choose to stay here again.

Room Tip: splurge for oceanview if you can, the backside of the buildings overlook parking lots and the buildi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank Kristi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,382 reviews
Koloa
Marriott's Waiohai Beach Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $242 - $556 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing