We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW doesn't begin to describe it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Waipouli Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 11, 2007

This is a 5-star condo hotel on the Eastern Shore right across the street from the Safeway shopping center. We were supposed to get a 1-bedroom Mountain View but we upgraded for $100 a night to a 2-bedroom Partial Ocean View. We even arranged a late checkout at an additional half-day rate so we were able to freshen up and take a nap before heading to the airport for the all-night flight back home.

The pool was wonderful but wish we'd discovered the hidden grotto behind one of the waterfalls earlier in our stay (we found it on our last day). The hot tubs all have wonderful sand bottoms that you can really snuggle your toes into.

The staff was just superb. This area isn't as posh as the Poipu beach area, but as beautiful as any hotel we've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank candgfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,416)
There are newer reviews for Waipouli Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,317 - 1,323 of 1,416 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2007

We had waited 20 years to visit Kauai. We had decided to bring our daughter with us as she was to turn 18 on the day of our return, so what better gift than a week long Hawaiian vacation? Imagine then being absolutely stunned by the elegance and beauty of a new and nicely situated resort at such an affordable rate.

We wanted a two-bedroom unit, but to save a bit of money chose not to get an ocean view since we'd be out of the room for most daylight hours anyway. We were provided with a gorgeous Mountain View (Sleeping Giant!) 3rd floor 2-bedroom / 3-bath room. Yes, it meant looking towards the Safeway and over the parking lot, but who cares? Not us. With the windows closed we could not hear any noise except for the rare Harley or some other rude person honking. Our room was next to the stairwell, but never heard the door, ever.

The full kitchen was supplied with all utensils needed for cooking whatever we wanted. Yes, we had to supply everything from salt/pepper, to mustard, but the best part is...you don't even have to wash the dishes. That's right, the daily cleaning crew puts everything in the dishwasher and cleans everything up for you! We decided to go to Costco and had over 1/2 our meals in the room and saved a ton of money over high priced restaurants.

The staff was wonderfully helpful. They sure seemed genuinely happy as well. I wasn't looking for any faults, so perhaps that's why I didn't find any at all with them.

The only glitch was with the Barbecue grills that had been moved to the parkinglot. Only one grill had two burners that would work at all. The auto-striker wouldn't spark but the gas would flow. The lighter provided wouldn't work but we got something to work and grill our steaks. I hope they fix it because it's nice to have the ability to grill meat in paradise. As I said, I made enough work to get by.

We've already decided that for our 25th anniversary that we'd come back.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank 7traintripper7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2007

This place is easy to find ! the entry is open and friendly the bell hopp was quick to respond maybe beacuse Dec is the quiet time and best for service not to mention you will get the best condos at this time.The front desk was friendly and very quick to get us to our room. No time sharing took place.
The unit we are in A106 is spectacular !!!! quiet on the ocean front and very nicely inside . My complements go out to the owner ! The beds here are plush thank you.

The pool clean , salt water with a sand bottom . The two slides are a kids dream. Pool side cocktails are the norm with a server doing the rounds pool side.

Easy shopping across the street drug store included.

Nothing left to say other than I just got here for two weeks and am looking forward to coming back. My hat gos off to the staff kep up the good work !!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank winetour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2007

We stayed here from Nov 6 through the 13. We were traveling with 40 family members for our destination wedding. We all had nothing but positive experiences at the resort.
The staff was very accomodating with all of our requests. No issues with the towel check out or bringing in guests from other hotels. Each room is allowed six guests in the pool area and we had some family at another hotel so it worked out great for us! The pool and spa area is to die for, especially if you have children.
Our room overlooked the pool and ocean. Some of our family had the Safeway view and some were oceanfront. No one had any complaints about noise from the traffic.
The only issue that we ran into was with the bar/grill. They were closed by 8 pm most nights and on Saturday night we came back after our wedding (at 10:30pm) and they were closed! That was a bit surprising to us. They stated that they will usually shut down if there is no business but my husband had talked to the manager on Friday to let them know that we would be coming to the bar after our reception and he has said that they would stay open. Not a huge deal but they lost a lot of business that night.
The rooms were amazing. We stayed at the Westin in Maui and this place was 100% better! The traffic light didn't seem terribly long to me and we liked being in the center of the island for traveling as we had events on the north and south shores.
We will definately be back for an anniversary!!!

Stayed: November 2007
7  Thank Pandapi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2007

While I only had a hotel unit, my brother & sister & their spouses had
a 2 bedroom 3 bath unit. Both were phenomenal! They had an oceanfront that was about as oceanfront as you can get with a small amount of green space between them & the ocean. My room overlooked the pool & grounds with a small amount of oceanview just beyond that. We were here for a full moon and as the sun had just set, the view was unbelievable. Words can't explain how nice the accomodations were. Nicer than anyplace I've ever stayed before. It's going to be hard stepping down a notch the next time I travel & have to stay in an average place. The location was perfect due to the fact it was right inbetween the north coast with its many attractions & the south coast with its attractions. Traffic heading south was worse than heading north though. But we had plenty to choose from when it came time to eat right where we were. This is a quiet area, not a lot of night life, but that's okay when you're in your fifties. The resort was just
perfect for us. It was not real big & sprawling like some but I prefer
a cozier atmosphere anyway. I don't think I would be too happy there if I didn't have an ocean view or oceanfront. Looking out onto the parking lot or on the steet is not my idea of paradise when you spend so much money to get to Hawaii. Cough up the money for the view. You won't regret it.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank skoc50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2007

My wife discovered Waipouli Resort and Spa through vrbo. The first thing we learned, the hard way, is that once you are inside 60 days of your arrival, the booking is handled by the resort and not the unit owners. We had selected a unit which overlooked the pool and whose availability chart on vrbo indicated it was available for our stay - we booked it. The next day we were contacted by the unit owner to tell us the unit had already been booked by the resort (still can't figure that one out). He was a tremendous help in playing liaison between the resort and us in finding another unit. After trading numerous emails and phone calls, we were confirmed to say in unit F403 - a mountain view overlooking the palm forest and a small portion of the shopping center. We had read previous posts cautioning against the units overlooking the shopping center or adjacent condo complex.

When we arrived we were told we would be in unit D402 - according to the site map we were given this unit had a view straight over the pool to the ocean. What luck! Not. We were shown to our unit to learn we were facing the opposite direction over the traffic light at the entrance to the complex directly at the Safeway shopping center. Two phone calls to the booking agent later and a third to the front desk and we were moved to the promised F403 unit. When we resettled in the unit we had ac problems. Within 30 minutes of calling the desk, the ac had been repaired (chilled water line was clogged with debris) and the unit started to cool down.

The units themselves are as advertised: top of the line everything, beautifully furnished, very comfortable. Our only regret is that we spent very little time there since we spent so much time exploring the island. When we returned in the evenings we would make a batch of mai tais and head to the hot tubs to unwind. They keep one hot tub as a "family" hot tub (lower set temperature) and the others reserved for adults. The hot tubs were the only resort amenities we used, so can't help much on the restaurant or spa critique.

Some advice: Across the street is Safeway, one block south is Foodland. Get your supplies at Foodland - much better stocked and well kept. Safeway was wiped out of a lot of things and a bit grungy (smelled of animal urine). Definitely sign up for the customer cards at either place. The traffic light at the entrance to the resort is impossibly long between changes. When turning left out of the resort to head towards Lihue, turn right instead. Trave a block or two north and do a U-turn. This probably saved us a combined 3 hours of wait time at that derned light.

Many thanks to Priscilla, the owner of unit F403. She was a tremendous help in getting us a great unit. When we return to Kauai we will be booking a unit at Waipouli resort (at least 60 days in advance :o) !)

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank JustinzDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2007

We just spent four nights here in a 2BR/3BA condo with ocean views. Originally, when we booked an oceanfront condo, I was assuming that meant it would be facing the ocean. Our original condo was H304 and was facing the pool/bar area and when looking out from your lanai on an angle, you could see the ocean. Better to call it an ocean view condo, rather than oceanfront. We moved to G201 which has a great oceanfront location. The downside is that your lanai (a huge one) faces the side of the resort and the parking lot, but parts are angled toward the ocean. The other downside, is that the Master BR is closer to the highway, so you do hear road noise throughout the day and night. Top of the line condo all of the way with Wolf range, Sub Zero fridge, granite counters and great showers and tubs. Laundry
and dishwasher were great to have in the unit as well. The overall resort is quite nice. The pool has a couple of slides which are popular with the kids and there are a few adults only outdoor hot tubs. The nicest thing was the Tahitian Lanai bar/grill overlooking the beach. With a recent menu change, they certainly have some great food and very good prices. Happy hour from 4-6 brings half price mai tais and beers. Overall, we ate/ snacked there often. Location is OK,
but the road noise may affect light sleepers. There is a Safeway, Long Drugs, Starbucks, and Jamba Juice across the street for anything
you may need. Sign up for the Safeway Club card and save close to 20%
on all things (almost everything is cheaper with the card). The location on the mid-east side of the island is not great for swimming, but does give you easy access to most areas. About 20 miles
to Princeville, the same to Poipu, and about an hour to the west side
of the canyon and N'apali coast. Overall, very happy with the value for the quality of the resort.

  • Stayed: October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank bmelter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Koloa
Koa Kea Hotel & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waipouli Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waipouli Beach Resort

Address: 4-820 Kuhio Highway, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
#1 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $227 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waipouli Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Waipouli Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Resort And Spa
Outrigger Waipouli Beach Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Waipouli Beach Resort Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing