We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last minute Lunch was Absolutely the BEST!”
Review of Kauai Pasta Kapaa

Kauai Pasta Kapaa
Reserve with OpenTable
Kauai Pasta Kapaa is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #32 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: none (highway frontage)
Description: We are family owned, chef driven restaurant specializing in Italian comfort food while offering upscale contemporary daily specials. Our KP Lounge features handcrafted signature cocktails, a boutique wine selection, quality beers & unique tapas menu. We appeal to families, couples, visitors and locals alike. We can offer a private banquet dining room, or entire restaurant buy-out for special occasions or corporate events. We strongly recommend reservations, but gladly welcome walk-ins. We look forward to serving you!
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Last minute Lunch was Absolutely the BEST!”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I were exploring and we were getting hungry. It was 2:45 PM and we saw a sign $9.95 Lunch from 11AM to 3 PM. So we took a chance that there might be some Lunch left over at the Kauai Pasta @ Kapaa. We parked and found the front door closed, but there was a sign saying come around to the bar entrance. We peeked in and a waitress said, "Here for Lunch?" We said, "Sure!" and she seated us. She gave us a limited menu, but it had things on it we recognized as some of our favorites. The she told us the specials. "We have a special soup today, a vegetable sausage that is the recipe of our cooks grandmother." It sounded very good. So I ordered that and the House pasta, my wife ordered a House salad and a simple pasta w/ tomato sauce. For $9.95, we both got two items off the menu. Both items were not only good, but they tasted out of this world! The special soup was by far the best and it was their last bowl. My wife and I took turns to try to finish our lunches, but we came up short. We brought some of the special pasta back, thinking we would have it later that evening. It never made it back to our hotel! The food was so good and so plentiful we had to ask about Dinner. Our waitress, who was very attentive, said that we were getting a little more than half of what a Dinner would be. Needless to say, we went back for another Lunch and a couple of dinners. We were not disappointed. The Pesto pasta is fabulous! This has to be the best value on the Island. We were lucky the first time going at the end of Lunch w/out a reservation. I would recommend a reservation for either Lunch or Dinner, because the place was packed on our return visits. Absolutely the best!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank craigpainter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

743 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    226
    126
    37
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Example of a place that should NOT have expanded”
Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we walked in until we left, we both felt we were doing them a favor by coming into the doors of the establishment. The two of us had the house pasta which was good, the lasagna with meat sauce which was cold and one glass of red wine which was hot. The food quality was only average and the service sucked. We will not darken their doors ever again.

Helpful?
Thank icee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSkauai, Owner at Kauai Pasta Kapaa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Aloha Customer,

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience at our restaurant. Our servers and managers are trained to make things right if there is something a customer is not pleased with. Did you let your server or a manager know that your lasagna was cold and your wine was hot? We would have gladly replaced these. They should always be served at the correct temperature, and we apologize if this was not the case when you dined with us. We would be glad to offer you a gift certificate for the value of these items. If you would like this, please email us at inquiries@kauaipasta.com. We hope you will decide to dine with us again. Please accept our sincere apologies that the food and wine were not served properly.
Aloha, Kauai Pasta Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“love the food but service sucks”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

I love the alfredo pene pasta, love the chicken caesar salad, i absolutely love the artichoke dip, and for desert, you gotta try the apple crisp, but the downer thing is that the service sucks, if you sit at the bar, they dont give you menus, then they make you wait for ever, then I ushually have the same thing every time i come here, so i usually have an idea of what im going to have, so i like to have prompt service, i work in the food service, so im a big critiquer, these people need to take a customer service class!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank austin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSkauai, Owner at Kauai Pasta Kapaa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for your business! We are glad to hear you like the food. We are sad to hear you have not received the best service you should have received. If you sit at the bar, you should get menus and prompt service. We apologize if this has not been your experience. If you could email us more details about the bartender that served you, that would be helpful so we can follow up. inquiries@kauaipasta.com.

Aloha, Kauai Pasta Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
130 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Tiny location and parking, but large and delicious portions”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

Finding this restaurant was little challenging, because it's in a small location in a strip mall. And the parking in this town is a bit challenging. The ambience is okay and decorations are sparse; however, the staff is friendly and the food is delicious. We had enough food for our dinner and for lunch the next day.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sheri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“A+ for food & portions; C- for service”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Italian food at Kauai Pasta is very well prepared & the portions are large. My wife had the grilled chicken & pasta with alfredo sauce while I had the chicken parm with pasta & meat sauce. We were both very pleased with the food. So far so good but the service was at best indifferent. Not sure if he wanted to be out surfing, was hung over, or just didn't give a ________!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RickLJJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSkauai, Owner at Kauai Pasta Kapaa, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Customer,

Thank you for dining with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed the food! We are sorry to hear that your experience with the service was not good. We always want our customers to feel taken care of when they dine with us. It would be very helpful if you could provide more information so we can follow up on what happened. If you know your server's name or can offer a description, that would be helpful. You can email us at inquiries@kauaipasta.com.

Thank you again for your business. Aloha, Kauai Pasta Owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kauai Pasta Kapaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing