We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed but they do want your $$$”

Kauai's Hindu Monastery
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
78 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Not impressed but they do want your $$$”
Reviewed July 11, 2013

Disappointed because didn't find this place spiritual or welcoming. They were big on telling you what not to do rather than sharing and caring. To me just a moneymaking enterprise. Gift shop was very high priced.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michele P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    77
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very beautiful and peaceful”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Being a Hindu I loved this place, I never expected to find a temple in Hawaii and this temple has it all.
Huge Banyan trees and beautiful temple. We did not enter the inner temple as we had our 2.5 year old with us. This place is filled with natural beauty and the priest was performing Nandi pooja. Brought back my childhood memories.

Do note that you shouldn't be wearing short and in case you do, they have cover-up at the entrance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Deepti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful & Peaceful”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Had a great visit at the Kauai's Hindu Monastery. Amazing giant banyan tree with hanging flowers , you can walk through the tree! before going in you can burn any bad thoughts or worries, must be respectful and dress appropriately.Was little disappointed that we couldn't visit the temple due to reservation. If you plan to visit this place please make your reservations early because it is only open Monday thru Friday from 9-12.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonal N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Koloa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
189 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

what a beautiful place!!! so serene and gorgeous. the atmosphere is all tranquillity and peace. certainly worth a visit when they have tours and are open to the public.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank ELLEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Gardens Were Nice”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

Shame it wasn't finished. Just one of those things we did when we didn't have much else going on. The gardens are very pretty and look out onto a beautiful waterfall. Very peaceful. The banyan tree was cool. No entrance fee.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank KatrinaKitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai's Hindu Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Hindu Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing