We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Peaceful and serene” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai's Hindu Monastery

Kauai's Hindu Monastery
Ranked #4 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Peaceful and serene”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

Lovelyand spiritual, you are welcomed in by gentle volunteers who will answer any questions you might have about the temple and the grounds and give a simple and accessible explaanation of the Hindu religion with a truly loving and kind spirit. Or wander in quiet contemplation of he beauty and variety of the garden that surrounds the temple. It's a wonderful way to start the day and the spirit of the temple grounds seems o pervade all of Kauai. Namaste.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NimbusCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    76
    17
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Carthage, Tennessee
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth your while”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed the tour here, the place is beautiful with it's waterfalls and streams and there is a certain peace about the place. The monastery the monks are building is beyond comprehension. To see what has been built with only hand tools for the last 15years with 5 more to go is truly amazing. No shorts and wear collared shirt or you will have to wear a sarong. We talked to one of the monks and he told us he is allowed a guest to visit every two years. One of the guests asked what he left behind before coming here 13 years ago, he answer was the water fall in back of him. Well worth the tour.

Helpful?
1 Thank Putcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A beautiful and serene experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

This a wonderful experience. I learned a lot about the Hindu religion. Two things to remember before you go: 1) It is a bit difficult to find the turn off. It is easy to find the road up to Wailua Falls but then there is really no sign to tell you to turn left toward the Monastery. We saw the signs at the neighbor's property which said, "This is not the Hindu Monastery," with an arrow pointing back to the left. This was helpful. 2) Remember this place is a monastery and not a "tourist attraction." This is a holy place to the people who live and worship there, so go there with that in mind. If you are just looking for something exciting to do, go on the zip line. If you go here, you are guest and should be mindful of that. It is a beautiful place to visit.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Reviewer1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quiet”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

Very quiet place to visit. You must wear long pants and long sleeve shirts. I wore a Maxi dress and long sleeve shirt.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank julieannUtah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. George, Utah
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very interesting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2013

We met a gentleman on plan who was one of the monks that was helping put together the gardens ..they were doing some work there so we didnt get to go on the tour however next time we will ..

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bronz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai's Hindu Monastery also viewed

 

Been to Kauai's Hindu Monastery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing