We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Wedding/Vacation/Honeymoon EVER!!!”
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Wedding/Vacation/Honeymoon EVER!!!”
Reviewed November 3, 2010

My husband and I booked our wedding and honeymoon through Mike and Martina of the Kauai Country Inn/Kauai Island Weddings. We just visited there Oct.12-19th of 2010. The package we purchased was the best price ANYWHERE for all that was included. When we arrived we were pleasantly surprised that they had given us a FREE room upgrade because they had a cancellation and the Green Rose Suite was absolutely AMAZING. I am using CAPS because I really can't stress enough how wonderful this place and the people were. If you are looking to have a destination wedding go through Kauai Island Weddings! Todd our minister was wonderful and Martinas son, Johannes, takes the most B-E-A-Utiful pictures I have ever seen!! And if you are just looking for a place to stay for your trip to Kauai, then stay at the Kauai Country Inn...their staff is great, friendly, and very helpful at helping you find things to do. We will definitely be back!!! And were so sad to leave.
Thank you again Mike and Martina!!(and everyone else at KCI)
C&J

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cshaw143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    187
    35
    9
    4
    1
See reviews for
20
165
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 26, 2010

My husband and I planned our wedding with Kauai Country Inn's weddings and I would need a never ending page to describe how amazing, perfect, wonderful and breathtaking our wedding and stay at Kauai Country Inn was.

We arrived a couple of days before our wedding and stayed in the Green Rose Suite which was spectacular! It was a very large space that felt very comfortable and inviting - easy to relax and lounge about and wonderful not having to deal with the stuffiness of a hotel room. Our bedroom was gorgeous with huge windows all along one wall tha allowed us to wake up to the breathtaking sunrise each morning. The bed was the most comfortable bed we have ever slept in and wish we could have taken it home with us! The suite was well stocked with cooking supplies, towels and whatever we needed! Not to mention, there was plenty of sunblock, beach pads, snorkle equipment and other fun stuff available! We were so happy to have the starfruit tree in season and were able to pick fresh starfruit each day - so delicious!

The staff was also amazing! We checked in to find a bottle of champagne and chocolates waiting for us! A complimentary simple breakfast was available each morning which was enough to satisfy you to get to the delicious restaurants in town. Staff was always available for great recommendations on where to go and eat!

We loved that it was out of town and into the forest. It was wonderful having such a gorgeous place to stay, like our own little oasis.

Most of all - we were so happy with how our wedding turned out. It was above and beyond what we could have imagined! Mike, Martina and their staff thought of everything! The provided the most gorgeous leis for our wedding party and a gorgeous bouquet for me! They took countless number of photos and made sure that we were all happy and well taken care of! We couldn't have asked for more!

We hope to come back again soon and definitely recommend using Kauai Country Inn, Mike and Martina for your wedding or vow renewal if you are looking for a memorable, laid back, amazing and beautifual experience!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank scarvo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 22, 2010

From the moment I arrived to the moment I left there was a continual smile on my face! Everyone there was so full of the Aloha spirit all the time.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pikake27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2010

They have thought of everything to make your stay peaceful, relaxing and wonderful. The Beatles Museum is spectacular and Mike is very knowledgeable and engaging. The rooms are charming and comfortable. There are many places to relax and enjoy the beauty of Kauii - the hammock, the deck. There are laundry facilities to clean all your wet, muddy clothes after beautiful hikes in the mountains.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy6423
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Natick, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

We stayed in the Green Rose Suite. It was very spacious. We received some great info from Jeff (one of the people that work there) about a spot down the road to rent Kayaks. It was a great time. We kayaked up the river to check out a waterfall and the Fern Grotto. The kitchen was fully equipped and they loaned us a cooler and snorkel gear. I was really impressed. FYI Bring earplugs. The creatures (roosters) in the country can be loud. However, you probably can't find a B and B with bigger rooms in Hawaii.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tripdog35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

Stayed in the Yellow Ginger Suite. Very inexpensive for two bedrooms plus living room & small kitchen. The space itself was good, but the linens were dirty, yes, dirty! The rugs in all the rooms were also very dirty....crusty stains and obviously not even vacuumed before we arrived. Dusty old dolls & memorabilia on bathroom shelf. This place could easily be spruced up with just a tad of fresh paint, removal of a few pieces of cheesy decor, some new linens, towels and a regular cleaning of rugs. Wouldn't take much to improve on the surface...which is part of the reason it was a bit disappointing.

Lots and lots of ants also. They didn't hurt anything and the "non-toxic pest control" policy they have is nice, but it was a bit unnerving. Also, be clear, there is NO hot tub. I saw some reviews mention a hot tub. They must have been talking about the old, broke down, disheveled hunk of garbage that was located by the rusting, broke down bus that is next to the owner's house. Martina is very nice. Mike has an attitude problem when asked about the bugs.

Property may be classified as agricultural, but the word "farm" is a stretch.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlbwontheroadagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hough2market, Owner at Kauai Country Inn, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
It doesn't seem to matter how hard we try to please people, some people just expect more than is listed and described on our website. By the tone of this reviewer's comments, I would say she has the attitude problem. What can I say...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fernandina Beach, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2010

Kauai Country Inn, nestled in the hills above Kapa'a Town, was just the perfect place to stay for our time on Kauai. It's a short, scenic drive from Lihue Airport in a great location on the eastern side of the island. It's central location made excursions to the north and south sides of the island easy and relatively quick, although Kauai, or anywhere else in Hawaii, is not a place to be in a hurry...too much to see and do to rush around! The Inn offers suites of various sizes and prices. We stayed in the smallest suite and never felt crowded; it was plenty roomy for the two of us. A living room/kitchen area has all you need to cook and eat in, plus books, TV and lots of movies. The bedroom has a queen bed and an Apple computer providing free high speed internet access. The private, covered lanai offers a hammock and the expected love seat and chairs, plus a soothing lily pond fountain to nap by. The well maintained grounds support several different kinds of fruit trees, among them lychee nuts, limes and papaya. When the fruits are in season, you're welcome...no, encouraged... to pick and eat it right off the tree. The flowering plants on the grounds include ginger, birds of paradise, orchids, hybiscus, plumeria and more. Although every suite was occupied while we were there, we only saw our fellow guests at breakfast on the front porch. Definitely uncrowded and private. Mike and Martina and their staff operate a beautiful B&B where we will definitely stay on our next trip to Kauai! Just wish we'd visited their Beatles Museum!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billandbillette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
548 reviews
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Property: Kauai Country Inn
Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing