We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value”
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed March 15, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Kauai Country Inn March 9-12, 2007. Mike and Martina are very pleasant hosts and will insure that you have a pleasant stay.
This property is an INN not a B&B so be sure and stock up on your groceries at the Safeway store in Kapaa, which has more reasonable prices.
Your room key will be in an envelope on the front screen door with instructions on how to access your room through the front door. Please read the instructions!! We neglected to do this and experienced frustration trying to access the room. Our first night was in the Orchid Suite which is downstairs. It is a very pleasant unit but tends to be more humid than the rooms upstairs. There are A/C units in the bedroom that help. Our other nights were in the Yellow Ginger Suite upstairs which is a very nice two bedroom with living room , kitchen and bath. This unit catches the breeze nicely and with the cieling fans we did not need the A/C available in one of the bedrooms.
The Inn is nicely located with but a short drive into Kapaa and Lihue. A very good value for your money.
If you have any questions or concerns when you arrive you can walk to Mike & Martina's house in the rear of the property or call them at the number listed on the instruction sheet with your room key.

  • Stayed: March 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank snowtrooperone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (241)
There are newer reviews for Kauai Country Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

183 - 189 of 241 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Kauai Country Inn from Feb 7th to the 10th, It was just perfect. Mike and Martina the owners have thought of everything, They have put a lot of thought into the suites. The inn is very tastefully decorated and has everything to make your stay very comfortable. We would recomend the KCI to anyone with no problems or worries that they wouldn't enjoy it,The price is also a bargain.

Kauai is beautiful, It is so lush and has such dramatic contrast from the green of the mountains to the blue of the ocean. Our only regret is that we only stayed three nights. We will go back as soon as we can. Check in was very easy, We arrived late and Mike and Martina had our keys and room ready for us with no hassle. We checked in with them the next morning.

When we Met Mike and Martina it was like seeing old friends,They made us feel very welcome and at home. They definitely know how to treat people and helped us make the most out of our short stay. Thier advice about where to eat and directions to some of the sights made it a lot easier for us, We didn't have time to waste, So we can't thank them enough.

The setting for the inn is wonderful and rural, We live in a rural area, So it made us feel at home. With our short stay we didn't get to spend as much time at the inn as we would have liked. We stayed in the Plumeria suite, It was great. The suite has a nice deck and grill, We didn't get to use the grill, When we go back we will give ourselves more time and take advantage of the suites many luxuries.

The suite has a large bathroom with a shower and a whirlpool tub. The kitchen has everything you will need. The internet access is great for making reservation to eat or for activities.It is decorated in a way that is very relaxing and interesting, Very tasteful. There is no doubt that Annie,Mike and Martina's dog, is the princess of the place, When you see her give her a hug for us.

This was our first visit to Kauai, It is a wonderful island. We went to Waimea canyon, A must see ! We spent the better part of a day there. Polihale state park and beach are also worth visiting, Very secluded and beautiful. We did some hiking on the northern part of the Napali coast, This may be one of the most beautiful places on earth. We hiked part of the Kalalau trail and recomend you give it a try. We also visited spouting horn and seen some whales off the coast there.

The olympic cafe is a great place for breakfast, Easy to get to from the Inn. Mike and Martina sent us great directions which made it easy to find the inn, They also sent us a map of Kauai that really helped.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Steve132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2007

I am so glad I "stumbled across" the Kauai Country Inn
> while perusing a Frommer's Hawaii book. It is , without a doubt, one of the
> best accomodation values we have ever come across. We stayed in the Orchid
> Suite, and, everything we could possibly need for a comfortable stay was there
> for us. The large patio outside our door was a wonderful place for morning
> coffee, surrounded by beautiful trees , shrubs and flowers, not to mention the
> amazing bird sounds. We also made use of the gas BBQ on the patio, such a
> nice touch on those days when you don't really want to eat out. Our suite
> was spotless, and,well equipped.
>
> At no cost, Mike and Martina,the gracious hosts, supply guests with such
> things as beach chairs and umbrellas, snorkeling gear and coolers. Again, a
> handy and thoughtful touch.
>
> Mike and Martina are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and welcoming, and
> have many many tips on places to see and restaurants to try.
>
> Highly recommended . We truly enjoyed our too-brief stay in Jan/07, and, I
> have already told friends about the Kauai Country Inn !!
>
> Bob and Dorrie
> Winnipeg, Canada

Stayed: January 2007
3  Thank Bob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2007

The Kauai Country Inn was fabulous!! Mike and Martina are too!They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, fun and memorable. We immediately felt at home. The Plumeria suite was very spacious and we had everything we needed including internet service. We loved the Beatles museum. Waking up to the sounds of birds and wildlife was so cool. We really miss that in the morning. We are vegetarians, so it was terrific picking oranges and star fruit off the trees in the morning. Having the property close to the beach, shopping and restaurants was an advantage too. We are looking forward to returning to the Kauai Country Inn the end of the year.
We have recommended this wonderful place in Kauai to all our friends and relatives. We are so glad we chose the Inn.
Thanks so much Martina and Mike!
Bob and Elise Feinberg Columbus, Ga

2  Thank Chiro0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2007

This is a beautiful place to stay while on Kauai. The room we stayed in came with internet access and a full kitchen/living room/dining room. There was planty if space and our own lanai (porch). The cottage is set up the mountain of Kapaa, about twenty minutes north Lihue Airport. Its very quiet (except for the unoffical island bird, chickens) and th4ere is even tropical fruit grown around the property. The entire place was very comfortable and clean. The view from our bedroom in the morning was of the rising sun. The only downsides were that it got very hot inside the apartment during the day necessitating leaving the fans running all day, (no A/C) and the water pressure was definitely on the low side. But given the remote location we weren't surprised. We definitely enjoyed our stay here, but the owners were a little aloof and we didn't meet them until we checked out when we had to walk over to their house.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank latour70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2006

If you are looking for a perfect place to stay on this island paradise, the Kauai Country Inn is for you. The suites are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We were in the Green Rose Suite for a week and couldn't have been happier. While the inn is not on the beach, it's a short drive to beautiful Lydgate beach.

The prices are incredibly reasonable ... and the pictures on their website show the property very well.

Don't miss the Beatles Museum at the inn, and be sure to get to know Martina and Mike. They are an awesome couple who will insure that your stay is perfect. They have GREAT restaurant recommendations, and know the island very well.

If you are looking for beautiful jewelry crafted by a Kauai native, ask Martina about Karen Keit .. she will point you in the right direction!

I don't know when we will return to Kauai, but we will definitely stay at the Kauai Country Inn. Our thanks to Martina and Mike for making our vacation even better than we thought it could be.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2006

We've always preferred to be off the beaten trail and a little closer to the local scene. Kauai Country Inn gave us both of these plus more.

Mike and Martina were absolutly great hosts. The Inn was like a second home for us, always comfortable to return to. Their hints and suggestions were on the mark, and allowed us to enjoy our trip that much more.

The location of the Inn being central on the island allows you to travel to other area with great ease, and your never really far from any beach while your in Kauai.

The biggest problem that you'll have, is trying to figure out how you can stay longer...or never leave.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank uberjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range: $149 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, balcony and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. Sorry, no children under the age of 13 please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing