We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 10 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A wonderful place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2007

I am so glad I "stumbled across" the Kauai Country Inn
> while perusing a Frommer's Hawaii book. It is , without a doubt, one of the
> best accomodation values we have ever come across. We stayed in the Orchid
> Suite, and, everything we could possibly need for a comfortable stay was there
> for us. The large patio outside our door was a wonderful place for morning
> coffee, surrounded by beautiful trees , shrubs and flowers, not to mention the
> amazing bird sounds. We also made use of the gas BBQ on the patio, such a
> nice touch on those days when you don't really want to eat out. Our suite
> was spotless, and,well equipped.
>
> At no cost, Mike and Martina,the gracious hosts, supply guests with such
> things as beach chairs and umbrellas, snorkeling gear and coolers. Again, a
> handy and thoughtful touch.
>
> Mike and Martina are wonderful hosts. They are friendly and welcoming, and
> have many many tips on places to see and restaurants to try.
>
> Highly recommended . We truly enjoyed our too-brief stay in Jan/07, and, I
> have already told friends about the Kauai Country Inn !!
>
> Bob and Dorrie
> Winnipeg, Canada

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    33
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
18
154
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2007

The Kauai Country Inn was fabulous!! Mike and Martina are too!They did everything they could to make our stay comfortable, fun and memorable. We immediately felt at home. The Plumeria suite was very spacious and we had everything we needed including internet service. We loved the Beatles museum. Waking up to the sounds of birds and wildlife was so cool. We really miss that in the morning. We are vegetarians, so it was terrific picking oranges and star fruit off the trees in the morning. Having the property close to the beach, shopping and restaurants was an advantage too. We are looking forward to returning to the Kauai Country Inn the end of the year.
We have recommended this wonderful place in Kauai to all our friends and relatives. We are so glad we chose the Inn.
Thanks so much Martina and Mike!
Bob and Elise Feinberg Columbus, Ga

Helpful?
2 Thank Chiro0703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2007

This is a beautiful place to stay while on Kauai. The room we stayed in came with internet access and a full kitchen/living room/dining room. There was planty if space and our own lanai (porch). The cottage is set up the mountain of Kapaa, about twenty minutes north Lihue Airport. Its very quiet (except for the unoffical island bird, chickens) and th4ere is even tropical fruit grown around the property. The entire place was very comfortable and clean. The view from our bedroom in the morning was of the rising sun. The only downsides were that it got very hot inside the apartment during the day necessitating leaving the fans running all day, (no A/C) and the water pressure was definitely on the low side. But given the remote location we weren't surprised. We definitely enjoyed our stay here, but the owners were a little aloof and we didn't meet them until we checked out when we had to walk over to their house.

  • Liked — Quiet atmospere
  • Disliked — Intense heat during the day
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank latour70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis TN
Level Contributor
195 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2006

If you are looking for a perfect place to stay on this island paradise, the Kauai Country Inn is for you. The suites are spacious, clean, and very comfortable. We were in the Green Rose Suite for a week and couldn't have been happier. While the inn is not on the beach, it's a short drive to beautiful Lydgate beach.

The prices are incredibly reasonable ... and the pictures on their website show the property very well.

Don't miss the Beatles Museum at the inn, and be sure to get to know Martina and Mike. They are an awesome couple who will insure that your stay is perfect. They have GREAT restaurant recommendations, and know the island very well.

If you are looking for beautiful jewelry crafted by a Kauai native, ask Martina about Karen Keit .. she will point you in the right direction!

I don't know when we will return to Kauai, but we will definitely stay at the Kauai Country Inn. Our thanks to Martina and Mike for making our vacation even better than we thought it could be.

  • Liked — Quality and spaciousness of suite
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't miss Beatles Museum .. in the Inn. Also, get to know Martina and Mike
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank SuziandFrank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2006

We've always preferred to be off the beaten trail and a little closer to the local scene. Kauai Country Inn gave us both of these plus more.

Mike and Martina were absolutly great hosts. The Inn was like a second home for us, always comfortable to return to. Their hints and suggestions were on the mark, and allowed us to enjoy our trip that much more.

The location of the Inn being central on the island allows you to travel to other area with great ease, and your never really far from any beach while your in Kauai.

The biggest problem that you'll have, is trying to figure out how you can stay longer...or never leave.

  • Liked — Relaxed atmosphere
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank uberjim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2006

We just returned from our honeymoon on Kauai where we stayed at the Kauai Country Inn. The island is very lovely and we enjoyed the slower pace of things as compared with Oahu, where we stay in Waikiki. We will definitely try to make it back to this island in the future and will be staying at Kauai Country Inn.

First of all, Mike and Martina, are the nicest people you will ever meet. We are from North Carolina, so that is saying alot, considering the amiable disposition of our neighbors. I have never been treated so kindly except by family, and that's what Mike and Martina made us feel like. They saw to our every need, were quick to give much needed advice about the island and dinning, and even opened their own house up to us when we unexpectedly and repeatedly dropped by with questions. Mike and Martina will give you the clothes off their back if you forget to pack something and are in need. They are the number one reason to stay here at the inn.

Second, the inn is quaint and laid back. It was decorated and furnished with a very stylish and easy going feel. My wife and I stayed in the cottage adjacent to the inn and were very comfortable. Every room comes with a computer and free internet, courtesy of Mke and Martina. This is great if you have a digital camera and you need to burn pictures to a disc. We used snorkeling gear, also furnished by the inn, to go snorkelling at Tunnels Beach. Wow, what a great place. The grounds are covered with fresh fruit growing from the trees. My wife used the fruit when making breakfast and we also packed some for a snack while hiking up Sleeping Giant, which is located 5 minutes from the inn.

In short, this place is a paradise and Mike and Martina are the type of hosts that you want to keep in touch with. We are busy saving our money so that we can go back again. Thanks Mike and Martina.

  • Liked — Mike and Martina
  • Disliked — Leaving so soon
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't waste your time on big, expensive hotels. Stay here and slow your life down.
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Mandalorian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2006

My husband and I recently celebrated our 2nd anniversary with a 10 day trip to Kauai. We stayed at the Kauai Country Inn (in the Yellow Ginger Suite) for the the duration of our trip. The KCI is in Kapa'a, which is a great location because it's really central to everything on the island. It took us about 45 minutes to get to the extremes: Waimea (South) or Princeville (North). Everything else fell somewhere in between, so we thought that it was a great location for our stay. The inn is out in the country a bit, which is cool; we listened to the frogs, insects, and chickens instead of traffic! The Yellow Ginger Suite is very nice; two bedrooms, a bath, a kitchen, and a living room. Mike and Martina (the owners, who are a very friendly and fun pair!) have personal touches all throughout the inn, and they have lots of beach and snorkeling equipment for your use (free!). They also have kayaks for rent. All in all, we were very happy that we chose to stay here, as we saved a ton of money yet really enjoyed the accommodations.

Thanks, Mike and Martina! Hopefully we'll be back again someday! :)

  • Liked — Location, value, friendly owners, personal touches
  • Disliked — Bathroom could use a few more hooks
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank katemax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
8.3 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.4 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,225 reviews
12.1 mi away
Makai Club
Makai Club
#1 of 1 in Princeville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
14.0 mi away
Marjorie's Kauai Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Property: Kauai Country Inn
Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing