We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of Kauai Country Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kapaa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kauai Country Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Kapaa B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in the Plumeria Suite for five nights in August this year! Absolutely fantastic! In fact, it is as beautiful as it looks on the website! Staying on the East side of the Island is great as it allows easy access to the island's main attractions and it is equally far to get to the North and the South shore! We did not find it a problem that the Inn is not directly at the beach as you need a car to get to the best beaches anyway - Kauai has strong currents so it is not guaranteed that you can swim everywhere even if your hotel is directly at the beach! Kapaa with supermarkets, restaurants and shops is a 15 minute drive so no problem to fill the (huge) fridge or go out for dinner if you don't feel like cooking! All in all we loved our stay there and would go to Kauai and the Country Inn again without hesitation!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FMandPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (243)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 243 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2013

What made the KCI so great for us was that it was like our own little place, away from crowds, chaos, & "city life." Mike & Martina run a great little inn up near the middle of the island. If you like breakfast with just a few neighbors each morning & overall the simple lifestyle for your vacation, this us the place for you.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AMU81113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

They are nestled in a charming rural neighborhood, across from a field containing a few very happy cows. I hate jogging, but had the undying urge to explore this beautiful neighborhood on foot in the morning after a great night's sleep. This is without a doubt, a home away from home (ok, better than home; you're in Kauai, and have DVDs, books and boogie boards to borrow at will). Super friendly staff, beautiful accommodations,12 minutes from downtown & the beach, and a storage unit to store large bags if you decide to hike the Kalalau Trail and backpack for a few days before returning to civilization. Beatles fan? The owner has a private Beatles museum, stuffed floor to ceiling with tidbits of information and gives tours 2 days a week. The hallways are hand painted with ocean scenes and Beatle tribute cartoons. So much more personal, interesting and fun than a resort, motel or hotel - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 out of 4 rooms - all beautiful, relaxing and downright FUN. My favorite is the Yellow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and I love Kauai and have been there many times. The first time we went we stayed in a B&B away from the water and it wasn't the best experience, so I had decided that we always needed to be next to the ocean. But I found the positive reviews of the Kauai Country Inn very appealing, especially since it has the Beatles museum, so we booked part of our trip at the Inn. Everything there is perfect, down to the pillows on the bed, and the fruit on the trees outside the rooms. We spent a big part of the trip just hanging out on our private deck. I am ready to move in permanently. We both became depressed when we had to leave, even though we moved to another nice B&B near the beach. Nothing compares to the Kauai Country Inn.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ng N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We spent our first vacation in Hawaii on the beautiful island of Kauai and spent the entire week in the Yellow Ginger Room at Kauai Country Inn. We can't wait to stay there again. What a quiet, clean, wonderful place to stay. The suite was spacious and contained everything we could need to be comfortable and pampered...small kitchen, two large bedrooms and a lovely sitting room. Every morning we had a continental breakfast on the quiet front porch with the company of Jeff or Dave. They were delightful, friendly and very knowledgeable companions. The Inn is also easy to get to and close enough to just about anything you would like to visit on the island.
We fell in love with Hawaii, as everybody does; but we also fell in love with Kauai Country Inn. We give it five stars. We can't imagine any hotel being better.
Plus.....hotels don't have a Beatles museum!!!

Room Tip: We only stayed in the Yellow Ginger Room. We loved it. Bright and airy. But we didn't see any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NanaKas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

In all of our travels we have never felt so at home in an accommodation as we did at the Kauai Country Inn during our fifteen night stay in February. We chose the Green Rose Suite as we wanted the convenience of the fully equipped kitchen. This unit was a pleasure to wake up in and return to each day. We so appreciated all of the amenities and personal touches provided by Martina and Mike, including a welcoming bottle of wine and chocolates, in room computer, use of laundry facilities, the DVD and book library, sundry items in the event that something was forgotten and the unique decor. This was the relaxing, peaceful holiday that we were looking for. The Inn is located in the country next to a rainforest, however, the town of Kapaa is only a short drive away. KCI and Kauai exceeded our expectations. We loved the environment surrounding the Inn including the vegetation, the birds and even the roosters. Each day of our stay we had trouble dragging ourselves away to sightsee and in fact did spend three days in, simply to enjoy our surroundings. Jeff and Tricia provided us with breakfast (which included fresh bagels picked up by Mike each morning from town) and made sure that our rooms were clean and comfortable. They were both very friendly and approachable and provided a wealth of information to us as tourists visiting Kauai for the first time. As a diehard fan, one of the highlights of my stay was the wonderful morning of Beatles nostalgia provided by Mike in his museum located at the Inn. Mike is surely one of the foremost authorities on the group and generously shares his knowledge and collection with guests. The day that we left was a sad one indeed and we look forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Snowbirds06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed here for six nights in march. The suite we had was the Green Ginger. It is amazingly furnished with lots of ethnic artefacts and very spacious. Apart from a huge lounge it had a very large bedroom and kitchen and bathroom. It is about a fifteen minute drive from Kapaa and there are only other properties in this area so it is very peaceful but you have to drive to restaurants and shops. Breakfast is a simple affair but as you have a kitchen with microwave and fridge you can stock up on juice and cereals. Jeff the House Manager is an excellent host very attentive and helpful and very knowledgeable on the island. We had an excellent hike on his recommendation

Room Tip: It is nice to sit outside sometimes so we would choose a room with its own private lanai next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barry T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Makai Club Resort
#1 of 1 in Princeville
299 reviews
Koloa
Grand Hyatt Kauai Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Country Inn

Address: 6440 Olohena Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-8710
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Kapaa
Price Range: $149 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kauai Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kauai Country Inn consists of four private, executive style vacation suites, all of which are beautifully furnished in Hawaiian style decor, with private entrance & bathroom, balcony and full private kitchen or kitchenette. Each of our tropical B&B suites is fully equipped with all the regular amenities, but also feature flat screen TVs with DVD players, and en-suite Computers with FREE Wi-fi internet access throughout the property. Sorry, no children under the age of 13 please. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kauai Country Hotel Kapaa
Country Inn Kapaa
Kapaa Country Inn
Kauai Country Inn Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing