We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Bartender, Sweet Jukebox”

Pau Hana Bar & Grill
Ranked #85 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch
Scott City, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly Bartender, Sweet Jukebox”
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We stopped in and sat at the bar. We were kind of looking for a "locals" type bar, and i think this is definitely it. There is an authentic jukebox in the back (free), no AC, it's small and cozy but I liked the atmostphere. No pretension here. The bar tender, Shanacee, was super nice and really made sure that we were having a good time. They have some fun tropical cocktails, and i think my husband trieda ll of them. We didn't have any food, but I'd recommend it for Happy Hour if you're looking for something low key and off the beaten path. (Also probably the cheapest drinks on the island!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jordan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    87
    10
    11
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Boise, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great food and JukeBox”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Have to search for it, side part of shopping center - looks like a bar (and it is) but has great food. First went there 12 years ago, decided to try again - kids loved food too, and husband loved JukeBox, the special MaiTai was great as well. Calamari a slight bit tough, but they didn't charge for it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank T B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

This place is small, cozy and friendly with good fish and beer. Off the beaten in mall near Safeway. Been going there for yrs. Kids okay too. Fresh fish and cooked right there in small bar area. Good local beers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank carlotta462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Immediately upon our arrive to Kauai, we headed to where our neighbors had recommended to eat, Pau Hana Bar and Grill. The service was very good and the dollar bills on the ceiling enhances the fun atmosphere. However the food did not match these standards. The vegetable stir fry was sweet, as though they had added sugar or a sweetener. It ruined fresh vegetables, which is hard to do. The fish and chips also were a little off. The batter seemed to have odd flavoring in it, possibly garlic powder. And it wasn't a little trace of flavor, it was a strong, overpowering taste. The food was quite a disappointment, and we most likely won't be back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Swede555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome fish and chips!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Tony, the proprietor, obliged us and turned the TVs over to us to watch the US men's national soccer team play against Honduras, which made our day. This is a local bar, and was mostly empty when we were there mid-afternoon on a Tuesday.

Our party ordered the fish and chips and the fish tacos. The fish and chips came with three good-sized fish pieces and a handful of waffle fries. Both were very tasty and it was a very filling meal. The fish tacos were also very tasty, but weren't as filling.

The craft beers we wanted were bottled. We got a few of the Kona and Maui Brewing Company options which were good, but you can get them just about anywhere on the islands.

The price for all four of us, with two beers and one meal each, came to just about $100 with the tip. Pricey, but, really, not any pricier than anything else on the islands for what we ordered. Plus, Tony was fun to talk to and we had the chance to cheer on the national team even while on vacation.

If you're looking for a low-key dining and drinking option, this is the place.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marvinpandroid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pau Hana Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Been to Pau Hana Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing