We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good blackened Ono sandwiches!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olympic Cafe

Olympic Cafe
Ranked #29 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American, Bar, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Description: Olympic Cafe is a casual, yet hip, restaurant and bar located in Old Kapaa Town. Serving up large portions at reasonable prices. With over 200 menu items to choose from; burgers, salads, wraps, pastas and fresh local fish. Contemporary breakfast menu includes pancakes, omelettes and scrambles. We use fresh, local, organic ingredients. Sit back, relax and watch the world go by. ALOHA!
Tampa, FL
Level Contributor
103 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good blackened Ono sandwiches!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

While walking through downtown Kapaa, we stopped at the Olympic Cafe to have lunch. Very nice and very good blackened ono sandwiches. Would recommend!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank TampaTraveler2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,412 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    437
    589
    229
    81
    76
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Alabama
Level Contributor
56 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Lots of great food.....good atmosphere!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

We went after church. Got there too late for breakfast but not too late to see several being served. Wow! Looked great! Our lunch was beyond ample & was very tasty . Only complaint.....was pouring down rain & even though we were inside, it was hard to stay dry. It was also a very windy day...not their fault but they could have closed some windows. Great to look down upon the street....always something going on in the charming little town .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Coast California
Level Contributor
223 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 419 helpful votes
“Waitress: "...your food came from a frozen bag."”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2014

Waitress admitted the calamari appetizers we ordered had been from a frozen bag. On Hawaii this is unacceptable. She also said other food we ordered came from a frozen bag. At least she was honest when I asked. The atmosphere seemed more like a bar than a restaurant so my opinion is just stick to the drink menu and get your buzz on. Waitress was of the bimbo category...we asked if there were any coffee farms on Kauai and she stated they have not grown coffee on Kauai for a long time. Next day we found a huge 3400+ acre coffee farm on Kauai which is the largest coffee farm in Hawaii. Duhhh.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank California_Wine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Wonderful lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2014 via mobile

Husband and I stopped for lunch. Love the ambience. Looks out over the street in downtown Kapaa. Waitress was nice. Portion size was huge. You really get your money's worth which is infrequent on the island. Food was fresh and very good quality as well. Would definitely return.

Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014 via mobile

We stopped with 4 teens for lunch and loved it. The atmosphere was a ton of fun - loved the colors, the happy Buddhas, the birds flying through and the cheerful wait staff. Portions were huge and we really enjoyed the upstairs open air dining. Can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank sarahmakes6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Olympic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing