We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Gluten-Free”
Review of Mermaids Cafe

Mermaids Cafe
Ranked #38 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $10 - $15
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great for Gluten-Free”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The staff was really nice about changing a dish to make it gluten-free. Everything was fresh and I was impressed how many vegetables were on the plate!
I added them to my list of gluten-free options in Kauai:

http://raeraegoesreal.wordpress.com/2014/03/06/gluten-free-on-kauai/

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 950TravelingChick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    237
    161
    54
    27
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, MI
Level Contributor
150 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Ahi Nori Wrap is Excellent- Everything Else, So So - 'Hawaii' Prices”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

We were walking around in town and spotted a line at this place. Since it was lunch time, we decided to give it a try. I got the ahi nori wrap, which was excellent. My husband got something else, with tofu, which I had a bite of. So-so. Service was slow - it didn't seem like staff was in any big hurry. We only tried two things - we walked past this place at other times and there was always a line. Perhaps they were in line for the ahi nori wraps or for something else we didn't discover on the menu. If this place was on the mainland, I'd say it was expensive. For Hawaii, not bad in terms of price.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lhaganmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Organic and vegan friendly”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

One of the still few vegetarian friendly places with good tasting food and reasonable prices. Don't know if all ingredients are, but I hear they try to get as much organic and local food as they can, and many local residents are customers.
Tacos, burritos, salads, etc., a little but not too spicy. They've got fish and meat as well as veggie versions.
It's a hole-in-the-wall window with very little seating, but the ocean is a short walk away. Enjoy a picnic outdoors island style!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TreeFaery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Pricey hole in the wall”
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Let's face it, vegetarian food is hard to come by in Kauai... so it's regrettable that I have to give this place a bad review. Not that many options for veggies, but you can substitute with tofu. Very pricey for basically a wrap filled with rice and a bit of lettuce and tomato on the side. Upward of $13 for a plate. And don't try any modifications. One person in our party is allergic to onions and her order was clearly "no onions", to which the staff member's response was "no onions? sure." The wrap was just full of onions in the rice. The guy taking the order was also the guy who prepared the wrap so he really should've said something if he couldn't fulfil the request.
There are many stickers on the establishment's window that are against GMOs, however I saw the brand of tortilla's they are using for their wraps and these definitely contain GMO ingredients. I find this to be a misleading representation that the cafe is serving "healthy" food.
Be prepared to wait too as they seem to be only able to hand one order from start to finish at a time. And good luck trying to get a receipt.....

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sal09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
QLaw007
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Tasty health food”
Reviewed February 1, 2014

So good, so healthy... I just wish they would put the prices on the menu. It shouldn't be a big secret!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank QLaw007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mermaids Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Mermaids Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing