We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good breakfast”

Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice
Ranked #19 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Jericho, Vermont
Level Contributor
67 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Very good breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

We were very pleased with our breakfast at Ono. Service was friendly and prices were about typical for Hawai'i. This place does have a locals vibe to it which is more my preference over the more resort-y places.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Napali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    510
    345
    107
    41
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast, Gone Native”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

Located right on the "main drag" in Kapa`a, Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice sits on the corner of a well-established shopping area. I had heard from some locals that this was one of the best places for breakfast, I decided to give it a try. So I did. And I returned the next day, so the first try was enough to convince me!

I've read a lot about the shave ice (why is it not "shaved," I wonder? Not just here, but all over Kaua`i), but I came for the breakfast. The first morning I had corned beef hash with two eggs - a meal I haven't had in years. It was perfect! The waitress brought me ketchup without asking, and kept my coffee cup filled. The second morning I ate the Lindsey Special, a fried rice concoction topped with eggs and choice of sausage (I had Portugese). The portions were large but not huge - I every bite and felt filled but not stuffed.

There is no doubt this is a local favorite. There were three of Kaua`i's finest just finishing breakfast as I arrived. Many of the patrons appeared to be "regulars," and known by the staff. Service was fast and friendly, despite the sometimes hectic nature of the business. This is certainly not a "hidden" gem!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fpuhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Locals place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We were in Kapaa just walin around and saw the shaved ice place. Holy cow!!! They are HUGE and oh so yummy!!! While we were sitting there enjoying our shaved ice we look at the menu and decided that we had to come back for breakfast. Our last day we came by and it was packed!! Definitely a place for locals. We waited (not a bad wait). Food was a little slow to come out, but worth the wait. It was so good. This is a definite stop while in Kapaa!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShanWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“YUM!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013

Ono Family is a must visit everytime we come to Kauai.
But I must say, the shaved ice here is the best shaved ice we have ever had. As we waited in the line for ours, other customers were telling us they drove from the northside of the island because nothing else was compared to this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SharonBG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alton, Illinois
Level Contributor
134 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Shave ice mountain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

We stopped on our way to another store and shared a shave ice. They are so big that there was no way either of us could have eaten one by ourselves. They were very generous with the flavors.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank richb102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice also viewed

 

Been to Ono Family Restaurant and Shave Ice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing