We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Today's special”

9th Island Sports Bar & Grill
Ranked #38 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast
Description: Fun clean sports bar offering breakfast daily( Chicken Fried Steak ) lunch and dinner. Happy hour from 3-6 Monday - Saturday. Our burgers are hand made and rated the best on the Island.We have air conditioning for those hot Kapaa days and ice cold pints for all your beverages. Food is freshly made to order, so sit back and enjoy our flat screen TV's and piped in music while waiting for your meal.
Hanalei, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Today's special”
Reviewed March 7, 2014 via mobile

Was hot pastrami and was great. The rye bread was tops. Added horse radish on my own. Yum. Fries too hot to eat immediately. This is good. One of our favorite stops when we must come to Kapaa about once a month.

Helpful?
1 Thank betsywuebker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    66
    21
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best Burger!”
Reviewed March 3, 2014 via mobile

Tucked away in the mall across from the Waipouli Beach Resort is this gem of a burger pub. I had the bacon cheese burger and my husband had the 3 cheese burger. The portions were large and the salad on the side was substantial. Great tasting burgers. I highly recommend the 9th Island.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lemonid50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Falls, Idaho
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Entirely Adequate”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

This wasn't quite the sports bar I had envisioned. All the elements were there -- beer, flat screens, decent grub -- but for some reason it just didn't mesh into the atmosphere that makes a great sports bar. The food and service were good. No complaints, just not outstanding.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank windstarID
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for any meal - don't miss their breakfast! (Or shrimp avacado salad!)”
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We went here one of our first days in Kauai (on our honeymoon) and had dinner. I ate the Shrimp and Avocado Salad and it was divine! There was plenty of shrimp in the salad and the balsamic vinaigrette was incredible. I mentioned this to our server Shell (who was wonderful) and she told me it is homemade. It is not often you have cause to get excited about Balsamic Vinaigrette but this was exceptional. My only caveat about the salad is that I would have liked a little more avocado in it. We liked the place so much we went back for their breakfast and were equally delighted. I had the steak and eggs (which were the best I had while on the island) and my husband had the chicken fried steak which he loved. I would highly recommend this place for any meal!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JofCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great neighborhood bar”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

On our first day in Kauai, we needed a place to watch the Superbowl and so we chose 9th island because it was close to our resort. We were there in our full gear when they opened the doors at 9 and we stayed the entire day (sad for us because it was one of the only sunny days during our trip - but our Seahawks won)
Their staff was friendly, the drinks good and cold and the food surprisingly awesome.
The loco moco was still the best in my opinion after trying it about 9 times on this vacation.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seattlegrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to 9th Island Sports Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing