We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful path along the ocean”

Ranked #8 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kilauea, Hawaii
Level Contributor
70 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wonderful path along the ocean”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

While this path came with an enormous price tag, it provides for wonderful east side views. Great for families as the kids can ride bikes, rollerblade or skate while mom and dad run. Very nice!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank KilaueaGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kaysville, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for kids and adults”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

Nice bike trail that is not difficult. Right along the incredibly gorgeous coastline. Bike rental was about $8 for one hour, which was all the time we needed before kids ran out of steam.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gil M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“16 Miles in 2 Hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

We rented bicycles in Kapaa (behind the Ono Family Restaurant) and headed out toward Lydgate Park where the 12' wide path ends. We then retraced our tracks and proceeded North past Kapaa Town and Kealia Beach to that end. You have to do a "little" bit of zig-zagging through Waiapoli, but otherwise the path is 12' wide and limited to bikes, joggers, etc. You really have to put the "metal to the pedal" to go end to end in 2 hours, but we did it.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShastaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Views”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This bike path is still under construction but what is completed is awesome. We caught remnants of the path in front of our condo at the Beach Boy and had to skirt out to the street once until we got to Taco Bell and we were able to cut to the right and pick up the trail once more. We rode our bikes till the end of the paved trail but if we had mountain bikes we may have been able to continue. Coming back south on the trail there is a misleading sign that says the trail ends but we continued on for at least another 1/4 mile till it actually did end. We also rode the trail southbound from the Coconut Marketplace for a few miles but we couldn't complete that loop as we had another event we needed to return for.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“A scenic view at every turn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

We rented bikes in Kapa'a and spent a wonderful morning biking the Kauai Path, a fabulous paved trail along the coconut coast of Kauai. Wear sunscreen - there is little to no shade along the path. The path was not crowded, but we saw walkers, runners, fellow bikers and strollers enjoying the spacious trail. Bring a picnic and stop at one of the shelters, or carry your towels and spend some time at one of the many beaches along the way. Remember your camera, and enjoy your peaceful ride along the picturesque shore.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ke Ala Hele Makalae East Shore Beach Path also viewed

 

Been to Ke Ala Hele Makalae East Shore Beach Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing