We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to go when you need to clear your mind”

Ranked #9 of 55 things to do in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
California City, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place to go when you need to clear your mind”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My family ask to go here as often as we can. There is something for everyone on this bike trail. If you just wanna hang out at the beach, go fishing, diving, whale watching, at times you'll see turtles swimming and Hawaiian monk seal asleep on the beach. It's such a beautiful trail with breathtaking views all along the way. Being on this trail just takes you away from your everyday routine of work and traffic. What a relief. Just hope in the future this trail can go from the one end of the island to the next. There's also bathrooms at each end of the trail and in between with water fountains.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Chipawa_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    20
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cape May,NJ
Level Contributor
259 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“What views !”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

Has to be the most scenic walk/bike path in the world. 4.1 miles of beautiful ocean scenery. Wide enough to accomadate the many bicyclists and walkers that enjoy this amazing path.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank bigkahuana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
94 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

So when I say hidden, it is actually not hidden at all, but I feel like I can say hidden because of the lack of crowds and the dearth of mentions about this lovely path in most guidebooks. The path is paved, not too busy and you will be rewarded with one great view after another. This was actually one of the best things we did during our stay. We rented bikes at Coconut Coasters and then spent the morning riding up and down the path, stopping for lunch, iced coffees and whale watching. If you are a walker and don't fancy walking the whole 5 miles (and 5 miles back!) I think the biggest bang for your buck is the section just north of Kealia Beach. There is ample parking there and you will catch some of the loveliest parts of the path.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Tink1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great path for walking, biking, etc”
Reviewed March 21, 2013

This path was luckily only about a mile and a half from our resort so I walked here every day of our trip. Early in the day, it was very quiet with few walkers/bikers. The path was even more quiet and peaceful as you move away from the highway and all you have is beach and trees.

It will take a couple of hours to walk the entire trail roundtrip. I highly recommend going the entire distance.

There are facilities at a couple points for bathroom breaks and water fountains.

This was one of my favorite parts of the trip.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Cecilia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Wide path for pedestrians and bicycles”
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A nice long walk that has views of the beaches, condos, activities. Great for those that like long walks. The well paved pathway is wide enough for pedestrians and cyclists alike and is approximately three miles long.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Noel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ke Ala Hele Makalae East Shore Beach Path also viewed

 

Been to Ke Ala Hele Makalae East Shore Beach Path? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing