We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tasty, quick food”
Review of Tiki Tacos

Tiki Tacos
Ranked #9 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Very tasty, quick food”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

An unassuming, hole-in-the-wall restaurant with friendly, accommodating staff. Unfortunately, it's easy to miss from the road because of its location. We came in right at closing time, and they were happy to seat and serve us.

Their tacos are among the best that we had on the island. The shells are made in house (or are so good we assume they are), and they provide lots of choices on the menu for the taco fillings. Our group only ordered the pork, fish and pork/fish combination for filling, and we couldn't come to a consensus about which was best.

My husband was so pleased with our visit that he came back the next day and bought a T-shirt as a souvenir, and to help advertise for them.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

583 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    352
    156
    44
    18
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western US
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent Ahi and Kalua Pig Taco”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

This place is an great find. It is a walk up taco shop with a couple of tables inside and out. The Kalua Pig tacos are excellent, they make the Kalua Pig using traditional methods, then they grill the meat on a flat top to give it an sweet crunch kind of like carnitas. They are wrapped in a delicious home made flour tortilla.

I highly recommend stopping by, tacos are between five and six dollars each. Two is two much one is not quite enough. I would recommend a couple sharing three tacos.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank luv_maui_hi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
73 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“I was told a long time ago by my uncle that the "holes in the wall usually have the best food" and this goes right up that alley”
Reviewed March 8, 2013 via mobile

We went walking from our hotel and ended up at Tiki Tacos not knowing what to expect. Well, we went back several times! I will say this: I did order a fish taco which was good, but the way to go is to order the kalua pig. That was super outstanding.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cdbasu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great tacos of all kinds!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Wow, this taco stand style eatery is a little treasure in a rather bleak looking tiny strip mall along the highway. You can choose any meat (chicken, steak, lamb) and/or fish/shrimp and they put it on a homemade fluffy tortilla (kinda like naan) with cabbage, sour cream, tomatoes, and that crumbly white Mexican cheese and it's wonderful (especially with their special green sauce). That's ALL they offer -- no chips and salsa, no rice or beans, but it's definitely worth the $5-8 per taco! (this is for the more adventurous though -- my husband and daughter prefer Taco Bell whereas my son and I thought it was the best meal we had on the island)

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“If tacos are what you're looking for, look no further.”
Reviewed February 25, 2013 via mobile

The menu is simple, tacos. And they are done right! The meat is cooked to perfection, the toppings are fresh, organic and local, and the taste is incredible. The portions are huge, so make sure you're hungry if you order more than one. Wish I lived on the island so that I could eat here often.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank flynhippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tiki Tacos also viewed

 

Been to Tiki Tacos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing