We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Home Away from Home”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, TX
1 review
“My Home Away from Home”
Reviewed December 23, 2008

My first thought is the cottages are a slice of heaven.
Furnished beautifully, it would be difficult to find something you might need for your stay. The owners have put your comfort at the top of the priority list.
There is a book with all the tours and places of interest included. Something nice to read when you aren't cramped in a car trying to find your way there.
If you go out the back door, you are a short block to the beach. Going out the front door will take you to the Coconut Market. Trust me ladies, there is clothing there you will not find in the states. Have fun shopping.
When you stay at the cottages, you actually feel as if you live there and not just another tourist. We just don't think we could stay in a hotel again when visiting Kauai.

Stayed March 2008
Helpful?
Thank Sknydippr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    269
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
66
196
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ontario
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2008

Our stay at 17 Palms was wonderful! It was a perfect, central location on the island of Kauai. The owners Jeff and Ross were spendid and made sure that we knew they were available if needed.

We stayed in the Meli Meli cottage. It was beautifully decorated and very clean. We felt so comfortable during our stay. Although we vacationed as a couple, we would definitely not hesitate to bring our children back to this cottage.

It was the perfect vacation! We were looking for something different than the typical hotel/resort trip, and the Meli Meli cottage was the ideal private and authentic place to come home to after a day of exploring, hiking, ziplining, kayaking and snorkelling on the beautiful island of Kauai.

  • Liked — The cleanliness, the design, the central location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank apmom_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, CA
1 review
Reviewed December 16, 2008

The 17 Palms, Kauai, consist of two well-kept and private cottages, one with two bedrooms and the other one, on a large lot at the end of a cul de sac. They were perfect for a recent family vacation and met all our needs; my wife and I and our adult son stayed in the two-bedroom, while our daughter, son-in-law and granddaughter stayed in the one bedroom. I'm recommending them to anyone who asks about places to stay on Kauai, especially families looking for more room and a degree of separation. As much as we love and enjoy her, our granddaughter was up at 5 AM every morning, and it was nice to have her in a separate cottage with her parents. It worked the other way as well -- when she needed to go to bed early, we didn't have to tip-toe around the house in fear of waking her. The two-bedroom had plenty of room for us to have meals together, and served as our gathering place.

The access to the beaches was easy -- cross the street and a three-minute walk along a shaded path brought us to two beaches, one with a protected "baby" beach which was perfect for a toddler. It was also nice to be able to walk to stores and a good variety of restaurants. Since it was fairly centrally located on the island, relatively short drives took us to the beaches and points of interest both north and south. For families with small children, there is a great playground about a mile from the cottages -- at a park that also has well-protected swimming areas. You can also rent bikes in Kapaa and enjoy the relatively new bike path that parallels the coast for several miles north. Again, it worked very well for us.

  • Liked — It was comfortable and lacked nothing we needed during our stay.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank DRitch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We stayed at '17 Palms Kauai Vacation Cottages' (Hale Iki Cottage) in November 2008. Are you looking for a tastefully decorated and well equipped cottage in a beautiful garden setting close to the beach? Then 17 Palms Cottages is the place to go. Despite of all those qualities we give 17 Palms Cottages thumbs down. Why? The location is squeezed in between two roads with a lot of traffic noise. On one side there is the busy Kuhio Hwy. (Hwy 56). This is topped by Papaloa Road that runs through only a few yards from the bedroom. No peaceful nights here, that’s for sure! Because this road is so close you will have the impression that the noisy cars and motorcycles are driving over your head. At 5 every morning you will be woken up by a garbage truck picking up the litter of the hotel across the street. A city slicker may love all that sound – we didn’t.
To cut a long story short: If you don’t mind the traffic noise all day and night long 17 Palms Cottages is a good place to stay. If you are looking for a quiet place to relax we definitely don’t recommend it.

17 Palms Kauai Vacation Cottages
414 Wailua Kai St
Kapaa, HI 96746, USA
http://www.17palmskauai.com/

  • Liked — tastefully decorated and well equipped cottage
  • Disliked — noisy location
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank swiss-squirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmshi, Owner at 17 Palms Kauai, responded to this review, December 16, 2008
In response to "Noisy Location", it is unfortunate that these guests did not point out that we have a construction project next to us (occupancy projected March 2009) that was fully disclosed to them in writing when they reserved (see their photo of construction trucks, dust screen and new buildings being built). We have hosted hundreds of guests during this time including honeymooners, first time visitors and return families. We were chosen by Conde Nast Traveler Magazine as one of the 20 perfect places to stay in Hawaii due to the way we maintain and run our business, how we treat and take care of our guests, and our return and referral rate speaks to this. Please come see and experience for yourself! Aloha
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia, WA
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2008

The owners are the best, and this is the best place to stay in Kapaa. We stay there every time we visit. Close to the beach, non-toxic and just beautiful.

  • Liked — Non-Toxic
  • Stayed February 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YellowBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
791 reviews
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
341 reviews
0.3 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing