We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bliss”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Missoula, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Bliss”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family of 4 stayed in the beautiful Meli Meli cottage August 2012. I can't say enough nice things about Jeff and Ross (the owners) - they created this little oasis on Kauai, responded promptly to all requests, played "tour guide" to my many questions about the island and really treated us like family, friends and royal guests.
The cottage itself was wonderful - clean, comfortable, relaxing and well stocked with things we needed. We navigated the island from one end to the other from Meli Meli and found we were never too far from any point, and were always happy to return "home." Our daughters played around the cottage, inventing forts and special island adventures while I lounged outside. The beach is just a short walk away as is a little grocery in the Coconut Marketplace (which I wished I'd found sooner.)
Some of our favorite things about Kauai and Meli Meli: the geckos, the beach (take a right at the end of the Beach Access path) and all the beaches (Glass Beach, Tunnels Beach, Kealia), Tiki Tacos, Passion Cafe, Hee Fat in Kapa'a, the Oasis Bar/Restaurant, Napali Coast boat tour, Smith Family Luaua, to name just a few. If and when we come back, we'll most surely stay at Meli Meli and I'd love to explore the Coco Palms (was super curious about it while we were there but didn't look in to it, unfortunately, until we got home), find more waterfalls, see the whales, and repeat all our favorites again.
Thanks to Jeff and Ross for everything!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    31
    3
    3
    1
See reviews for
65
191
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We were looking for an alternative to a big hotel for our stay on Kauai and 17 Palms is a perfect alternative. Meli Meli cottage was great in every way - big, comfy, well equipped, close to everything. It allowed us to walk to many fantastic local restaurants (and they were all amazing) or stock up for home cooked meals. Being able to prepare our own breakfasts every day was also a big cost saving. Being stocked with everthing for the beach including towels was fantastic so we had more valuable luggage space for shopping, and the path leading to the beach is just outside the gate. The only thing missing is the sound of the ocean waves at night, but that's just being picky - you couldn't ask for a more well equipped, clean and convenient place to stay, and the bed is soooo comfortable! Jeff & Ross have thought of everything and were very helpful with anything we needed. Thanks for adding to the charms of Kauai. We have already recommended 17 Palms to our friends.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2012

I was recommending 17 Palms Kauai to a friend today and realized I failed to write an official review. My bad because this house and the homeowners who took care of every detail were fantastic. We arrived on Kauai and the memorable winter rains of 2012 began. We were essentially shut in at 17 Palms for days because it wasn't safe to venture about the island. It was the best house to settle in and cook, watch family movies, play games and to occasionally weather the storm to get something to eat nearby. The house never flooded which was amazing because everything, everywhere was flooding. The house is small, but extremely comfortable. It is well stocked with everything you need to enjoy your stay. The location is great and the owners are incredibly knowledgeable and helpful. My family recommends 17 Palms whole heartedly.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michele B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanalei, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's a perfect Hawaiian cottage and in a great location. It's close to the beach, restaurant, shops, and market. Meli Meli is stocked with everything you can ever want. The apointments are tastefully Hawaiian and very comfortable. Jeff and Ross take great pleasure in sharing their love of Kauai with all their guests and feel so lucky to have discovered their rental.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nami1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our first trip to Kauai and it was perfect. One can stay at a hotel anywhere, but to really experience the local flavor of Kauai we would highly recommend 17 Palms. Jeff and Ross have put tlc into their lovely cottage and we felt very comfortable and happy there. We'll definitely be back! Thanks Jeff and Ross for a truly lovely holiday!
Lynda and Peter, Arizona

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndah405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Kauai, and the islands for that matter. The cottage set us up for everything we were looking to get into. A quiet setting located close to town and pretty much mid-point on "the road", you couldn't ask for a better launching pad and soulful resting spot than Meli Meli.

Jeff & Ross thought of everything so all home comforts are taken care of down to sharp knives in the cupboard! We were lucky enoug to be there the 1s week in June and timed it perfectly with a "Taste of Hawaii". We can't recommend it highly enough! GO!

Close to the water, tucked away yet walking distance to Kintaro's (again, just go) and Eggberts, getting out is easy. Though lying under the fans for a nap is heaven, and more than a few beverages were prepared at the counter to just enjoy in the kitchen. With so much going on outside being able to relax inside was a welcome end to the day.

We strongly recommend 17 Palms! We are both counting the days when we return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My new hubby and I loved Meli Meli- it was the perfect jumping off point throughout our honeymoon. Ross and Jeff have thought of everything (coolers, beach towels, guide book, beach chairs/umbrella, etc) that you would need on your trip! Huge help and saves you money bringing your own or buying when you get there. The bedding is so comfortable and the kitchen's well-appointed. We saved money being able to cook a few meals but enjoyed walking to dinner and the fun bar nearby, Trees.

Also, even though it was just us, we noted several times that a family would do well to rent both cottages and put the kids in one, parents in another- safe setup for both parties but allows kids to have fun and parents to enjoy some privacy... :) We will certainly aim to return to this lovely abode near the beach!

Room Tip: Kapaa is a bit more commercial and heavily populated than other areas of the island, which is not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMHDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.2 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
768 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Property: 17 Palms Kauai
Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing