We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet Cottage in Kauai”
Review of 17 Palms Kauai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
17 Palms Kauai
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 17, 2012

It's a perfect Hawaiian cottage and in a great location. It's close to the beach, restaurant, shops, and market. Meli Meli is stocked with everything you can ever want. The apointments are tastefully Hawaiian and very comfortable. Jeff and Ross take great pleasure in sharing their love of Kauai with all their guests and feel so lucky to have discovered their rental.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nami1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (311)
There are newer reviews for 17 Palms Kauai
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 311 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2012

Our first trip to Kauai and it was perfect. One can stay at a hotel anywhere, but to really experience the local flavor of Kauai we would highly recommend 17 Palms. Jeff and Ross have put tlc into their lovely cottage and we felt very comfortable and happy there. We'll definitely be back! Thanks Jeff and Ross for a truly lovely holiday!
Lynda and Peter, Arizona

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lyndah405
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

This was our first trip to Kauai, and the islands for that matter. The cottage set us up for everything we were looking to get into. A quiet setting located close to town and pretty much mid-point on "the road", you couldn't ask for a better launching pad and soulful resting spot than Meli Meli.

Jeff & Ross thought of everything so all home comforts are taken care of down to sharp knives in the cupboard! We were lucky enoug to be there the 1s week in June and timed it perfectly with a "Taste of Hawaii". We can't recommend it highly enough! GO!

Close to the water, tucked away yet walking distance to Kintaro's (again, just go) and Eggberts, getting out is easy. Though lying under the fans for a nap is heaven, and more than a few beverages were prepared at the counter to just enjoy in the kitchen. With so much going on outside being able to relax inside was a welcome end to the day.

We strongly recommend 17 Palms! We are both counting the days when we return! Thank you!!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tania B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My new hubby and I loved Meli Meli- it was the perfect jumping off point throughout our honeymoon. Ross and Jeff have thought of everything (coolers, beach towels, guide book, beach chairs/umbrella, etc) that you would need on your trip! Huge help and saves you money bringing your own or buying when you get there. The bedding is so comfortable and the kitchen's well-appointed. We saved money being able to cook a few meals but enjoyed walking to dinner and the fun bar nearby, Trees.

Also, even though it was just us, we noted several times that a family would do well to rent both cottages and put the kids in one, parents in another- safe setup for both parties but allows kids to have fun and parents to enjoy some privacy... :) We will certainly aim to return to this lovely abode near the beach!

Room Tip: Kapaa is a bit more commercial and heavily populated than other areas of the island, which is not a...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMHDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

If you look for some place to feel at home while you're away, that's the one.
The Hale Iki cottage is equipped with everything you need if you don't want to spend your time and your money eating out or renting stuff. There are many appliances for cooking, several bodyboards, beach seats...
Decorated with Japanese-style objects and furniture, nice colors, Hale Iki is perfectly clean and very pleasant. Sitting on the porch with our coffee watching the geckos and birds was our daily treat (beware of the mosquitoes, though).
Also, since we had to work during our stay, it was also great to have a *real* high-speed internet connection, unlike the really bad shared connections you find in many places.
The location has the advantage of being half way between north and south shores, so we always had enough time in a day to explore each shore and do great hiking.

Several grocery stores and the nice Kapaa old town are 5 minutes away.
There's even a small beach within 5 minutes walk, but now very swimmable. If you're looking for some "big beach time", you'll have to take your car or rent bikes.

At last, the bookbinder written by Jeff and Ross was full of good suggestions and advice.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bertrand P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 14, 2012

My husband and I and our 20 yr old daughter found this lovely well equipped cabin a short stroll from the beach on Trip Advisor. Correspondence from the owners was quick and thorough.There was a small mall next door and although it was close to a main road, it was very quiet. We were greeted with some lovely fruit and chocolates and found everything in the cabin that we needed including lawn chairs and boogie boards.The kitchen was equipped with good quality dishes and equipment and the beds were super comfy! No air conditioning but that didn't matter because there were lots of fans and the cabin stayed cool.A wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceykl_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

From the time of our initial contact, Jeff was most helpful and friendly. We stayed in Hale Iki, where we found fresh fruit from the market, and really, everything we needed, from soy sauce to plastic rain ponchos. The place was sparkling clean, tastefully decorated, and well-equipped. Bed was comfortable. Our only glitch was the noise of traffic and a thunderous chorus of cane toads at night. You may laugh, but those babies are LOUD. Granted, we didn't close windows, use the AC, or the thoughtfully-provided white noise/sound machine. There were no insect problems in the cottage, though you should be generous with the mosquito repellant if you want to sit outside. Be prepared to be thoroughly charmed.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tricia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
palmshi, Owner at 17 Palms Kauai, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2012

We truly enjoy reading about how much our guests enjoy 17 Palms Kauai and we do everything possible to respond to their needs while here. We also want to ensure that due to circumstances beyond our control, like heavy rainfall which can lead to seasonal cane toads in nearby fields, currently and for most of the year the area is dry and as of now there are no toads in sight (or earshot!). Mahalo nui loa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
353 reviews
14.7 mi away
Westin Princeville Ocean Resort Villas
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 17 Palms Kauai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 17 Palms Kauai

Address: 414 Wailua Kai St, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1457
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range: $239 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
17 Palms Kauai is comprised of two Kauai vacation cottages in a garden setting chosen by Conde Nast Traveller Mag. As "one of the 5 perfect places to stay on Kauai" - a private oasis adjacent to Wailua Bay, one of Kauai's most popular beaches (made famous in Elvis' Blue Hawaii). Everything you need during your Kauai vacation is a short walk, located across the street from the beach path and one block from tons of restaurants and shops, rentals, live music, coffee roaster, farmer's market, etc. These are fully equipped, free-standing homes with complete amenities including complete kitchens, laundry, dishwasher, sharp knives!, Wi-Fi, and many other niceties, a true home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 17 Palms Kauai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
17 Palms Kauai Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing