We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“If you like having a kitchen and lots of space, stay here!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plantation Hale Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #7 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Goleta, California
Level Contributor
157 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“If you like having a kitchen and lots of space, stay here!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

The location is great. Walk across a field and the ocean is right there. The staff is very very helpful and makes the Plantation very attractive. Several swimming pools, beach towels provided, and things that need attention are rectified immediately. Clean and quiet accommodations with rooms in different motifs add interest. Road construction contributed to noise on the mountain side but the staff understood and moved us to a quieter location.
Staff told us about a local farmers market which was a treat. Concierge made dinner reservations at Hookilau Lanai for us. Its a short walk and delicious food was presented in a lovely atmosphere.

Room Tip: F building is great location. Mountain side view is gorgeous but has road noise. Ocean side is muc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blamboley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Aloha Goletagone. Thank you for pointing out how great our location is. I'm so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and that our team took care of your requests.I agree with you it is great having the local farmers market and the Hukilau so close. Mahalo for your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

719 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    296
    84
    43
    14
See reviews for
209
316
37
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

We are now seniors and have been staying at Plantation Hale almost every year for 30 years. We have always found it to be the most cost effective property in the area. The property was intially developed in the mid 1970's and has been well maintained. There are 10 buildings of 16 units each on two floors. Each unit has a large patio/porch accessable through sliding doors from both the living/dinning and bedroom. The overall occupancy is a combination of full time residents and rental units owned by part timers.

The traditional decor was wicker/south seas. The recently redecorated units (new drapes, furniture, carpets, bedding, lamps, etc.) is pleasoningly contemporary with a hint of oriental ( I hope that is what the management thinks) and is very nice, indeed. Some units have two double beds and others have a single king.

Kapaa is on the middle of the east side of Kauai and is ideal for those wishing to visit both ends of the island on day trips. There are nearby restaurants and supermarkets as well as a twice a week farmers market, within walking distance.

As with most of the islands in Hawaii there is one major road around the periphery that must handle all the traffic. Over the years this has become a problem nearby and patients and courtesy when driving is a must.

The ocean is about 100 yards across a grassy field. "Scenic View" units face this way. It should be noted that along this part of the coast there is a reef making the beaches unsuitable for swimming. Swimming beachs and parks are a 5 minute drive away.

The outdoor reception area is manned by the helpful staff.

Room Tip: Choose a "Scenic View" room (higher rate) to eliminate road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Clarence N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Aloha franceAvignon_Fr. First and foremost thank you for being such a loyal customer. I am delighted you enjoy our location and liked our new suites.Thank you also for acknowledging our staff, they are terrific. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2013

We stayed here for a week at the beginning of February. The room was very spacious, clean and comfortable. The kitchen was fully equipped with everything you need for cooking and we had a huge balcony with small table and chairs. The best part about this place is the staff. Everyone was great, especially Priscilla who works at the front desk. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NovaScotiaValley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
Dear NovaScotiaValley. I am delighted you had an "awesome stay". Thank you for the great rewiew and for acknowleding Priscilla. I will share your wonderful comments with her and our team. Mahalo.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

My husband and I just spent 16 days here and found the staff to be outstanding. Any concern or issue that we had was addressed immediately and professionally. There was always a friendly face at the front desk and we rarely had to wait for any kind of service (towels, videos, help with excursions). The location is a short walk to the beach, grocery store or shopping center. You can't beat the proximity to the farmer's market on Tuesdays and Thursdays at the Coconut marketplace, so convenient. It was easy to drive to either side of the island for hiking and other excursions as Kapa'a seems about mid way. We did lots of hiking and enjoyed the very clean hot tub regularly. Our unit was recently remodeled and very beautiful. Good value for the price.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side and not along the highway are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Fresch_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, February 17, 2013
AlohaFresch_7. Thank you for the wonderful comments and for sharing them on Tripadvisor. I am so pleased you enjoyed our location, staff, and our new suites. We so appreciate your kind words and your business. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2013

Good location and just a short walk to the beach. It is an older place, but it was clean, they seem to be upgrading things all the time. The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The Coconut marketplace is a short walk and has lots of nice shops and food. There is a farmers market in their parking lot 2 days a week for fresh produce. Safeway and Foodland are just down the road and there are plenty of good places to eat nearby. This place is nothing fancy, but has every thing you need for a vacation in beautiful Kauai. We stayed in building K at the end. It was nice and quiet, but I would avoid rooms adjacent to the highway.

Room Tip: We stayed on the upper floor and the beach side away from the highway is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eric Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meridian, Idaho, United States
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had read many of the reviews and thought this would be a great place to stay. Unfortunately, this property is right along a busy highway. We stayed in H5 which was at the end of the building and heard traffic noise the whole time. Also had to call maintenance to have the shower/tub cleaned. Even after they had cleaned it, it still appeared dirty. This property is currently doing renovations and we were fortunate enough to stay in a suite that had been recently been redone with new furniture, paint and new carpeting which was a plus. Also do not plan on using the pool. It is not heated and was to cold to use. Also, I thought I had asked if there would be any charge for parking, and was told there would be no charges. But when I checked out there was a wi-fi and parking fee charge.

Room Tip: Stay away from suites close to the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Aloha Karen G. Thank you for your feedback and for staying at Plantation Hale Suites. I will certainly inspect the shower in unit H-5.On your next visit we would be happy to assign you to one of our quieter east-facing suites if available. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oroville, California, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

I would like to start out by saying THANK YOU - Noe ! We arrived early to the Plantation on 1/17/2013 and figured we would have to wait for our garden view room. But thanks to Noe she had upgraded us to a Ocean view room C-9 and had it ready for us at no extra charge. That was going above and beyond in our eyes. The Plantation Hale was an ideally located for us to visit and see the entire island. This was the first time we had visited the island and Noe really showed us the " Island Spirit ". I would highly recommend the Plantation Hale for it's relaxing and comfortable atmosphere. Great value and beautiful views from our second story " condo c-9 " . Mahalo to Noe- You made our visit to Kauai a very memorable experience! Matt & Barbara M.

Room Tip: Second floor facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 672 reviews
15.2 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
1.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#9 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Property: Plantation Hale Suites
Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing