We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“wonderful people, i would happily stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“wonderful people, i would happily stay again”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our recent trip to Hawaii left us without a room for the first 2 days until our condo was available, so we price searched travel websites. Plantation Hale had good reviews, the price fit our budget, and it was close to our next check-in. The hotel staff was very gracious, moving our party to a bigger suite when we told them an unexpected guest traveled with us. The property is beautiful, a short walk to the Islands's edge to watch the sunrise over the ocean, not blocked by buildings. Our suite had a nice kitchenette, and though we hardly used it, I did think it quite serviceable for a longer stay without too much fussing. Wi-fi is available, although I had to re-enter the password every time I tried to access. The AC in my unit was in the bedroom only, the living room with our kids pull-out queen bed was noticeably warmer. There are many pools, and nice, large towels provided. It is a 2 story complex; there is no elevator, so traveling with older persons or heavy baggage might give trouble. I found the overall experience very satisfying, and would not hesitate to stay there again: the price was reasonable, and I felt it money not wasted.

Room Tip: I'd prefer the second floor, the Island's chicken infestation makes for noisy mornings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sean D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    305
    90
    47
    15
See reviews for
219
334
38
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (229)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whitby, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Stayed at the Plantation in July 2012. Friendly staffs and great location to go either North or South of the island. Lihue and the Airport is about 15 - 20 minutes away. You need a car to visit in the island. Convenient shopping at Coconut Market and two great supermarkets down the road - IGA and Safeway. At IGA the cashier gave us the membership discount price by registering your home phone number or use the card provided by the hotel. There is also Farmers Market where you can buy fresh produce at Coconut Market Parking Lot or Kauai Community College. There is a path to go to the beach. If you enjoy quite a quite beach this the is place to be - beach, waves and you.

The hotel room. Everything is quite old. We have room service daily. The screen door to the lanai needs a good wash and some fixing. It does not slide properly. The bathroom tub is old, has to replaced as it is not stable when you step in. Overall the living area is clean. With some improvements it will be a notch a better place. The stove is the most antique I ever seen. But it works fine. If you need anything else, just ask the the friendly person at the reception. If your room is facing the highway it can be noisy as cars zipped by until late at night or early morning. Overall I will go back, this time facing the parking lot and an upper floor suite.

Room Tip: Upper floor facing the parking lot.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DOC431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Good Budget location, but needs updating

We needed a day between condo stays while on the island and Plantation Hale seemed like the perfect spot. The location is great and the price is excellent. For the money it was a good property.

The property grounds are well maintained. The staff at the office area was friendly and helpful. At check-in we were assigned a ground floor queen room, even though we had requested, in an email and a telephone follow-up, an upper floor king room. The correct type of room was eventually found and we were happy with the location. There was a nice view of the ocean from the lanai.

The units are in need of updating. The bathroom glass shower doors are out of date and the kitchen is definitely due for a complete make over. Even though it is a bit older, I was impressed with how well the stove worked, but there was no dishwasher.

I was disappointed with some areas of housekeeping. In particular we noticed the dust and dirt on the louvered windows and the dust on the air purifier above the television. With just a bit of work, the rating would be much better.

Overall, for the money, this is a good spot for a night or two in a convenient location.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Prius909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Aloha Prius909. Thank you for your nice comments from your recent stay with us. I am so pleased you enjoyed both our location, and the staff. I apologize for the confusion on your suite type request however I am glad we were able to resolve the issue. We have a number of suites off line since we are renovating. We are currently painting and installing new carpet, we expect the furniture in shortly. You will be pleased to know the scope of work includes replacing the shower doors. By the end of the year we will have 60 brand new units. I will most definitely share your feedback with my housekeeping department to insure we are inspecting suites more closely. Thank you so much for your business, I hope we will see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ANN ARBOR
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

My wife and I just returned from a nine night stay at Plantation Hale . The staff on site was excellent ! The location was perfect for us. We did not want a resort atmosphere and spend litte time in our suite. BUT... Our Suite C-13 was clean yet really worn...the kitchen was basic and the dishes etc. not so good. Wifi did not support i-pads needed to use ethernet able device for consistant internet contact. The staff tried to help but they could do little. We paid extra for an upgrade and that got us upstairs the first unit off the main parking lot, over looking the pool one hedge away from the highway.{not worth the money}. We did not use the beach down the path from the property. The Plantation used to be a Best Western listing..It would be my guess Best Western severed the relationship. Late check out is a $50.00 fee to leave at 3pm not 12 noon. If mananagement does not do something soon the majority of their guests will be contractors doing extended stays while doing road work on Kauai. Pete Warburton

Room Tip: do not pay for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PETER W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Plantation Hale Suites was terrific! Clean, quiet (didn't even hear the chickens in the morning), friendly staff, reasonable size kitchen fully stocked with pots & pans, and air conditioning. A nice pool and a hot tub. I highly recommend this home-away-from-home for anyone who is willing to do their own cooking (which we did). If you want to pay a lot of money with no ammenities, then stay at the Hyatt.

Room Tip: Our accomdations had a bedroom with 2 beds, and a livingroom with a fold out couch. I used the couc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012

This was perfect - great location near shopping and easy to go to north shore or south shore.

We had an extended stay so loved having the full kitchen yet walking distance to excellent restaurants and fun bars (Trees) when we wanted to go out.

Very friendly attentive staff.

Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: Would get room facing ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yucaipa, CA
Level Contributor
114 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Came back after 8 years. Had trouble with housekeeping back then and was given a certificate for a nights stay. They honored the certificate after all this time! We were given a more modern suite that is gorgeous, the old decor suited me just fine and I would have been happy either way if it is clean. We have been treated wonderfully and the management defintely cares about guest service. The only draw back is the amount of noise from the highway when you are in the pool. The pool behind our room C-11 is a great size with an extremely clean spa also. These pools are one of the cleanest and well built ones I have been in. Everything else is just splendid! Rooms are comfy, our room has a view (about a hundred yards from the beach) which is beautiful, plenty of space, lots of closet, full length mirrors, conveinent and reasonable laundry facilities and a solidly built complex so you don't hear people above or below you. The illusion of being on the ground floor even though it is the second story feels safe. Mercy at the front desk is a doll and gives the best service I have ever seen in staff anywhere.
This is not the large generic non-personable Hotel that most people typically frequent. It is two- story like Condos with a front desk mostly outdoors and relaxingly quaint. Located right next door to the Coconut Marketplace is a great place to wander, eat a Dole Whip, Lappert's delectible Ice-Cream and shop a couple of places who have great prices. (Suzie's Clothing and the shop directly across from it) All the other ones are high priced but fun to brouse none the less. I can't imagine staying anywhere else and for a great price. Mahalo Plantation Hale!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lindylove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
We are so pleased you returned and enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments. I have shared your comments with all the staff, and with Mercy. She is really terrific. Thank you for acknowledging her. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 bubbles 745 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
15.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Property: Plantation Hale Suites
Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotwire, Vacatia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing