We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #8 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Reviewed August 22, 2012

This hotel was excellent. I flew down to Lihue, Kauai late Friday night at around 9pm Hawaiian time. I checked into a DIFFERENT hotel and was very unsatisfied with the room. I immediately checked out of the room and checked into this hotel. After flying from Pennsylvania to Hawaii a total of 12+ hrs I just wanted a clean room and a quiet night. This hotel has it all! I stayed in one of the newly renovated rooms. The room was huge, with a huge kitchen, living room, bedroom and bathroom. I would definately recommend this to any family or any person staying at this hotel. For the price (I am a Triple A memeber) which lowered it to $109/night and a $10 charge for parking I didnt mind paying it for the amazing room! This hotel is also centrally located.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Mahalo Kevin for the wonderful comments. We hope to see you again soon. Wishing you and your family a safe and happy Labor Day weekend. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (788)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

568 - 574 of 788 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2012

We recently took our 2 kids (1 teen, 1 tween) to Kauai. This was our first time staying at the Plantation Hales Suites and in a condo style room. We usually vacation at more typical hotel/resort style places (lots of amenities, room service, etc.,). We loved having a kitchen so we could eat on our own schedule and eat what we wanted to eat. There was plenty of space for the four of us to spread out without luggage in the way. Our room (J14) had a balcony with beautiful view of the beach which was only a few minutes walk away. The staff was very pleasant and helpful. The grounds were quiet. The Plantation Hale is located very convienently to the airport, grocery store, and restaurants. The price was reasonable. There were a few things that we would have liked including: separate A/C controls in each room, a dishwasher, more on-site activities, and a hot tub at the pool closest to our building. Only 2 of the three pools have hot tubs. The pools were very quiet most of the time with only one or two people if any using them at a time. Some people would really like this, but for my teen and tween, they prefer more interaction with other kids. I didn't see any other kids their ages during our stay. We learned that we prefer a more full-service hotel, but overall, it was a good experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Loves2travel540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 25, 2012

Aloha Loves2travel. I am so pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay with us. J-14 does have a beautiful view. I will share your comments with our team. We do hope to see you again with your teen and tween..:). I do hope you had the opportunity to explore our beautiful island paradise. Thank you for your patronage.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We always enjoy our stay at Plantation Hale. Friendly Staff, Clean rooms and Pool is not crowded. Althoug the Chlorine in the pool was a little strong for me, the kids loved it! Also wifi in all of their rooms makes makes it a plus. Early check in was available and late check out at a resonable price.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank benevee12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Recently stayed at Plantation Hale Suites during an island-hopping trip with a friend from Italy. We stayed in F16 and booked the unit directly with the owner. Our unit was fine for the price we paid and we really enjoyed the location. The complex itself is only a 2 minute walk to the beach, and our unit faced the ocean so we could see and hear its power. We spent most of our time exploring Kauai, so we were only minimally in the unit for sleep and the occasional meal. It was fine with only a couple of hiccups. It lacked a dishwasher and w/d but it did have 2 working a/c units, which came in handy since neither of the ceiling fans worked properly. The bathroom had been renovated and was nice and spacious. We did encounter a few cockroaches in the unit but they were all dead and it's Kauai so that's expected anywhere really. The unit was very quiet and there was always plenty of parking, which seems to be a problem at many other complexes nearby. Overall, a fine base for enjoying Kauai for 2-3 days.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travels4jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Plantation Hale Suites was a great place to stay. Their customer service is fantastic. The suite was always clean and the rate was very affordable. It is located half way to either side of the island which came in handy. Food stores are close by and the beach (not for swimming...) is a short walk. Close to the airport which was nice after a long day of traveling. Shower stall could use updating but everything else was A+

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Poor service. Cheap with amenities. Stove did not work. No soap. Very little provided in kitchen. No service at all one day. Close to the highway. Can hear noise from pools, neighbors, walkways, and driveways. Best thing is the location. Pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sandiacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Aloha sandiacindy. I certainly apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I am not sure why we missed servicing your suite, and will share your feedback with the staff. We usually rate very high on our service so I personally am disappointed we did not meet your expectations.I do hope you will try us again and thank you for feedback and your patronage. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good hotels, good size rooms. Nice pools, although not happy with the "no drinks" rule... Had a soda in a plastic cup, and security asked us to leave. NOT impressed with the RUDE female security guard. Asked me to move my car to a parking space that was so small a golf cart wouldnt fit. Made rude comments under her breath, not professional at all. Avoid her at all costs! Love the DVD/Blu-Ray rentals, complimentary towels at the desk, all of the front desk staff was nice. Great that there was a kitchen with dishes (our first room's dishes were nicer, we switched mid-week due to other reservations that fell through). Not fond of the speedbumps in the road, but they're everywhere.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ReidB950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Aloha Reid B. Thank you for the great feedback on your stay. I do sincerely apologize for the encounter with our Security Staff. I will address the issue. They are an extension of our team and need to be both polite and professional. We do allow bottled waters, however having to monitor three pools the no drinks policy is strickly for the safety of guests. I am so glad you love our complimentary DVD library, many of the movies were filmed right here on Kauai.Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to your next visit. Aloha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
3.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.4 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kapaa
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
360 reviews
15.1 mi away
Koloa Landing Resort
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range: $156 - $286 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing