We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Plantation Hale Suites
Ranked #9 of 11 Hotels in Kapaa
Orwell, Vermont
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Plantation Hale Suites was a great place to stay. Their customer service is fantastic. The suite was always clean and the rate was very affordable. It is located half way to either side of the island which came in handy. Food stores are close by and the beach (not for swimming...) is a short walk. Close to the airport which was nice after a long day of traveling. Shower stall could use updating but everything else was A+

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    306
    92
    47
    15
See reviews for
221
336
40
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Poor service. Cheap with amenities. Stove did not work. No soap. Very little provided in kitchen. No service at all one day. Close to the highway. Can hear noise from pools, neighbors, walkways, and driveways. Best thing is the location. Pillows were lumpy and uncomfortable. I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sandiacindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, August 9, 2012
Aloha sandiacindy. I certainly apologize for the challenges you encountered during your stay. I am not sure why we missed servicing your suite, and will share your feedback with the staff. We usually rate very high on our service so I personally am disappointed we did not meet your expectations.I do hope you will try us again and thank you for feedback and your patronage. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wamego, Kansas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Good hotels, good size rooms. Nice pools, although not happy with the "no drinks" rule... Had a soda in a plastic cup, and security asked us to leave. NOT impressed with the RUDE female security guard. Asked me to move my car to a parking space that was so small a golf cart wouldnt fit. Made rude comments under her breath, not professional at all. Avoid her at all costs! Love the DVD/Blu-Ray rentals, complimentary towels at the desk, all of the front desk staff was nice. Great that there was a kitchen with dishes (our first room's dishes were nicer, we switched mid-week due to other reservations that fell through). Not fond of the speedbumps in the road, but they're everywhere.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ReidB950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Aloha Reid B. Thank you for the great feedback on your stay. I do sincerely apologize for the encounter with our Security Staff. I will address the issue. They are an extension of our team and need to be both polite and professional. We do allow bottled waters, however having to monitor three pools the no drinks policy is strickly for the safety of guests. I am so glad you love our complimentary DVD library, many of the movies were filmed right here on Kauai.Thank you for your patronage. We look forward to your next visit. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

I have stayed at the Plantation Hale Suites for 2 weeks every summer for the past 5 years when i bring over a school group of 20 - 40 Canadian teenagers. All the ladies at the front desk, the Manager and all the behind the house staff are so friendly welcoming and extremely helpful. They really go that extra mile to make you feel welcome and to make you feel at home. This year i have noticed a lot of changes and refurbishments. Great new BBQs through out the grounds and a general sprucing up. This is the perfect hotel especially if you enjoy having your own amenities - kitchen, living room etc. The pools and BBQs are perfect for pot lucks and BBQs. The field in infront of the hotel is a rare bit of space in a resort area and leads to a raw and magical beach with stunning views.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sophie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Aloha sophie w. Thank you for sharing your comments with our friends at Tripadvisor. It was such a pleasure having your group stay with us. Mahalo for recognizing our wonderful team. We look forward to seeing you next year. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

We stayed in this delightful place for two weeks over Jue-July 2012. It's in a great location, with easy access to both the coconut marketplace for touristy stuff, and the general shopping center for groceries and everything else we needed. The apartments are roomy and well appointed. It's not brand new, but for a family travelling with kids, this allows us to be a little more relxed anyway. Service from all staff was prompt and curteous, especially the maintenance staff who fixed a few small items for us during our stay. We loved the location (just across the field from the beach - and whilst it's not a great swimming beach, about 5 mins walk to the south, there's a great rockpool that the kids can swim and snorkel in safely. This was our second trip to Kauai, although given the choice I'd probably never leave! When we come back, I'll definitely be looking to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you are staying on the bottom floor, take heed of the signs telling you not to leave things on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrea D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oahu, Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2012

Awesome. Front desk was very helpful and very friendly. For the price, the room was on par with with some 4-stars out there, very clean. The pool and hot tub was very relaxing. We love the fully furnished kitchen. With the high price restaurants and coffee shops, the kitchen will really save you a pretty penny. Safeway and Foodland was a couple of blocks away. Excellent location, ample parking. Wife loved the wifi and ethernet connections. Only complaint we had was the water pressure, showers took longer but you get clean.
Living on Oahu and have been to pretty much every island, kauai is the island we long to return too and will again book at this hotel. We only had two nights here, it was so relaxing that it felt like we were here a week.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2012

We arrived late on Kauai, from the West Coast, so this was a perfect location...just 15 minutes north of the airport. Suites are roomy, and adequately furnished, but fixtures in bathroom, sliding door aluminum frames are corroded....However, the price is right! Great value for families!
The beach is just across a field (no street to cross), very beautiful location! Staff is friendly and helpful!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gary1145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John D, General Manager at Plantation Hale Suites, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Aloha Gary 1145. Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay and our location. We are in the process of removing all shower doors, and replacing them with curtains. I just reviewed the list, we have completed 37 suites. All should be done within the next 6 weeks. Thank you so much for both your comments and your patronage. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Aloha.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.3 mi away
Kauai Shores Hotel
Kauai Shores Hotel
#5 of 11 in Kapaa
534 reviews
3.3 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
2,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
768 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#3 of 11 in Kapaa
334 reviews
0.3 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Hale Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Hale Suites

Property: Plantation Hale Suites
Address: 525 Aleka Loop, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1496
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kapaa
#4 Family Hotel in Kapaa
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Hale Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Plantation Hale Suites is located in the heart of Kauai on the scenic Royal Coconut Coast and steps away from Waipouli Beach. Enjoy spacious one bedroom suite accommodations (738 sq ft) with the finest amenities such as full kitchens and private lanais. Suites sleep up to six people. High speed Wi Fi,Flat Screen LCD TV's with Cable (60 preimum channels)Blu-Ray DVD, Movie library,350 DVD's. Planation Hale has three outdoor pools,(4)picnic and BBQ areas, whirlpool spas, Shuffle Board. The resort offers several restaurants, full Concierge and Activities Desk, mini market, ATM, and a SPA. Located nearby, Golf, Tennis, Horseback Riding, Wailua River and Kayaking,Opaeka'a Falls, Waimea Canyon, Hiking Trails. Kauai's best location and value. great for a romantic getaway, or a family vacation. Our dedicated staff welcomes you with the true Aloha spirit. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Vacatia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plantation Hale Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Hale Hotel Kapaa
Best Western Kapaa
Kapaa Best Western
Plantation Hale Suites Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing