We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive for what you get except...”
Review of The Shrimp Station

The Shrimp Station
Ranked #23 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
rantoul
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Expensive for what you get except...”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My dh ordered the Cajun shrimp which he said had no heat/flavor and they left the shells on the shrimp. The shrimp were fairly small as well. On the other hand my coconut shrimp was very good and left me fully satisfied.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank cheryl61866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    268
    256
    128
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Shrimp Lover!”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

I had the beer batter shrimp and this was cooked to perfection. Light tempura beer batter and very tasty - 12 shrimp with fries! I just couldn't get enough!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Luvaloha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Incredible shrimp”
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Clean dining area and such good coconut shrimp! Pleasant staff and quick service. Doesn't look like anything special, but the food is YUMMY if you like shrimp. Tried to go back a 2nd time before leaving the island to go home, but they were closed on Super Bowl Sunday. Go figure.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sgphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“BEST coconut shrimp ever”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I am not a huge shrimp fan, but the coconut shrimp here is DELICIOUS! We were anticipating eating at the original Shrimp Station but were thrilled to return to the island and discover this second location as it was much more convenient to where we were staying. Yes, the restaurant isn't a fine dining atmosphere but who cares when the food is this good? Yes it's maybe a bit pricey for the 'decor' but we will be back because it is just that good. Surprised to see negative reviews here about small shrimp because ours were good sized and delicious.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kay B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good fish and chips!”
Reviewed February 9, 2014

My husband had shrimp which was very good. I had fish and chips. Fish was very fresh white fish, I believe Ono. Prices were reasonable. Very casual so could go in beachwear. Would definitely go again!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank maggie44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shrimp Station also viewed

 

Been to The Shrimp Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing