We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you like shrimp, don't miss this place!”
Review of The Shrimp Station

The Shrimp Station
Ranked #23 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Restaurant details
New London, NH
Level Contributor
89 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“If you like shrimp, don't miss this place!”
Reviewed November 26, 2013

You might normally drive right by this unassuming store front on a busy street.
It has no atmosphere, but OH, the Shrimp! Best known for their cocoanut shrimp - firm, perfectly cooked and not greasy. Go for lunch or get takeout for supper. Good value!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cloudhi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

692 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    253
    123
    40
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good food and lots of it”
Reviewed November 24, 2013

What the Shrimp Station lacks in ambiance, it makes up for in delicious shrimp. The portions were large - my wife and I shared the shrimp and fries and had trouble finishing it. The food was delicious, both the shrimp and the fries were "just right".

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DustyBottoms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topsfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Yes the McDonalds of shrimp, but delicious!”
Reviewed November 21, 2013 via mobile

My husband calls this place the McDonalds of shrimp, and you certainly wouldn't come for the atmosphere, but the shrimp is delicious! I especially loved the Thai shrimp... Spicy and perfect! Hotdogs available for kids who just don't appreciate good food.

Helpful?
Thank CapeJennifer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Really good stuff”
Reviewed November 19, 2013

I am still amazed, the shrimp was so good. We visited both of their joints. Yeah joints, as European description of a restaurant does not apply to a regular eating place. Nevertheless the food was great and that was what we were after for.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank O T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anacortes, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great coconut shrimp!!”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This little spot is a "no frills" place...but the coconut prawns and shrimp tacos were really good. In fact, I don't think I have had better coconut shrimp...they were very lightly coated, great coconut flavor and the shrimp were perfectly cooked. They offered some sauces for them...best just plain! Wished there was an option to trade out fries for salad....but otherwise, would come back for sure!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shrimp Station also viewed

 

Been to The Shrimp Station? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing