We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feels like home.....”
Review of Kauai Family Cafe

Kauai Family Cafe
Ranked #53 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Filipino, Hawaiian
Description: We will be having a Mothers Day Brunch at 7am-2pm
Restaurant details
Description: We will be having a Mothers Day Brunch at 7am-2pm
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Feels like home.....”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

My husband and I went to Kauai for the first time. I stumbled on this place coz I wanted something quick and local style. I was so happy the owners are Filipino and they have Filipino dishes. I had the fried bangus (milkfish) meal with fried eggplant. So yummy it reminds me of being back home in the Philippines. I love their food so much we had to eat here every day of our vacation. They have quite variety of local food and filipino food as well. Its a family own restaurant so they treat you like family too. Very welcoming and attentive to your needs. Food prices are reasonable. Definitely a place to check out when your in Kauai. We will be back to this cafe whenever were in Kauai again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GyPsY_Soul78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    29
    11
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“BEST VALUE on Kauai”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

I have visited Kauai 3 times, and each time I stay on the island, I eat at this place several times a week, sometimes twice a day. It's that good. It's a family-run restaurant, and they treat customers like family. The prices are extremely reasonable, and the food is consistently tasty. The menu is diverse, starting with the owners' own Philippino specialty, as well as some local Hawaiian favorites, and other Asian featured cuisine. I gave it 5 starts, and if the chart went up to 10 stars, I would give them 10, simply based on the incredible quality, for getting such value, at a very economical price.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lani T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dallas, texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A Must-Go To! Incredible treasure”
Reviewed February 4, 2014 via mobile

We stumbled upon the restaurant and like the sign indicating "family food" versus a chain or touristy place. Wow! We had an incredible lunch of chocolate beef, roasted pork, rice, noodles and then.....oh my gosh....the Banana and Icecream dessert! Purple and vanilla Icecream on lightly fried bananas inside a light pastry. And only $2. Enough for two. We plan to go back again this week. Delightful owners. This is a true treasure on kauaii!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank colleenbrinkmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crete, Nebraska
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We first found these folks at a Farmer's Market at the Community College. I tried a bowl of pancit- rice noodles stir fried with veggies. It was so good we searched out the restaurant in Kapaa and had a meal there. Excellent food, very friendly service. Portions were large and very reasonably priced. Give them a try!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corvallis
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Wife and I just had lunch here, nice choices reasonably priced, try the chocolate chicken. The pork roast, adobo and csbbage with pork also fantastic. Very helpful staff

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fillzee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kauai Family Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Kauai Family Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing