We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A French Cafe?”
Review of Art Cafe Hemingway

Art Cafe Hemingway
Ranked #26 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $30
Cuisines: Hawaiian, European, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: As of June 2016 Art Cafe Hemingway follows a new concept: 2restaurants in 1 house. Monday - Friday HEMINGWAY BY MIAH Chef Miah and his young team serve the same brunch items as Jana and Markus. For dinner they present European inspired dishes. Friday - Sunday ART CAFÉ HEMINGWAY operated by Markus and Chef Jana. The restaurant features refined, playful dishes that highlight exceptional local ingredients and seasonality from their own Farm. Enjoy brunch in a relaxed atmosphere with best Italian coffee drinks and amazing brunch items. Or dinner in a romantic environment in one of the oldest houses of the island, with a small but precious selection of old-world wines and house designed cocktails.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A French Cafe?”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

The owners appear to be French based on what I overheard and you do get a bit of that Euro-cafe vibe. Interesting casual surrounds. Excllent coffee and we tried the equally good quiche. Service was very friendly and I heard the server tell some other patrons that they can bring their dog next time. Viva La France!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    274
    88
    31
    14
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“We expected more based on the reviews”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

My wife and I went there on Thursday August 9th. It was a cute interesting place but the food wasn't as impressive as I had hoped it would be. I think it would had been much better if I would had gotten there and been able to get breakfast, seems like there is a much better selection for breakfast.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dmark1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Slow service”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went here one morning, ordered a few breakfast things, we waited forever, and we seen there was so many flies in the bakery display, very unclean, this place was a waste of time and money! Don't go!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Byrene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Art_Cafe_Hemingway, Owner at Art Cafe Hemingway, responded to this review, December 21, 2012
I'm very sorry about your bad experience. We are a family business and yes, sometimes people have to wait longer as we are doing everything from scratch in a small kitchen. I'm fully aware that the best way to harm a restaurant is to insinuate the place is unclean. So your experience must have been really bad that you created this absolute groundless accusation, for what I apologize. Even the health department of Kauai stated that we are one of the most clean places on the island.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A Nice Change In A Small Area”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

They have created a nice concept for Kauai, nothing new in bigger metro areas of the country but certainly different for this area. The food is excellent full of flavor and creativity. I get the impression it is run in a very clean environment which is not the case with everything in Kauai, so this is bonus on a small Island for us. The biggest knock would be the portions are VERY small !They certainly could pick up their value of price paid to portion size ratio for a good overall improvement

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank onlymyview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Amazing spot: best coffee and breakfast in all of Hawaii!”
Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

Best place to have breakfast; they serve the best coffee and great breakfast dishes. Music is great - very relaxing - and the art is very intriguing. We had breakfast here every morning while staying on Kauai.

Helpful?
1 Thank Rcp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Art Cafe Hemingway also viewed

 

Been to Art Cafe Hemingway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing