We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pastries!”

Passion Bakery Cafe
Ranked #2 of 2 Bakeries in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $10
Cuisines: Cafe, American, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: We are a full service Bakery Cafe. Different from most due to being on this small island of Kauai,Hi. Our cafe serves both breakfast and lunch with a variety of baked goods. We also serve the health food stores, restaurants and hotel industry out of the same building. While we serve you breakfast or lunch we will be packing breads which are getting ready to be delivered to our wholesale customers. So both retail and wholesale out of the same location. We have an open kitchen so you can watch out staff at work. Also, we are roasting our own beef for our sandwiches which are covered with a house made dry rub, we also make our own pastrami using the short ribs which are perfectly marbled with good fat. We brine the short ribs for 7 days, smoke using pecan wood for 4 hours then slow cooked for 48 hours using a sous de vide technic. Come and try one of our sandwiches.
magnolia, tx
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great pastries!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

I knew this would be good when I smelled the fresh baked bread coming out of the oven, as we walked in the door...perfect timing! I had a blueberry scone, and my husband had a croissant. They were so good; we are hoping to return there at least once more before we leave.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flutterbug3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    64
    13
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome baked goods”
Reviewed August 22, 2014

Make the trip in at 6am for Macadamia Nut sticky buns. Delicious!
Their bread is wonderful, and the breakfast sandwiches are like nothing else I have ever had.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mellen56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fail...fail...fail!!”
Reviewed August 14, 2014

These people need to give up their day job cause baking is not something they are good at. The selection of bakery items is limited and overpriced. They bake and sell croissants but have no clue what they should look or taste like. The staff look like they hate their job and it shows in the quality of the food they sell. Way over priced. Two croissants (that would be better used as paper weighhts) and two coffees...13 dollars!

I gave them one star only because they were open early......Stay away!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Edna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
103 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Yummy”
Reviewed August 11, 2014

Went here after reading Trip Advisor reviews. Small family operated bakery, great for a quick breakfast. Nice selection of breakfast sandwiches and pastries. The macadamia nut rolls are delicious. Several tables to eat inside or outside in the courtyard of an outdoor mall.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank luvvacation58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kealia, Hawaii
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Hands down the best breakfast sandwich on the Island!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

I'd give this place a perfect score if the aesthetics were up to par. But don't let that discourage you. Get yours to go, and enjoy on the beach or on your lanai or anywhere.
Everything is good here.
But the baked goods are excellent.
And the breakfast sandwiches are to die for!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canaan-Jason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passion Bakery Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Passion Bakery Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing