We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disaster Area!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kauai Kailani

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kauai Kailani
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Sarasota
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disaster Area!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

This construction site should not even be renting to anyone!!! The "resort" is in the process of remodeling everything, and only a few units are evewn open. THEY SHOULD NOT BE OPEN, AND SHOULD CLOSE DOWN. STAY AWAY! Luckily, we only we at this place for one night inbetween timeshares.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SAS2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    7
    4
    7
See reviews for
23
19
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Gresham, Oregon, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

After going to Kauai Kailani for many years, we just returned and you cannot imagine our disappointment. I don't know how Castle can even call this a resort. There is construction everywhere. You get to spend your vacation days listening to equipment, hammering, demolition and your nights listening to construction workers (who by the way are staying in the rooms guests are not permitted in) fight, party and drink. Oh boy, just my idea of a paradise get-away.

The housekeeping and front office staff are as good as they have ever been but the manager...let's just say that he doesn't belong on a garbage truck let alone managing in the hospitality industry.

You can count on your reservation not being honored. You can count on the fact you will not get the room(s) you requested and the manager will be completely non-apologetic about it. He doesn't care if you stay or not. He has no clue that a reservation is a contract for services of which, during our two week stay, he was consistently in breach of contract with everyone we talked with trying to stay there.

They had guests show up with confirmed reservations and he had no rooms for them. Can you imagine arriving for your vacation and having no where to stay??? I guess we should be thankful they found a room for us, even though it was not the room we requested, reserved and paid for.

I will never return here or to any Castle Resort, since their choice of managers is indicative of their hospitality industry standards...and they are far short of any where I've ever stayed. A Motel 6 has a better concept of their business than these guys do.

Room Tip: Don't stay here at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Diana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Kauai Kailani, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha,
I would like to apologize for you not enjoying your stay with us and for the inconveniences of the renovation work going on.
I am sorry but I do not remember talking with you but we have had problems accommodating people due to the renovation. Those that we were not able to get a room for here were put in one of our sister properties. We have let arriving guests know that if they do not wish to stay at Kauai Kailani we will try to secure rooms for them else where. I would imagine that I did tell you that there was a change in ownership and the new owners are renovating the property.
I have not heard of any of the construction workers having parties on site and have brought this up to the construction company.
Once again I do apologize for your not enjoying your stay and I hope you might consider staying with us in the renovated property next year.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kapaa hotels

Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

In May I booked 8 nights at this place for Jan 2013. It was taken over by Castle resorts some time in the last 7 or so months. It is a huge construction site..the view from our lanai was the complete remodel of the other units including their lanais in the complex. Our "ocean view" was of construction and orange plastic fencing. There was also heavy equipment out by the pool..that we NEVER used. Go figure. We stayed the 2 nights that I had pre-paid. When I told the registration staff we were checking out they were sympathetic. I had to go back in another day to talk to the manager Larry Mayo. When I asked for a credit or partial refund all he said was he would "consider" it. I knew that was code for "not happening". He claimed it wasn't his fault, he didn't have our money, and that I should be "happy" he let me check out early. He was the rudest condo/hotel manager I have ever experienced in 10+ visits to the islands. He did not even apologize. If he treats guests that way how does he treat employees.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JewelM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CastleKonaBaliKai, General Manager at Kauai Kailani, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Aloha,
I am sorry that the construction put a damper on your vacation. I realize that most people do not travel thousands of miles to to see a construction zone. I do remember talking with you and I did point out that we have not received the deposit you paid the old owners. I have not forgotten this but we have still not recieved the deposit money.
I truly do not mean to come across as rude and only tried to explain situation at that time.
Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kauhava, Finland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

Kailani apartments (Castle Kauai Kailani). We arrived in this Kailani apartments property with disappointment. The place is not a resort and does not belong to paradise. It is a construction site. When we faced the manager at Mokihana main reception (different building), he was unpolite and should be kept only in the back office. The housekeeping left our door at least 3 times unlocked. We were lucky that nothing was missing. Also there was a mouse in the room. When we asked to spend time at the main building's pool area, they denied to do so, Kailani's own pool area was small, dirty and in the middle of noisy construction work and it would have been great to spend some time at Mokihana pool as there was no beach but only a shore.. But no. I do not recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jyri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Most important is to know how to get checked in. No office here. Must check in at Mokihana (hotel containing Bull Shed restaurant) and before 9 pm. 808-822-3971. We arrived at about 7 pm after a delayed flight and had no idea how to check in as the "rooms" are really small apartments at Kauai Kailani. Again, there is no office here!! The phone number for the Castle Kauai Kailani just said they were closed. Once we got checked in, the place was great. There is reconstruction going on in 1/2 the complex so we had it mostly to ourselves! Pool, rec room w/pingpong, BBQs, sits right on the ocean--all good. Great sleeping to sounds of ocean waves. Our place #215 almost at end so good ocean view out of front and back. Clean with daily maid service--an unexpected bonus. Equipped with microwave, coffee maker, refrig/freezer. Funny thing was "flat screen TV" -- yes, it's a flat screen but about the same size as my laptop. Cable was nice for times we were in. Location is central to North and South coasts. Much to do in Kapa'a itself including kayaking, biking, hiking Sleeping Giant, shopping, eating--very convenient. Walking distance to alost everything needed. Overall, great value. Just be sure you know to check in at Mokihana!! We were not the only ones lost.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank abbychia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
60 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

For the price, location it is hard to beat. True, they are doing construction but it was quiet over Thanksgiving holiday. In fact, it is a VERY quiet place. Had a monk seal come ashore and wasn't that a treat! Housekeeping was attentive and very good. You check in at the office at one location, but look for the little brown "Kauai Kailani Apartments" sign just up the road and there you are. If we go again, we would stay there.

Room Tip: No a/c but the windward breeze was nice. Definitely worth the oceanfront/ocean view upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ImaFarmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012 via mobile

This property is being renovated, so you are vacacationing at a construction site! The beach access is curtailed by this construction. Although we booked several months in advance, we were not notified about current conditions. On a positive note - the maid service was excellent. This is a value property that offers comfortable but not posh accommodations plus a good location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SKKelley3368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.9 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
0.9 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
3.8 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
1.2 mi away
Hotel Coral Reef
Hotel Coral Reef
#6 of 11 in Kapaa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 308 reviews
0.4 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kauai Kailani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kauai Kailani

Property: Kauai Kailani
Address: 4-856 Kuhio Hwy, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1569
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kauai Kailani 3*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kauai Kailani is conveniently located oceanfront on Kauai's sunny eastern shore and along the famous Royal Coconut Coast. Guests can choose from newly renovated garden view, ocean view, or oceanfront condominium suites. All suites are comfortably furnished and feature fully equipped kitchens, private lanai, and FREE wireless internet access. Enjoy a tropical, casual Hawaiian vacation in one of Kauai's most scenic locales. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kauai Kailani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kauai Kailani Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing