We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Simple, no A/C, no WiFi, ok rooms w/kitchen, great ocean access for kids” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lae Nani
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Simple, no A/C, no WiFi, ok rooms w/kitchen, great ocean access for kids”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

This condo complex was built in the 70s, so no A/C in the rooms. We are staying in 324 and it has great ocean view indeed. The pool is good, easy access to the beach, sufficient free parking.

We have 2 rooms, 2 bathrooms, small kitchen with dish washing machine, stove and microwave oven. The fridge is ok.

This is a lower class, budget oriented stay. They won't clean your room until after you leave, so should take good care of your place and keep your towels dry.

This is a 15 minute drive from Lihue airport, close to Kapaa town.

We are pleased after all!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BuzzTravelAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    70
    20
    16
    5
See reviews for
53
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
170 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

This is a one bedroom condo on the second floor. It has views of the pool and partially blocked views of the ocean. We have stayed here before and enjoy Lae Nani's grounds and the quiet of the place. Unit 224 has been our least favorite only because of the blocked views. The condo last year seemed in better shape than the year (April 2013), perhaps some updates needed? However, given the location; it is equal distance to either side of the island and walking distance to the marketplace where there is a Farmer's Market on Tues & Thurs.
We will continue to stay at Lae Nani whenever we come to Kauai, just maybe request a different unit for better view of ocean.

Room Tip: Buildings 3, 4 and 5 have best views of ocean but are farthest from the pool/BBq area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Oregontraveler477
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
51 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We were extremely disappointed with the terrible state of disrepair that unit is in. We were given a dilapidated place I would never consider renting on my own. Frankly, it felt like we were being taken advantage of by a slumlord. The location of that unit is also very poor as it is tucked into a corner mainly facing another building, which made it also much darker than one would expect for an “ocean view” unit.

I told the front desk at Lae Nani how unhappy we were with that unit and asked if they could give us something else. They said that was all they had available. I then called Pleasant Holidays customer service number at 4:15 p.m. and got a recording, even though their flier states their hours run til 6:00 p.m. on Saturday. I left a message. I also called the after-hours number later that night, but the person I reached said he was just a driver and that I should call in the morning. Sunday morning I called again and finally reached a real person – Brenda – who helped us transfer to another property.

We basically lost a day of our vacation dealing with and trying to rectify this problem, not to mention the stress of being put into such a miserable unit and not knowing whether we’d be stuck there for the rest of our vacation.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TravelWriterExm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in unit #336, an ocean view two bedroom.

Likes: It was clean when we arrived. While not lavish, the unit had nice furnishings. Beds were comfortable. It had a fairly large balcony with a good view of the ocean, although partially blocked by another unit and trees. The grounds were well kempt and contained lots of flowers and greenery. Just outside (below) the room is a large, grassy open area, which typically had kids playing in it. The pool was nice. Basic, but nice. There was no Jacuzzi. The beach has a sheltered pool for a kid which is well protected except during extreme surf. There was always a parking space. There is a nice shopping area within a block of the property and several places to eat within walking distance. This part of the Island is very centrally located. It made it easy to reach destinations, whether on the north or southwest shores. It is only about 20 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the Wailua River. This is a family friendly location, and there were lots of kids playing. If you want something silent and kid-free, this is not the place. There is a large walk-in closet in one bedroom

Dislikes: While the unit was fairly quiet, I think the unit below us had a bad bearing or something in their bathroom fan. Whenever they used it there was a loud droning noise in our master bedroom/bath. The kitchen had most essentials but a few were missing e.g. cooking sheets, large bowls.

Overall I would recommend this highly property and if we go to Kauai again, we will probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, relaxing, no fuss. Views are amazing, outrigger staff warm and friendly. Our three families really enjoyed this hidden gem! The beach seemed almost private and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean fronting the resort. Reminded us of what Hawaii should be like and it was really nice to just relax, very close to attractions, airport, beaches, shopping and good food!

Although we had a kitchen we ate out for dinner and had pineapple and Coffee each morning while watching the sunrise on the beach or our balcony-fabulous....wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peake777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteix, Sask
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful property with fantastic views

My husband and I stayed in Unit 222 for the month of Feb 2013. Lae Nani is a wonderful property and very quiet. It is easy to see why so many travellers go here year after year. Our unit had a great view and there was certainly no problems with noise on property at all. We had rented through Kauai Condo Vacations, Roy Skinner and received excellent service. A few required items were missing of which I purchased some and when I contacted Roy he immediately supplied me with the rest. Unit 222 had just been remodelled and although attractive appears had been redone keeping costs to a very minimum . The twin beds in second bedroom were not new and would need to be replaced. Master bedroom was a queen bed minus any headboard rather than king. The living room couch was new but extremely uncomfortable and is likely the reason I did not rent this unit for next year.
Enjoyed our stay and are returning in 2014 to Lae Nani.
Claude and Shirley Picray
Ponteix, Sask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, AB
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great Aloha spirit from everyone we met. Check in quick and easy.The condo was as pictured, nicely updated, spacious, large lanai. Great central location. Within walking distance to Coconut Market place (gift shops, Lappert's ice cream, free hula dancing and music, farmers markets). A good cental location for excursions to the rest of what Kauai has to offer. This a second floor unit, not too many stairs, but still a great view of the beautiful grounds and ocean beyond. Block four has the best of everything, all the views but quieter (not right on the beach).

  • Liked — The ocean view from the lanai.
  • Disliked — High surf at the time.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Kaua'i at Coconut Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Property: Lae Nani
Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lae Nani 3.5*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Vacatia, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing