We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Enjoyed our Stay at the Lae Nani” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lae Nani

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lae Nani
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our Stay at the Lae Nani”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed in unit #336, an ocean view two bedroom.

Likes: It was clean when we arrived. While not lavish, the unit had nice furnishings. Beds were comfortable. It had a fairly large balcony with a good view of the ocean, although partially blocked by another unit and trees. The grounds were well kempt and contained lots of flowers and greenery. Just outside (below) the room is a large, grassy open area, which typically had kids playing in it. The pool was nice. Basic, but nice. There was no Jacuzzi. The beach has a sheltered pool for a kid which is well protected except during extreme surf. There was always a parking space. There is a nice shopping area within a block of the property and several places to eat within walking distance. This part of the Island is very centrally located. It made it easy to reach destinations, whether on the north or southwest shores. It is only about 20 minutes from the airport and 5 minutes from the Wailua River. This is a family friendly location, and there were lots of kids playing. If you want something silent and kid-free, this is not the place. There is a large walk-in closet in one bedroom

Dislikes: While the unit was fairly quiet, I think the unit below us had a bad bearing or something in their bathroom fan. Whenever they used it there was a loud droning noise in our master bedroom/bath. The kitchen had most essentials but a few were missing e.g. cooking sheets, large bowls.

Overall I would recommend this highly property and if we go to Kauai again, we will probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    70
    20
    16
    5
See reviews for
53
100
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

Awesome, relaxing, no fuss. Views are amazing, outrigger staff warm and friendly. Our three families really enjoyed this hidden gem! The beach seemed almost private and we enjoyed swimming in the ocean fronting the resort. Reminded us of what Hawaii should be like and it was really nice to just relax, very close to attractions, airport, beaches, shopping and good food!

Although we had a kitchen we ate out for dinner and had pineapple and Coffee each morning while watching the sunrise on the beach or our balcony-fabulous....wish we didn't have to leave!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peake777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ponteix, Sask
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Beautiful property with fantastic views

My husband and I stayed in Unit 222 for the month of Feb 2013. Lae Nani is a wonderful property and very quiet. It is easy to see why so many travellers go here year after year. Our unit had a great view and there was certainly no problems with noise on property at all. We had rented through Kauai Condo Vacations, Roy Skinner and received excellent service. A few required items were missing of which I purchased some and when I contacted Roy he immediately supplied me with the rest. Unit 222 had just been remodelled and although attractive appears had been redone keeping costs to a very minimum . The twin beds in second bedroom were not new and would need to be replaced. Master bedroom was a queen bed minus any headboard rather than king. The living room couch was new but extremely uncomfortable and is likely the reason I did not rent this unit for next year.
Enjoyed our stay and are returning in 2014 to Lae Nani.
Claude and Shirley Picray
Ponteix, Sask.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Picray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wembley, AB
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Great Aloha spirit from everyone we met. Check in quick and easy.The condo was as pictured, nicely updated, spacious, large lanai. Great central location. Within walking distance to Coconut Market place (gift shops, Lappert's ice cream, free hula dancing and music, farmers markets). A good cental location for excursions to the rest of what Kauai has to offer. This a second floor unit, not too many stairs, but still a great view of the beautiful grounds and ocean beyond. Block four has the best of everything, all the views but quieter (not right on the beach).

  • Liked — The ocean view from the lanai.
  • Disliked — High surf at the time.
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clayspad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aptos, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

My husband and I just returned from a week at the Lae Nani, unit 314, which is located on the ground level. I was a bit concerned due to some of the reviews but was very happy with our choice. The setting is lovely and the grounds are really more beautiful than the pictures depict. The beach is a small cove but quite nice for short swims and laying around. It is a an excellent choice for families since there is a very sheltered man-made lagoon perfect for little ones, spacious lawn areas and a fantastic pool. We travel a great deal and have stayed in many beautiful places so are somewhat picky about settings and atmosphere. We definitely are not into "resort-type" accommodations. If you are similar, you will love the Lae Nani which is very low key, quiet, and not "tropical-staged" like many of the larger hotels in Hawaii. Unit 314 was a bit dated but clean, well outfitted and met our needs perfectly. We particularly liked being on the ground level and being able to just walk across the lawn to the beach. We were very happy with the location which is very close to the cute funky town of Kapaa which has a variety of restaurants and two super markets. There are shops,several restaurants and a bakery within walking distance of the Lae Nani as well. The location is also very central to the north and south parts of the island. I suspect we will be back.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marti N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We rented a 2 bedroom ocean view condo. it was great for our family! we have 2 kids and it was nice for them to have their own room. we also really liked having a kitchen so that we didn't have to eat out for every meal. The view from our lanai was amazing! the sunrise from the beach on the other side of the property was gorgeous! they also have a lave rock pool in the bay that is great for young kids. it offers an area protected from the waves. my 2 year old son loved it! Even my nine year old daughter loved it because there were beautiful fish in it also. I've stayed here before and would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: I would definitely get an ocean view or ocean front room. They are right on the beach & the vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank April G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Had an ocean view condo, 2nd floor which had everything. Friends had a poolside ground floor which was pretty good too. Good spot, but a bit of a hike to the north shore for sight seeing etc. if you just want to relax and enjoy the scenery that's here, go no further. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kapaa
0.1 mi away
Aston Islander on the Beach
0.0 mi away
Kauai Shores, an Aqua Hotel
3.0 mi away
Kauai Beach Resort
Kauai Beach Resort
#4 of 11 in Lihue
4.0 of 5 stars 2,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Plantation Hale Suites
6.6 mi away
Garden Island Inn
Garden Island Inn
#1 of 11 in Lihue
4.5 of 5 stars 649 reviews
0.9 mi away
Waipouli Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lae Nani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lae Nani

Property: Lae Nani
Address: 410 Papaloa Rd, Kapaa, Kauai, HI 96746-1410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Kauai > Kapaa
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Kapaa
#6 Top resorts Hotel in Kapaa
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Kapaa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Lae Nani 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Vacatia, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Lae Nani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Outrigger At Lae Nani Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Hotel Kapaa
Outrigger Kapaa
Kapaa Outrigger
Lae Nani Kauai/Kapaa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing