We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So good!”

Waipouli Deli and Restaurant
Ranked #47 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
Restaurant details
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“So good!”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

There's a reason they've been in business since 1973. If you don't have friends in Kauai that invite you over for a home cooked meal...go here and experience what a home cooked meal is like. Nothing fancy, just good food. You probably won't see many tourists eating here, just locals. And that my friend is a sign of good food.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Johnny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    43
    15
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
The Work Place
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Reasonably Priced & Good Place to Dine”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Local greasy spoon. This must be where the locals come! On the tables were bottles of chili-pepper water & coffee cupsW/ lots of sugar & cream.

Lots of local favorites. After placing my order I saw other orders & wished I had ordered it!

Hamburgers were homemade & won ton min was actually tasty with all the "stuff" they put inside.

At the register were cookies. Cashier said was made by his aunt. I love crispy peanut butter cookies with the fork prong marks. Ate it after we left Kauai & really wish I had purchased more!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ShopperGirl616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Food is good”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Probably 3 1/2 stars. Food was good - just a bit overpriced. Service was good, although some waiters seem pretty new. Skip the foo foo drinks. Not a great a view and close to the road. If you're staying more than a week in the area, I'd go here, but I wouldn't travel here from other parts of the island.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank stickman5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great local food”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We had the saimin and a dish called oriental plate. Huge portions, very high in fat, tasted good, good value. Cash only. Quick service. Nothing looked freshly prepared. Good place to try local food. Probably unwise because of the extreme calorie content, biut that's how the local food is like

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Skelshy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mont Clare
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“You would never expect the goodness!”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed nearby this restaurant, and one evening looking for a place to eat, we chose not to go here. But then the next day, we noticed it was packed, with mostly locals. So we gave it a try. My only disappointment is that we did not go that first night! This place is o good, we ended up going for the rest of our meals, breakfast and dinner. Don't let the dirty windows or the funny pictures of all the meals deter you, it really is delicious. The rice is excellent, served with almost everything.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennyG0219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Waipouli Deli and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Waipouli Deli and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing