We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food is only surpassed by the aroma of the BBQ!!”

Chicken In A Barrel BBQ
Ranked #13 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Dry rubbed, smoked BBQ chicken, beef, pork, and ribs! Falls of da bone, melts in your mouth! Eat-in or take-out! Open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner!
2 reviews
“Food is only surpassed by the aroma of the BBQ!!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

This was great food and nice people! Between us we tried it all. The chili is very unique and delish. Loved the 3:16 on the carton!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleesepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,162 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    697
    342
    86
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious BBQ”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Was planning to go to Scotty's Beachside BBQ but discovered it was out of business. Decided to just stop at first place that looked good. Chicken in a Barrel looks like a dive but the smell was so wonderful that we turned the car around and went back. It tasted as good as it smelled. I had chicken & rib combo & my husband had the sampler plate. Both were more than generous servings & the meat was cooked & seasoned to perfection. If you are on Kauai and would like some reasonably priced exceptional BBQ - eat here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank edgewood1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marysville, Washington
1 review
“"The Best of the Best"”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

This was all we could talk about when we got back home to the mainland. I stare at the picture gallery on their website and just drool recalling the food.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trizzoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
67 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great BBQ and Service”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The sampler platter was VERY good. Meat is smoked perfectly with a choice of sauces to add if you choose. Service is fast and friendly. Pepper knows his way around smoke! Nice change from fish while you are here. Don't miss it!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mazatlan, Mexico
Level Contributor
75 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Not "BBQ/Barbecue" in any sense of the word.”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I chose the sampler plate and this review is based on that plate for Lunch June 24th 2013
I'm truly shocked how many good reviews this place has on here considering its blatantly perpetrating itself as a BBQ joint.

The Good: The meat was tender, juicy and good quality.
The price wasn't retardedly high.
The employes were friendly and knowledgeable.
The place looked clean.

The Bad:
Its NOT BBQ.
Just because you serve meat in a restaurant that also carries barbecue sauce does not mean you serve BBQ. BBQ is a way of cooking. It differs all around the world with many opinions if dry rub or sauce is the best. But never is there any doubt about the end result being barbecue.
The meat (chicken breast, pulled pork and one rib) was disappointing to say the least, boring, unseasoned in any way I could taste, and over all left me feeling I had just picked up a tray of food from a high school cafeteria.
I didn't tasted any smokey flavors either and there was no sign of any of it being cooked on a grill or smoker. Its like they used an oven to cook everything :-(
The been chili could be served as a desert because of the amount of sugar they put in it.
The rice should be a criminal offense. Not even salted or flavored in any way. A perfect example of the imagination of the thought that went into the recipes for this place.

One side note tho was that if you sit at the bar, inside, near the window, there is a cute sparrow that doesn't seem shy in any way with human contact. He will fly up and land on the counter, walk right up to you, look you in the eye and wait. My immediate response was to feed him some of the rice. Score, that was what he wanted. I tried giving him some pulled pork but he didn't want anything to do with it either. I guess the locals know best.

I'm very disappoint that I waisted one of my very limited chances to eat, on this amazing island, at this place.
I would love to hear a management response to this review and please state why you don't use seasoning and how you can define your food as barbecue.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hostel_FunkyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chicken In A Barrel BBQ also viewed

 

Been to Chicken In A Barrel BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing