We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fun”

Ohana Fishing Charters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Ohana Fishing Charters is located at Nawiliwili Small boat harbor just South of the Lihue airport. We are an extremely knowledgeable charter company with a great standing reputation. Ohana means family and that's the impression we like to leave with our guests. Please join us in a great hunting adventure on the beautiful waters off the Garden Isle of Kauai!
New Mexico
2 reviews
“Great Fun”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

My family recently visited Kauai and we booked 3 full days of fishing with Ohana. Cynthia was a pleasure to work with and is fun to talk with. Our first day out was with skipper Howard and deck hand V. We landed a 100+ lb yellowfin and a nice Mahi Mahi. The second trip out was a bunch of nieces and nephews and they caught a bunch of smaller skip jack tuna with skipper Lance and V. The third day out we caught several small yellowfin and the biggest Mahi Mahi I'd ever seen with Lance and Beau! Bottom line was the Ohana crew worked very hard to put us on the fish. Full of suggestions and very helpful. They were very helpful with sharing the catch and I suggest fixing seared Ahi if you are lucky enough to catch some yellowfin. Also, ask the crew for preparation suggestions, they were very helpful. In closing,mahalo for the memories Ohana! Gary

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    27
    6
    8
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sewell, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Big Day! Big Trophy!!”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Well we certainly made the right decision booking another trip with Lance and Valaka. We weren't on their boat 30 minutes before this big ol' fish was on my line. The picture tells the story for sure. 11'10" and 458 lbs! These guys are PROS! They did everything necessary to help bring this trophy home. Constant attention and encouragement. I reeled in this monster in under an hour! The teamwork was flawless. What a remarkable day and a memory that will last forever. After we get the "fish" on the wall - I will post another picture. Captain Lance made sure everyone on-board caught some beautiful tuna before heading back to the docks. Thanks for one of the best times ever - a catch of a lifetime!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Freddie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Great experience!”
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We researched just about every fishing charter service on Kauai before deciding on Ohana. Lance and V are super friendly and made the experience for our two boys fun! V showed a passion for fishing that goes back many generations in his family. He has a great sense of humor and is extremely knowledgable about both fishing and the islands. Both Lance and V were focused on getting us fish but didn't forget that the whole experience counts. We came home with a perfect amount of tuna for grilling and sushi. There are a lot of outfits to choose from, go with Ohana, they did everything right!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank LynnChapman2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good Time Had By All. . . almost”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Howard was the Captain and Bo was the deckhand. Both guys were very personable and we got going as soon as introductions were completed. We left the harbor and trolled out to the first buoy. On the way, I got sea sick. . . embarrassing as it was, we were on a shared 6 hour charter, and I wasn't about to complain or ask to return to the dock. No use spoiling everyone else's fun. Howard and Bo worked very hard to get us fish, and upon arriving at the buoy, we got some very bad news. . .the Porpoises were at the buoy. The captain asked if we wanted to try for some Skipjack's anyhow and we tried, but lost 4 tuna to the Porpoises before we moved on trying to catch a larger fish. It wasn't too long afterwards and we saw that the Porpoises moving away from the buoy and we went back and caught several large Skipjacks and one small Yellowfin losing another large Skipjack to a shark in the process. Upon catching several fish, the captain asked if we wanted to continue catching Skipjack or go back to trying to catch something larger. Everyone was in agreement to try and catch something larger. No big ones wanted to bite this day, but other than a bout of sea sickness, I believe all others on board had a good time though too.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank outdoorsguy45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Ohana is Your Best Fishing Choice”
Reviewed June 5, 2013

Captain Lance & Vee had us catching more fish than anyone else around (we did check). They may not have the flashiest boat on the water, but they had the substance and the talent (and their boat is plenty comfortable). They were also generous with imparting generations of fishing knowledge and many fine sea tales. The whole time had a feeling like we were fishing with friends from the outset; yes we were paying, but you can tell when someone is really digging to provide a quality experience with genuine great attitudes - they had the whole package on that front. I have gone charter fishing in several world-class locations in the Atlantic and Pacific, and I would not consider anyone else in Kauai.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank fjorgens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ohana Fishing Charters also viewed

 

Been to Ohana Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing