We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful tour!”
Review of Alii Kayaks

Alii Kayaks
Ranked #2 of 50 Outdoor Activities in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Take an eco-adventure Kayak/Hike to a Secret Waterfall! Among all the rivers available to adventure seekers, the Wailua River Valley seems to be one of those special places. Kayak 4 miles roundtrip on a Class Zero river, combined with a 1.5 mile moderate to strenuous hike through a tropical rainforest, wading through streams, and traversing muddy trails to get to the beautiful 120' Uluwehi Falls.
Syracuse, New York
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful tour!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

While vacationing in Kauai this May my husband and I rented SUP's from Alii. We are both experienced paddlers so they instructed us on where to go on the river and how to get to the falls. Our boards were great and the views were amazing! I would rent from them again.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank swissiam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    607
    100
    24
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wayne, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Adventure!”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

Our guide Justin was excellent. The kayaking is excellent if you have endurance (at least 2 hours of kayaking) and a moderately difficult hike up a slippery muddy trail- but worth it to get to the beautiful falls which is the highlight of the excursion. If you lack endurance- this is probably a little tough. Must wear well gripping shoes (water shoes lack traction and are very slippery- I fell 4 times wearing these!) We loved Justin who serenaded us with versions of Stairway to Heaven and various other tunes on the ukelele as we hiked up the trail. He was very informative, taught us a lot about the vegetation and wildlife of the area and has a wonderful sense of humor! Excellent excursion overall.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsy1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
“One of our favorite days”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

We took all six of our family (ages 8 to 71) on the paddle and hike up to the falls. T.C. was great about keeping the group paced - not holding back the fast paddlers or hikers and not pushing the slower ones. He shared a lot of really interesting facts about the area, and obviously cares about the river and the falls a lot. He played his uke the whole time which made the hike much better.

My advice - go ready to work, pack a good lunch, expect to get cold & hot, tired, and take a little time to listen to TC and look around. Don't expect him to carry stuff, hold hands, or tell you how to make the trip. He is a guide but not a babysitter. Perfect for us and we will be back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank TexasER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must when visiting Kauai”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Kayaking was so fun but make sure your partner helps out too..lol. The hiking part of our trip was just as fun and the secret waterfall was unbelievable. The water was cold but who cares. Guy our tour guide was full of information. Bug repellent is a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nuvia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pylesville, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The best excursion EVER!!!”
Reviewed July 3, 2013

We booked a kayak/hike to the secret falls. I expected it to be a typical kayak trip that we do on vacation and enjoy. This experience was so much more. Our guide was Kimo (James) and he made the trip for us. This trip does not include a lunch as some of the others do but is so much less expensive that taking a few packs of crackers and some fruit and water was worth it. When you check in, you are given a dry pack which is very necessary and jkept everything including my camera dry for the day. We kayaked about 2 miles on an easy upstreem paddle and even the young child with us was fine. The scenery was beyond beautiful and Kimo gave us lots of information and laughs. We beached the kayaks and after a somewhat difficult, but certainly doable hike through the beautiful forest. We were given fresh ginger root to try as a shampoo and Kimo answered all questions and gave us a great history. My husband was a bit worried about me on some of the climbs but I did them all without any help despite having had a nasty foot injury some years ago. I never slipped and we met other people and guides along the trail with everyone happily sharing the Aloha. We got to the falls after about a 1/2 mile trek and it was by far the most moving experience we have ever had on an excursion. The falls is 125 feet high and the pool below about 4 ft deep at most. We swam, snacked, took great pics while being seranaded by ukelele music and singing from some of the guides. This place was magical and I cannot wait to go back. The kayak paddle back was a bit tough going into the wind but all of our group did it with ease. I cannot say enough how beautiful this trip was, we saw much, we learned much and we enjoyed much!!! If you do nothing else on Kauai', except watch the wild chickens, visit the secret falls. We are in our 50's and did the trip easily so anyone can handle this. It was a once in a lifetime (but hopefully many more) experience and we will never forget it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fear-the-Redhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alii Kayaks also viewed

 

Been to Alii Kayaks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing