We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect way to unwind and enjoy a little nature!”

Duke's Kayak Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$59.00*
and up
Wailua River and Secret Falls guided Kayak and Hiking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
529 reviews
121 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Perfect way to unwind and enjoy a little nature!”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We love kayaking and couldn't think of anything we'd rather do with friends and family the day after our daughter's wedding in Kauai. She thought it was an excellent idea and after doing some research, found Duke's. We would have brought our entire group if they'd had enough kayaks but we showed up with the maximum 13 including the bride and groom and had the absolute best day ever. Evan was our guide and he was a hoot and made us feel like we were the best group of people he'd ever taken on a kayak tour. I would like to believe we were! We ended up with an incredibly gorgeous day. You couldn't see a single cloud from the river and the wind was light so kayaking was a breeze. Our entire group did the 2 1/2 miles to the falls trail in less than 30 minutes which maybe defeated the idea of a relaxing tour just a bit but we were having a great time. Once you beach your kayak on a rocky strip on the edge of a narrow part of the Wailua River, you ford the river, climb up some tree roots and hit the 1 1/2 mile trail to the "Secret Falls". OK, the falls aren't really so secret but it's awesome that the only way to the trailhead is via kayak! The trail can be really muddy and slick and steep in places so not recommended for anyone who isn't surefooted. The website says "You will get wet!" It should also say "You WILL get muddy!" But what fun. I haven't had so much fun in mud puddles since I was a kid. Evan is terrific and full of great stories about Kauaian history and topography. We learned a lot of fun things about vegetation we'd seen that suddenly made a whole lot of sense - like how did trees from Africa show up in Kauai?!?! Since it was August, the waterfall was pretty much a wee shower but still loads of fun for our group. We spent quite a bit of time just chilling at the falls. We actually had a few moments where we were the only ones there! Great photo op! Most of our group brought their own lunches and Evan provided dry packs to carry anything we didn't want to get wet including food. Some of us ordered the sandwiches which add $9 to your tour - they weren't bad but nothing special either. On the way back we found out there is a much easier way to walk to and from the falls. We were glad that Evan thought we could handle the more challenging route on the way in. We were also grateful to have a slightly easier hike back out again. We took our time on the river on the return trip and were lucky to not face much of a headwind at all. It was a fantastic day. Evan was the perfect guide in spite of a wee bit too much bathroom humor (not really) - our group actually enjoyed that a lot! Thanks Evan and thanks Duke's for the perfect way to wind down after a year of wedding planning and helping to make our wedding week pretty perfect! Oh - and Evan - that rock at the end was amazing!!! :)

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jewelsworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    10
    3
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Amazing Day Kayak”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

While planning my trip to Kauai I researched many different kayak tours. I'm glad I decided to go with Duke's because our kayak trip today was incredible! It is a great deal for what you pay and our tour guide Evan was fantastic. He was funny, informative and personable. My friend and I were lagging behind everyone else and Evan was very patient with us. This worked out for well for us because we were able to talk with him the whole time.

The scenery was incredible and the hike to the secret falls was great. Evan had a ton of history information about the island that made the hike even more enjoyable. Overall this tour was a great choice and Evan was a wonderful tour guide!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank FrankieEstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Super fun!!”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

First of all, booking this tour was a breeze. We just called the number, made a reservation, and we were in.

EVAN, our guide on the day of the tour, was AWESOME. He was super fun and knowledgable about all kinds of interesting tidbits along the tour, like local vegetation, history of the area, etc. My wife and I agreed that if there was a poster boy for a fun tour guide on Kauai, Evan would've been it.

It's about a 2.4 mile kayak trip up the river followed by a 3 mile hike to Secret Falls (which, judging by how many people poured into the place, aren't all that "secret"). Then back into the kayaks and back down the river you go the way from whence you came.

My suggestion would be to either book the earliest tour you can get, or the last of the day, (leaving around 1:30pm), as otherwise the crowds at Secret Falls are a pain. When we got there around 10am, about 6-8 people milled about, and by the time we were done picnicking (only 35 minutes later), there must've been more than 50.

Honestly, having a awesome guide on this tour makes all the difference, so if you have a chance to hang with Evan, dew it!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank MGoerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jonesboro, Arkansas
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Kayak with Dukes”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We had a free day and decided to do a kayak tour last minute. We went the visitor center by the river and they were completely booked for that afternoon and the guide and several men were sitting around and looked at us like we were stupid. They then were very condescending with a comment about waking up and expecting to get a tour the same day. Let us know all excursions in Kauai are booked weeks in advance. Not true..... Next day we called and got in on the afternoon tour with Dukes for next day. When we arrived on this sunny beautiful day they informed us we would not be going to the falls because of a flash flood the night before. Although this was hard to grasp since there were other tours gone by and these guys said they could refund our money or just float the river but too dangerous to get us on the falls trail. They were very nice and allowed us to tour the Hawaiian village at their dock, which was great. And no fee! They had space the next day so were booking our trip for the following afternoon when we started seeing empty kayaks and bags floating by. About 10 all together. They got us booked and then started helping to collect the other tours gear for them and we took our SAFE and wonderful tour the next day EVAN was great guide and sooooo funny. Learned lots, falls and hike was great and I'm not a strong hiker and this was first effort to kayak. It was a great day.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeresa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

This was a very fun guided hike and kayak adventure our tour guide Evan was fun and full of interesting insight. He wa dedicated to his job and seemed to really enjoy it. The waterfall that you have lunch at is beautiful and the sack lunch that is carried in by your guide is tasty and filling. Overall wonderful experience

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tshento
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Duke's Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Duke's Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing