We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Authentic Indian food but pricey for dinner”

Shivalik Indian Cuisine
Ranked #62 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Buffet, Reservations, Takeout
Description: 808-821-2333 phone 808-821-2334 fax Located between Foodland and Pizza Hut
Palm Desert, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Authentic Indian food but pricey for dinner”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

A family of 5 addicted to dinning and Indian food lovers dinned on August 1st. We shared chicken tikka masala, lamb coconut curry, fish tikka masala and tandoori shrimp; One soup mulligatawny, 3 garlic naan. Drinks 3 mango lassi and 2 masala tea.
The taste was authentic. We loved almost everything. The soup had a very strong lemon taste and did not past the Indian test. 2 naan were good and fresh the 3rd one not sure.
Price tag $136.
We found the place clean and well kept. I think new management is doing a better job at it.
We eat Indian food regularly in many places around the world, so far this one has been the priciest of all. Including San Francisco, Chicago, Sidney, Washington D.C. And one of our favorites Big Bear Lake (Himalayan restaurant). Food taste around average from good fine Indian restaurants.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DinnerTravelAdvent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    71
    20
    14
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Astoria, New York
Level Contributor
135 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Very Nice Lunch Special in Kapaa”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We started off on a negative, bringing our Restaurant.com certificate for $25 off. We were informed that they were not honoring the certificates any more. I assume it's because there is new management, but someone needs to communicate better since we just bought he certificate a couple of weeks ago.

In any case, we decided to stay since they had a lunch special for $9.99. We are glad we did. The special gives a choice of about ten traditional Indian dishes. We were three adults and two children so we ordered a total of four different dishes to share. We were served large trays with 5 compartments on each which included everything from naan to rice pudding. The food taste and quality were excellent. My only disappointment was that we all ordered mild spices so that the children could enjoy. I like a little more spice, but that was our choice, not the restaurant's.

Our server was friendly and attentive, even bringing the children complimentary fruit smoothies.

Overall, the food was good and the price was right, especially for Hawaii!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank yogimax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
119 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Simple but tasty”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We went to this restaurant on a wednesday which is the night they have a buffet. Not overly imaginative or hot but enough variety to make it interesting and filling. 2 chicken dishes and pork plus a variety of other dishes like pakoras, dal, spinach and vegetable, cauliflower and potato and a rice noodle desert. Fairly good value.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

A great choice for vegetarian food. It was a little difficult to find, did not have many people inside and we were expecting average quality food, haven't had much luck with good Indian food outside of the SF bay area. But we were pleasantly surprised, the food was very good, the Navratan Korma is one of the best that I have had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ankur J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good, authentic Indian food at a great price!”
Reviewed July 7, 2014

During our 3 day stay in Kauai, we went to Shivalik twice for Lunch. They serve a Thali (Plate) for lunch, where you get to pick your entree, and the whole thing costs 9.99. The food was amazing, especially the Naans and the entrees.
The Mango Lassi was good too, but we had to ask them to reduce the amount of sugar they add to the Lassi.
Location-wise, it was great for us as we were staying in the Aston Aloha beach resort which was about a 5 min drive away.
If you love authentic Indian food, I would definitely recommend this place.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Geekhead83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shivalik Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Shivalik Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing