We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rent Elsewhere”

Boss Frog's Dive & Surf
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: High quality Maui snorkel gear rentals is Boss Frog's top priority. Boss Frog's offers a full range of activities and beach rental equipment including high quality snorkel gear, performance surfboards, SUPs (stand up paddle), boogie boards, golf clubs, mountain bikes, hybrid bikes, beach cruisers, road bikes, coolers, chairs, float belts, digital cameras, wet suits and an assortment of island related apparel and accessories. Our sales agents are trained to be knowledgeable, friendly and helpful to all customers, which maximizes each customer's experience. Boss Frog's prides itself on making customer service a priority. In addition to rental gear, Boss Frog's maintains a large retail selection of beach equipment, including high-end sunglasses, rash guards, reef safe sunblock, board shorts, sarongs, men's and women's clothing, sandals, snorkel gear, beach toys and gifts. We have the best on-Island selections of Maui Jims, Sunclouds, Sanuks and Reef slippers for adults and kids. All customers are greeted with the Aloha spirit at our locations.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Rent Elsewhere”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2011

Sales people were rude and tried to sell you everything under the sun. Ignore all the coupons and rent from somewhere else like Maui Dive Shop or Snorkel Bobs.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Debra K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    21
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“RENT ELSWHERE LIKE SNORKEL BOBS”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2011

I rented the top of the line snorkel gear (the kind that supposedly wont let the water in) and an underwater camera. The next day we went out on a catamaran cruise with snorkeling and found the battery worn out already. We were unable to get all the pictures we wanted and NO video. We went back the next day and they acknowledged the battery problem and put in a new battery. I mentioned that this was too little, too late as we already had our cruise. She pretty much said too bad. I also mentioned it when we turned in the gear, which repeatedly filled our mouths with salt water. She told us that they were getting new batteries tomorrow, and too bad we couldn't stay longer. No discount for their screw up and bad pic. quality to boot. would NOT recommend. This was the one in poipu.

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank 22red2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DUNCAN
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Super service unbeatable price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

We just got back from tow weeks in Kauai and generally found things VERY expensive.
But we called in Boss Frogs in Kapaa to rent some Snorkel Gear Mask, Snorkel and Fins.
The staff were VERY helpful, they spent the time to make sure everything fitted, advised us where the weather is best today gave us a Map and Fish chart ALL for $1.50 one day rental

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Benterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“2-1 snorkel gear coupon a bait and switch”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2011

Took my kids in to get some smaller sized gear but found coupon was only good for old fashioned round glass mask and wet snorkel. They also said they didn't have any fish id cards. The woman said she would give me the smaller silicone mask w/ wet snorkel, but when we got to the cashier she was charging me $25 for each set, not the $9 for 2 sets like the coupon advertised.

Helpful?
2 Thank sbnorth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prescott, Arizona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best Deal On Kauai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2010

We rented snorkel gear for the week and it was by far the best value we got on Kauai. We paid $25 for mask, snorkel (the good ones - dry snorkels - once you try these you'll never go back to the cheapies.) and fins. I paid an extra $5 for an optical mask (nearsighted guy.) I also got a wetsuit for 20 bucks which was great when were surfing and on some ofthe beaches with shallow snorkeling (saves you from rock rash) We snorkeled almost everyday. We loved Tunnels and Anini on the North and Beachouse on the south. We also took a boat tour that had snorkeling and took our gear with us so we didn't have to wait in line and get ill fitting gear from the boat company. We rented our gear in Poipu when we were down there our first day and returned it near our hotel in Kapaa. We saw the same gal who runs/owns? the store on Kauai at both locations. She was great.

Helpful?
1 Thank azcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boss Frog's Dive & Surf also viewed

 

Been to Boss Frog's Dive & Surf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing