We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Forget shaved ice - go for Lapperts ice cream”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa - CLOSED

Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Volo, Illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Forget shaved ice - go for Lapperts ice cream”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

If you can walk passed Lapperts with the smell of the freshly baked cones, you have great will power. When you add the wonderful varieties of locally flavored ice cream (kona coffee, island ispiration with macadamia nuts and shortbreads) or the traditional flavors (cookie dough or vanilla), you will have a great ice cream experience. The staff is great and the ice cream refreshing. Must stop on the islands.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bauer99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    96
    39
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Casa Grande, Arizona
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“awesome ice cream”
Reviewed August 10, 2013

A must to visit on your stay in Kauai if your an ice cream lover. Wife & I love ice cream & this place is a real treat. So many great flavors to choose from you can't go wrong. We had two scoops each in a waffle cone

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“The BEST ice cream!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This was such good ice cream. They have so many choices of good flavors - it was hard to choose. And for some reason, it seemed like their waffle cones were better than usual. Maybe they were. Or maybe it was because we were in Hawaii. :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DianeOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, so-so service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really liked the chocolate mac ice cream. My husband's iced coffee was terrible, it was obviously old coffee. Service was quick just not so friendly as the other places we visited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's good, but...”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a tough time finding Lappert's in the Coconut Marketplace (which by the way has really seen better days) and they were only open until 9PM so when we got there a little after 9 it was nice that they stayed open for us. The ice cream is good, but nothing I haven't had anywhere else. Don't make a special trip for it, but if you're passing by and want some ice cream, then it'll fit the bill.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing