We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good ice cream, so-so service”
Review of Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa - CLOSED

Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
chicago
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good ice cream, so-so service”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Really liked the chocolate mac ice cream. My husband's iced coffee was terrible, it was obviously old coffee. Service was quick just not so friendly as the other places we visited.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kcorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    96
    39
    9
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
81 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“It's good, but...”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

We had a tough time finding Lappert's in the Coconut Marketplace (which by the way has really seen better days) and they were only open until 9PM so when we got there a little after 9 it was nice that they stayed open for us. The ice cream is good, but nothing I haven't had anywhere else. Don't make a special trip for it, but if you're passing by and want some ice cream, then it'll fit the bill.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Val H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shasta, CA
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lappert's Ice Cream an Hawaiian Vacation tradition”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

We love Lappert's Ice Cream! Over the years it has become a tradition to have a scoop while we're in Hawaii on vacation. This year, I had a single scoop, in a cup, of TuTu (passion fruit sorbet, raspberry sorbet, and coconut ice cream combo) my husband had the Mocha Java (coffee ice cream with fudge ribbon). It is a little pricey, but you can't beat the quality of the ingredients. We'll be back in October. Oh, we visited their newest store on Kauai at the Kukui Ula shopping center. Go on a Wednesday late afternoon and stroll through the "culinary market" (not really a Farmer's Market, but a culinary delight. 12 layer lasagna, pie, biscotti, etc.).

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShastaBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
333 reviews
270 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“So what's the big deal?”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

The Lappert's Ice Cream I visited was at the dilapidated Coconut Marketplace in Kapa'a. I went there for a little ice cream in the evening. It was on the expensive side, and frankly don't get what the fuss is all about. It's ice cream, it's pretty good, but not clear what the fuss is all about? I had a scoop of the Macadamia Nut and Cookies & Cream. It was quite good, but equal to anything I can get in California. I guess when you are thousands of miles away from the mainland, it's a "must have" ice cream!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Norm1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poway, California
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Creamy THE BEST!!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I love their ice cream it is so creamy!! they have the best flavors it never disappoints it has become a tradition to get an ice cream here every time we go to Hawaii. there single scoop was a huge portion I was pleasantly surprised. I went to the one in Coconut Grove.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dmc1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lappert's Hawaii Kapaa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing