We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little taste of heaven...”

Hee Fat General Store
Ranked #1 of 10 Dessert in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Tucson
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“A little taste of heaven...”
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We really enjoyed the shave ice here! The ice is shaved very fine and melts in your mouth...no crunch! The favors are amazing and the Mac nut ice cream is fabulous! My mom and I tried the Lava Flow and it was awesome. They offer kid sizes here, which is a plus for little ones. The only downside is that there are no great places to sit. We sat outside the store on benches but we were directly in the sun and it was hot! Aside from that, this place is heavenly, best shave ice in Kauai!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KMCPAR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    78
    18
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
159 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Might have to go back to Kauai for the shaved ice!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Okay, I would go back to Kauai for many reasons...but the shaved ice at Hee's is near the top of the list. All shaved ice is not the same-- ice consistency and the flavoring makes a huge difference! The ice at Hee's is so light and feathery, as others have said it truly does melt on your tongue!!! Portions are huge. Everyone in the family got the keiki size. I wish I had a picture of the kids huge eyes when they saw how big their shaved ices were!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlejoHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Souvenirs and shave ice - great combination!”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We visited Hee Fat twice -- once to browse and try their shave ice (delicious!) and the second to purchase some souvenirs from our Kauai vacation. Prices for both were reasonable, selection and variety were great. I completely disagree with the previous poster who called this a "grocery store" - aside from a small selection of nuts and sweets, there are no packaged foods. If you're looking for delicious shave ice and/or interesting souvenir options (and are tired of the ABC store selection), this is the place to visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Missouri
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Best Shave on Kauai”
Reviewed July 19, 2013 via mobile

Used to love Jo Jo's but they have slipped and Hee Fat's is now king. Shave ice soft and fluffy, syrup just right. Maybe could use a little more snow cap but it was pretty close to perfection. Love the tulip cups.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lafolet3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“REFRESHING SHAVED ICE”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

You must try the shaved ice here; it is so good and for an extra treat add a scoop of icecream to it. BIG portion! WOW; a must do while on Kauai.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Debbie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hee Fat General Store also viewed

 

Been to Hee Fat General Store? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing