We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right On!”
Review of Pono Market

Pono Market
Ranked #14 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
136 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Right On!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014

There's only 2 tables inside and 2 outside. It's a great family run market that has lots of homemade local grind. Go for the poke (long O, pronounce the E) or sushi rolls. Oh, the seaweed salad is good too!! Just go! Take the food to the beach and eat. Aloha.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 5150rocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    93
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Poke”
Reviewed April 24, 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend the sesame poke. Its a combination of raw tuna with green onions and sesame oil. My girlfriend had the spicy poke, combination of raw tuna, mayo, and spicy chili sauce. Its a little market place with a counter you can order at then sit outside. The tables are limited so be aware you will need to wait to sit if during busy hours. In addition to great poke, there is a little coffee shop inside.

Helpful?
Thank stevanpierce808
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wanted to love it but....”
Reviewed April 20, 2014 via mobile

We were on the hunt for a good lau lau but when we arrived they were sold out. The lady behind the counter suggested the teriyaki ahi. The husband got with that with lomi salmom I decided on the roast pork with cucumber kim chee as well as a side of kailua pig and some spicy crab poke. We drove to a beach to have lunch since there wasn't much seating available there. The Ahi was too sweet, like sticky sweet, the roast pork didn't have any flavor. Totally lacking in salt. The kailua was dry and tasteless as well. We ended up tossing the roast and the ahi. The best thing was the spicy crab poke. Maybe we should have left when we were told they were out or lau lau.....

Helpful?
1 Thank Samantha P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arroyo Grande
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent kalua pork”
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We just came in here because we enjoy local markets. They had very nice food. We saw the plates people were being served, but had just eaten elsewhere (darn!). We decided to take out a pound of Kalua pork to reheat at our rental apartment. Some of the best Kalua pork we have had, and we have ben in Hawaii a lot. Very good service and very fair prices. Wish we had been able to come back for plate lunch--I'm sure it was delicious.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wasn't impressed”
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I as expecting more from the reviews. The market smelled very very fishy... I was hoping for fresh poke, but what we got from foodland was better and much less expensive.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank AMalakan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pono Market also viewed

 

Been to Pono Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing