We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tasty and Fast”
Review of Pono Market

Pono Market
Ranked #11 of 125 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
San Diego
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A Tasty and Fast”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

When in Kauai, you'll likely drive through Kapaa. If so, you'll drive right past The Pono Market and it is a must. Made to order food at affordable prices. They have different Poke bowl specials every day. The spicy Ahi Poke is outstanding. FYI: Poke is seasoned marinated raw fish or seafood. It may not sound appealing to some, but if you're on vacation, step out of your comfort zone and experience the islands with this tasty dish, you'll at least get to say you tried it. The Poke bowls are served with rice for about five to six bucks, you won't be disappointed. BTW, they also serve cooked dishes as well, all are very good. The Pono Market is a small mom and pop place, walk up counter service, with limited seating. It's great as take out for lunch at the beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank SoCaltravelerSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

380 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    91
    23
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level Contributor
53 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Love!!!”
Reviewed November 7, 2013

I love this market. It has a little coffee shop inside run by Ken and Cheryl. He is a serious artist when it comes to his coffee! Really great espresson con panna, breve latte and lattes. He also serves up the best ice cream - Roselani's! I'm not sure what all the hype is about Lappert's ice cream. Personally, I don't like it and I sampled several flavors. Roselani ice cream rocks and I was so happy he serves it there.

On the other side of the little market, the people there are so friendly and helpful. They serve up awesome poke. For those with gluten sensitivities, they do have gluten free poke. The nice guy behind the counter told us that if we brought in our own GF shoyu/tamari, he would season and mix up the poke for us. (So kind!)

They have awesome fried chicken here. I ordered the fried chicken bowl (chicken over a scoop of rice). I wish I could get the recipe! They have musubi rolls (teriyaki chicken or beef, spam, fried chicken with steamed rice and rolled in seaweed wrap - much like a sushi roll). SO YUM! Prices are very reasonable here and food is delicious!!! Had I discovered this place earlier, I would have eaten here the whole time. (We stayed for 2 weeks and found them the second week.) I can't wait to go to Pono Market again!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mswendymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always satisfied with the food”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were 2 nights in Kauai staying at Marriot. We have chosen with no breakfast as we had enough of Hotel Breakfast and wanted to explore the local food.
We came to the shop almost everyday, and never unsatisfied with the food.
Service was friendly and the food was nice. I wish they have such in other island too :D

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hays35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san diego
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Poke”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I don't think this is any news but after eating as much poke as I did in a week this place stands out!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank trav e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wow!”
Reviewed October 20, 2013

One of the best things we learned from the iconic "blue book". We picked up some ahi poke to go to the beach and WOW. Got a half pound each of the spicy poke and the sesame, and while both were great, I personally loved the spicy while the hubby was enamored with the sesame. Grab some chopsticks and a drink on your way out and you are set for a fantastic lunch on the beach. Friendly staff.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pono Market also viewed

 

Been to Pono Market? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing