We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This is a great trip!!”

Wailua Kayak Adventures
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is a great trip!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013

Don't let the reasonable price fool you!! This was a first rate trip with an amazing company!! We took the 6:45 am trip and was well worth getting up early on vacation! There were less people on the river and the water was like glass. There were less people at the falls and we almost had the trail to ourselves. Yet the best part of our trip was our guide Cole!! He was very knowledgeable and his stories made the history and landscape come alive! Plus he is one cool dude! Support this place!!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ChristaD_1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    259
    52
    13
    5
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Nice waterfalls, beautiful scenery while kayaking.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Did the early AM kayak then hike to the waterfalls. Went with several members of my family, and were with another family as well (12 in total). Kayaking was beautiful, not too difficult, but was a bit harder on the way back due to the current and if boats were passing by.
Short hike to the waterfall, which was beautiful, but not spectacular.
Received a snack of cookies, dried fruit, and chips. It was nice to be the first tour group there in the AM- lots of good pictures.
Be sure to wear quick-dry clothing as you'll get wet in the kayak, and waterproof shoes/ keens. The hike can be VERY slippery at some points, so shoes with good grip are key.
Wear bathing suit to swim in the falls.
You have about 45 min- 1 hr at the falls- we felt this was a bit longer than necessary.
Overall, a good excursion, easy to be done by 11am and fit in other excursions.

Helpful?
Thank Jilleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roy, Utah
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Cole is your man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2013

We booked the am tour, which ended up being rainy and a bit windy. After an "interesting" beginning with the drivers, we were impressed with Cole as our guide. (Don't take the advice to not wear sunscreen from the lady who says it causes cancer!). Cole is easy to chat with and knew a lot about the islands, and took us on a comfortable paced walk to the falls. I am so glad we wore old tennis shoes, they did get soaked but i was really comfortable. The water at the falls was freezing, but i'm telling you, just suck it up and get in! We felt so good afterwards and had pics to share. Once you dry off you feel recharged and warm. The snacks were perfect, dried fruit, cookies and chips. The paddling back was strenuous, but not sure how it is when it's not windy. We loved everything about this trip!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercup922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

Web and Forrest (or Forrest and Web) depending on who you talk to -- are GREAT guides. Informative as well as funny. We took a group of 27 on this trip -- 4 Chaperons and 23 Foreign Exchange Students -- after the trip, while waiting for one of our drivers, the girls and the guides entertained the rest of us with a good old fashioned water fight. Buckets, bottles and hoses. Just can't say enough nice things about these guys. Forrest is a native and will give you all kinds of history of this island as well as the others. The river trip is awesome, the hike was beautiful and the waterfall is spectacular. Have a great time.

Helpful?
Thank EF_Anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
56 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“What a great afternoon with Kayak and hike to the falls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great value, terrific service and Kathleen a really great guide!
This is the outfit to use - no doubt about it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeenAllOver1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wailua Kayak Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Wailua Kayak Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing