We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fern Grotto Inn - Fabulous!!!!”
other travelers have booked this property
View of Wailua river from our garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View of Wailua river from our garden
Canal Cottage B Canal B Lanai
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
9 reviews
View of Wailua river from our garden
Canal Cottage B
Canal B Lanai
Canal B Entrance
Canal Cottage Unit A and B
View of Wailua River from Canal cottage A
Private dock for kayaks behind Canal cottage
Seating area in our garden
Fern Grotto Inn Entrance
Painting of Canal Cottage by Guest
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Kapaa, Kauai, Hawaii

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Becky8315
Fairfax, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fern Grotto Inn - Fabulous!!!!”
Reviewed November 26, 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Garden Cottage at Fern Grotto Inn

My husband and I stayed in the Garden Cottage at Fern Grotto Inn for 5 days at the beginning of November, 2015. The accommodations are charming! The cottage is decorated with island decor, has a very comfortable king-sized bed, is extremely well maintained and very clean. The kitchen area has every utensil and pot and pan you would ever need. The grounds are also beautiful. Paul Juma, the owner, is very considerate and concerned about his guests. We definitely recommend the Fern Grotto Inn and want to stay here again. It was hard to leave this time!

http://www.tripadvisor.com/ShowUserReviews-g60616-d654603-r328893073-Fern_Grotto_Inn-Kapaa_Kauai_Hawaii.html#

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Fern Grotto Inn is a small group of cottages, not a resort. Staying here makes you feel a part of the area. it is beautifully maintained and convenient to explore.
Liked least: I absolutely liked everything!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Klrbuffgi...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything you could need and more!”
Reviewed June 6, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

This property is beautiful. The cottages are well equipped and darling. All beach equiptment, kayaks and bikes included. Use them all. Location is excellent. Better than home away from home. We'll be back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
checkingo...
Alberta
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful quaint little cottage.”
Reviewed February 25, 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in canal b cottage. This cottage is so sweet. When we arrived our cottage had fresh flowers, a couple of cold beer, water, a box of chocolates and coffee for the morning. There were all kinds of extras available for use. Be sure you check in before purchasing amenanties. We made use of kayak, life vests, water shoes, beach chairs, beach matts and towels. There were more items.

The only drawback to this place is location. If you want to go out for dinner you must drive. Closest eatery is 1km. Which we did walk to, but it is a busy highway and taxis refused to pick us up in Kapaa, after an evening of dining and drinks, 3 km up the road. They claimed the distance was too short.

Additionally there were not a lot of establishments to choose from when dining out or grabbing a happy hour.

If you are looking for a very reasonably priced, centralized spot on kaui this is it. Home away from home. Very romantic cottage in paradise

Value Location
Cleanliness
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DiyanaL
Memphis, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Unforgettable honeymoon in the most beautiful and cozy river cottage”
Reviewed May 31, 2012 for a stay in May 2012
3
people found this review helpful

This is my first TripAdvisor review and that is because this is how impressed I was with Fern Grotto Inn while we stayed there during our honeymoon in May. It a beautiful little place with the most magnificent and well kept garden. It had everything we needed and more. Paul, the owner/manager made sure we had privacy as well as all the little extras, such as, free snorkeling gear, beach towels, coolers, etc. He even left us a pretty picnic blanket in front of our doorstep one day as a suggestion...we used it to have the most romantic picnic overlooking the ocean. The location was just right, very close to the Wailua river and the beach. We want to thank Paul for his hospitality and say how lucky we feel having found this place.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Propery grounds, location and the ammenities.
Liked least: Nothing.
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Reviewed November 14, 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mllesaek
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great location, cute cottage, quiet and tranquil.”
Reviewed September 15, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Overall, we really enjoyed our 3 night stay at the Garden Cottage. It was small, but well equiped and it seemed that the owner really thought through how to make our stay comfortable and enjoyable. Little extras like beach gear, sunblock, coffee, travel guides etc were helpful and appreciated. The only downsides were that the wall seperating the bedroom and bathroom did not extend fully to the ceiling so the privacy was a bit lacking...okay for us as a couple but I could see where it might be uncomfortable for a non-couple. Also the kitchen did not have sink, but we were just able to use the bathroom sink so not a huge deal. The grills outside could have been better - perhaps they need to be replaced or better maintained. We loved the dual head walk in tile shower though. If you are looking for a resort style location with all the whistles and bells, this probably isn't a great choice but if you are a couple or single looking for your own little slice of tranquility, I would highly recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location & privacy
Liked least: Bathroom & kitchen set up
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Reviewed May 6, 2010 for a stay in April 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Seclusion, beautiful grounds
Liked least: Distance to beach
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing