We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster Curry Bisque is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hukilau Lanai

Hukilau Lanai
Reserve with OpenTable
Hukilau Lanai is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 124 Restaurants in Kapaa
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Polynesian, Hawaiian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Glendora, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lobster Curry Bisque is fantastic!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Every time we come to Kauai, the bisque is tops on our list of Must-Have foods. The “Original Hawaiian Chocolate Factory” Warm Cake is on the same list!
This trip I tried the Island Gazpacho; Candied Ahi (which doesn't sound so good to me); sausage and warabi; fresh catch, and Big Island Vanilla Bean Crème Brulee --I enjoyed every bite of it! A couple Minty Mo’o's and I was a happy camper.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bowtie0069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,742
    441
    139
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“(Somewhat) Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was my third trip to Kapaa/Kaui and I am VERY happy I found this place (thanks TripAdvisor). Through my previous two trips I had come to the conclusion that there was literally no good food in Kauai. Since my last visit (2006) Kauai has come into its own in the food arena. Perhaps I wasn't looking in the right places before, but I had maybe one good experience in both my visits.

I took my wife here for her birthday and was very happy with the fish (Hebi-Hawaiian Shortbill Spearfish). It was truly some of the best I've had; both in terms of the fish and the flavor/seasoning. Everyone in my party enjoyed their meal. Service has room for improvement, and I wouldn't list a timeshare complex as an ideal location, but all in all, this is by far the best restaurant in Kapaa.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Timothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cupertino
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great, often overlooked restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This was our second visit since learning of this establishment. This restaurant is a delight, and the early (5:00 to 6:00 PM) prix fixe with five courses and four wine pairings at $40.00 is THE best food bargain in the islands The chef's choice of dishes varies according to what is locally available but is always intriguing and delicious.. They also have a varied and inexpensive wine list, as well as some considerably more upscale entries; as you might expect, at the cost of the dinner, the wines were from the less expensive end of the price list but much thought and consideration went into the selection and pairing of the wines with the dishes, If you go to Kauai, eat here at least once for the prix fixe and once more to explore the menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jedandled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

The staff made sure to treat us well and everyone was very nice. The food was very good. The view was amazing. The one thing that didn't seal the deal was that while our server was very nice and I could tell she was a really good server (I am a server myself), she didn't check in with us until our meals were done. Fortunately everything was very good. It appeared she had too many tables which is typically rare in that type of restaurant. I wouldn't definitely recommend this place though and we did have a great experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alanna1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upper Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
98 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Good food, open later than many others in Kapaa.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Excellent food, pretty good service, high prices. I think that sums it up. The seafood was great, the service was fast. We picked this place as it was one of the few remaining restaurants that was open at 9 PM . Yes, this part of HI sleeps early. Turned out to be a pricey, but worthwhile choice.
If the restaurant is booked up, they'll let you sit in the lounge and order off the restaurant menu. Not ideal, but viable choice, when in a pinch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AlexLine1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hukilau Lanai also viewed

 

Been to Hukilau Lanai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing